We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bergere Hotel Opera” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bergere Opera - Astotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bergere Opera - Astotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bergere Opera - Astotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 rue Bergere | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France (Montmartre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,156 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bergere Hotel Opera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I always feel home there, friendly and helpful team, price value!!!
I never hesitate when choosing Bergere Opera, it's always number one first priority, they know even my room number...They are the Best!!!

Room Tip: I always feel home at Bergere Hotel, love it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    109
    81
    46
    39
See reviews for
55
100
30
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night and couldn't have been happier with our choice. Very Parisian. Service and friendliness was impeccable. Breakfast was ideal, many options to chose from. Location is great. Would have Liked softer, larger towels but this would not detract. I'll be back here for my next stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I recently stayed at the Bergere for 3 nights whilst on a sight-seeing trip in Paris. Travelling from CDG airport, it was easily accessible by the RER and metro, with only a short walk between Grands Boulevards and the hotel. The area is full of bustling bars and small shops that are open late. The hotel reception area was clean and modern, very impressive. We arrived around 10pm and the reception staff were friendly and helpful. They were even polite when I was late checking out, with no extra fee levied.
The room itself was small and I had requested a twin room, but was given a double but this was no problem as I had only made the booking a few hours before arriving. The bed was comfy with clean sheets and extra pillows. Cupboard space was enough to hang a few items of clothes and there is also a safe in the wardrobe. Aside from the lack of floor space the room was decent enough - it was only lacking in tea and coffee making facilities, however the hotel does offer complimentary drinks in the reception area. Also, the view was of the scaffolding across the road and if the window is open then the noise from the street below can be quite loud at times.
The bathroom was clean, and there was plenty of towels and toiletries. My only issue was that to get into the shower you had to sort of squeeze past the toilet but other than that it was perfectly fine, decent shower with hot water.
Breakfast isn't too impressive for 12e a head, a selection of pastries, cereals, fruit and yoghurt and 'cooked breakfast' (scrambled egg and spiced sausage) but the coffee is good and the staff were always friendly, asking about plans for the day and giving advice.
The panoramic lift is a bit of a let down as it looks out only onto the rooftop courtyard which is surrounded by the hotel so no fabulous views but it is by far not the worst of the lifts! They are not for the faint-hearted or claustrophobic.
Wifi is free in the hotel, and was pretty reliable. Ironing your own clothes is not an option and is a little on the expensive side - 9e for a jumper! House cleaning come daily and towels are always changed.
Overall my stay here was very pleasant and I feel I got exactly what I paid for at around 60e per night for a decent central hotel, and would return here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spent two weeks at this hotel in October. When we read the other reviews we were nervous, but from the moment we entered the hotel our fears were gone. The hotel is older, but that is the charm..


The hotel is all about service. We heavily depended on the staff and had multiple requests. The kitchen staff was extremely accommodating with our limited French and went out of their way to provide whatever we requested.

The manager is top notch and extremely professional. The concierge was very helpful with our countless reservations and we were able to visit restaurants that are typically booked. I can go on and on about the service.

If you want a Paris experience this hotel is for you It is a block from the Metro and is in the heart of everything. If you want an American box then you might not enjoy this hotel like we did. We will return and recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

A very nice hotel, very Parisian in that most rooms are small but neat. Don't expect an American style hotel to be found in an ancient building at this price. Expect to pay $400 a night for that. But if you want to experience the real Paris this is a great choice.

Only two blocks to a metro stop unlike is shown on the online map we checked. It's a big stop with several entrances. Plenty of decent restaurants nearby - check my reviews!

Pleasant modern lobby with a restaurant for breakfast. Our breakfasts were included with coffee, cereal, ham, sausage, scrambled eggs, incredible croissants and other baked treats, cheese and name brand yogurt. Well stocked and unlimited refills. You won't leave hungry here.

Hallways are dark and uneven, elevator small and scary - typical - but our room, due to our 2 week stay, was upgraded to a larger room at no charge. We had two large windows that opened onto a small balcony, 2 beds, large bath and small toilet area. Besides the nightstand there were two tables and a comfortable chair. Flatscreen TV and cable.

As in most hotels both here and abroad, WiFi, while free, was in and out and only worked from a laptop and not from our iPhones.

Be forewarned - there is little to no free WiFi in Paris except at the Apple Store in the Carousel at the Louvre, so get a plan before you leave or buy a SIM card and a plan in Paris if your phone allows a swap.

Also be sure to get a mobile copy of Tripadvisor as their maps work without WiFi or Cell service including showing your current location. (How do they do that?) If you get totally lost, it has a big arrow that points you like a compass in the direction you need to go. You will need to download the Paris map within the application.

Also get an app that shows the Metro system without WiFi. We found ParisByMetro to be the best for the iPhone. Put in from and to stops and it tells you which direction to head and where to get off for each stop.

Another note of caution - this is a big city and restaurants and bars are everywhere - be sure to bring earplugs for Friday and Saturday nights. Also garbage pickup begins around 4 AM!

Always kept spotlessly clean by the maids, our only problem was with a malfunctioning safe which was taken care of. I never use hotel room safes for this reason.

I can't say enough about the wonderful staff at this hotel. They made our stay so much more enjoyable than it would have been without them. Always ready to chill a bottle of champagne or make dinner reservations or even grab us some silverware for something we'd purchased at the market.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and it was a truly bad experience. The room was small, which i could easily deal with, but it was smelly, filthy and simply disgusting. The once white curtains were almost black and the night curtains were absolutely dirty. The "chair" in my room was full of stains. Simple: don't stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Terrible service, terrible hotel. There are better hostels than this place. I found a receptionist in my room randomly at 11:30 at night "investigating a disturbance on the street" and hiding behind the curtain for 2 minutes before i spotted him. . breakfast is a disgrace, no room service, you have to go and get everything yourself. I've traveled for business and pleasure extensively to some of the poorest and undeveloped places on the planet but this hotel takes the prize as the worst i have ever visited. Unbelievably bad in every way - DO NOT STAY HERE

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bergere Opera - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bergere Opera - Astotel

Address: 34 rue Bergere | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,156 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bergere Opera - Astotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic older hotel in quiet area - Close to the Opera, main stores and general auction rooms Drouot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bergere Opera - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bergere Opera - Astotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.