We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for romance and exploring” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Britannique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Britannique to your Saves list
Hotel Britannique
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 avenue Victoria | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France (Les Halles)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 1,788 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Perfect for romance and exploring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2005

I stayed here for three nights last weekend, to celebrate my second wedding anniversary. When we got to the room, we were greeted with chocolates and a card from the hotel. The hotel is exactly as it looks on the web and in the user photos - very stylish, yet cosy, with excellent staff. I found the location very handy - walk to Notre dame, the Louvre or even the Eiffel Tower if you are feeling energetic! We used a "hop on, hop off" boat company called Batobus to get around - nearest stops are the Louvre and Notre D - we paid thirteen euro for two days travel with them, and used them as our taxi, bus and metro service to get up and down the Seine for exploring. The cafe across the road, "Le Zimmer" is also excellent and very "Parisian". No rude waiters and they all made an effort to speak English. Their menu is also bilingual! We did try and have breakfast in the hotel on the first day but the breakfast room was so busy we changed our minds - however the food looked hearty from where we were standing! All in all a great place to begin your discovery of Paris.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    362
    53
    17
    5
See reviews for
177
708
83
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2005

What a lovely hotel. Great location and beautiful little room (yes the room was very small) but each room has an individual balcony with table and chairs, comfy bed (although i do prefer harder pillows!) and a great ambience.
Upon arrival into our room we were greated with a little envelope with our names and a box of chocolates, to welcome us to their hotel and to wish us a lovely honeymoon. It was perfect and appreciated.
The staff were friendly and very helpful (giving my husband a sneeky look at the internet to get the cricket scores!) and the hotel was spotless.
Would stay there again in a flash...

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2005

We stayed at the Hotel Britannique for 3 nights during November 2004. It was our first visit to Paris, and we booked this Hotel based on the TripAdvisor reviews, as well as the hotel's website. We were looking for a nice, clean, comfortable, central hotel with a middle-of-the-road price ... we're not part of the hostel crowd, but also can't swing the Four Seasons. We LOVED this hotel, and it made our stay in Paris wonderful. It has a lovely decor that is warm and friendly the moment you walk in, and the lounge area is marvelous. We had done a lot of reading prior to our trip, and were prepared for small rooms, and less than friendly front desk staff. The front desk staff were a delightful surprise - each person, no matter day or night, was friendly, helpful and eager to make our stay enjoyable. Our room was indeed small, but immaculately clean and had a very comfortable bed. Bathroom was also spotless every day, and big enough to easily accomplish the essentials (althought one at a time). There was decent closet space, a safe so we didn't have to lug lots of stuff around, and a small, flat-screen TV. A/C worked well - we like a cool room, even in November. And the best part - our room had a lovely,flower-potted balcony that looked out onto avenue Victoria ... just what we wanted in a Parisian hotel room! I can't speak about the breakfast, because we were up and out each day without partaking, but we heard other guests remarking how much they enjoyed it. Another important feature for some travelers out there - there is an elevator available to reach the upper floor that works without a hitch, although one person + suitcase is the capacity.

Lastly, the location of the hotel is also perfect. One easy block from the Seine, and close to the Louvre, Notre Dame, 2 metro stops, and the Samartaine department store (great rooftop restaurant with spectaular view). Plus, a cab stand directly across the street, so it was easy to be out the door and on our way to wherever.

You won't regret staying at Hotel Brittanique, unless you want a huge space, room service and the works. We weren't looking for all that ... we wanted to see Paris!

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Texas
2 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2005

This was the perfect hotel for a long weekend getaway. We stayed here for three nights in August 2005. The staff and the room were charming and I felt the price was reasonable for the location. The hotel is in the center of the City and the Chatelet metro stop is around the corner from the hotel. Easy to get to and get around from. The a/c was a nice bonus for the warmer August temps. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. They made several phone calls to make arrangements for a nice birthday dinner for my wife. The only drawback was the tiny elevator and in the middle of the day was in constant use...so you might have to climb up and down stairs if you don't want to wait a considerable time. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2005

Stayed 5 night at the hotel in July 05 for our honeymoon. They gave us a box of chocolates to celebrate which was nice. Our room was nice - a bit tiny - the bathroom was very clean and recently remodeled it seemed.
The staff was friendly and spoke english. We paid $140 Euro a night and this seemed very expensive for the room we got...breakfast was not included. It was pretty quiet in Paris and it was a bit off season so I wish we had gotten a better rate. It is in a good location though and easy to walk to a lot of the major sites. I would probably only stay here again if I could get a better rate.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2005

I used this the reviews from this site to select the Britannique, and I was not dissappointed, it was a truly great little hotel, right next to everything, A/C works great, the staff are great and the breakfast was the best we had in France. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Britannique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Britannique

Address: 20 avenue Victoria | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 1,788 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Britannique 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Britannique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Britannique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.