We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pretty Hotel in a Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Britannique

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Britannique to your Saves list
Hotel Britannique
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 avenue Victoria | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #48 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very Pretty Hotel in a Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I found this hotel based on a recommendation from a friend and I was so happy they shared this little gem with me.

The Chatelet neighborhood (where the hotel is located) is the place to be. You can easily walk to the Louvre, Notre Dame, and many other attractions. There is unlimited shopping, restaurants and bars in the area and the Chatelet metro stop, which is a block away, includes almost every line you need to get around the city.

The hotel itself is very pretty and well appointed. And the staff are all fluent in English and extremely helpful and friendly. Yes, the rooms are small, but it's Paris so it comes with the territory. And you should be out and about in the city anyway and not in your room! Although I will say the A/C was great, which this American really appreciated.

I only knocked them a star because the WiFi wasn't working in the rooms, which was one of the reasons we booked this hotel, but it was still a very nice stay and I would highly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    349
    49
    17
    5
See reviews for
168
692
78
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed for a two night break on the 21st September for our honeymoon. The location of this hotel is excellent if you want to do the touristy thing like the Louvre and Notre Dame. Breakfast was nice and staff were all friendly and polite. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in room #55, which proved to be spacious (as Paris goes) and quiet, away from the street with not much of a view, but what the heck, it's all Paris. As others report, staff are English fluent and very responsive, AC is effective. One is an easy walk from different neighborhoods and attractions, just off bustling Rue Rivoli but no significant street noise. The enormous Chatelet Metro stop is a mixed bag - very close to the door, but once you go down, you can walk for ages to find the right line.
One caution - the current renovation did not bother us, as we were there on a weekend, but as we were leaving on Monday, we were aware of hammering that might have been annoying if we stayed. We were not offered a discount.

Room Tip: At least during the renovation, ask for specifics about room location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I was dead set on staying at the Keppler - but it was nearly twice the price - a year later, so I had to search - and found this gem. After pouring over multiple reviews, I can say that this does actually live up to the hype. For starters, I am big one for sleep on vacation. You can't get up the next day if you can even move after sleeping on some rock. This place has great bedding and beds. Everything was very comfortable bedding. Next, walking distance - hey, we could actually walk places without all the cab rides at the Keppler. Saved some $$ there! Last, the staff was just as nice as the Keppler. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in September, 2012. Great location. Great hotel. Undergoing some rennovation right now...and rooms were discounted. Friendly, Quality Staff. Rooms of reasonable size. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I was looking for hotels in this general area and since it occasionally gets hot in August, also for AC.

This place is right next to the Metro. 2 minute walk to the island, maybe 5 minutes to the Latin Quarter. The rooms were great, decent size for Paris. Bathrooms were nice too.

And it has AC. Paris was 100F the weekend we were there, so glad we had AC.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed 6 nights in busy, hot July, and then one night later on as we passed back through Paris.
We were very happy with the hotel- our classic King Size room was normal Paris small size, but enough storage, comfortable bed, completely clean bathroom to keep us comfortable at the end of each long day's sightseeing. Agree with all the good points listed- convenient for transport, very pleasant and helpful staff, lovely breakfast (not always included in your room rate but plenty of choice and the breakfast room is clean and weloming.) Air conditioning was good- our view was the back of another building but lots of flowers on those balconies and the street noise was not invasive. Some slight noise from neighbouring rooms and hallways, but this happens often in Europe. Tea and coffee making and fridge provided (not always available at other hotels).
Wi-Fi connection was not good, - regularly drops out and is sooo slooow -but I would stay here again as that problem can be overcome.
Not only can you weigh your luggage but the hotel offers a locked room to keep your luggage in- they were happy to keep 3 of our bags for a week when we left Paris for that time.
Plenty of choice for cafes/ restaurants, sightseeing and shopping- all within easy walking distance- or the main line metro at Chatelet is 2 mins away. When we left, reception organised a special price cab to the airport. Ask them a question and they'll be very helpful. Staying here was a great start to our big holiday.

Room Tip: You may get more street noise from a street facing room, so maybe check when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Britannique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Britannique

Address: 20 avenue Victoria | 01 Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Britannique 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Britannique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Britannique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.