We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is all about service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bergere Opera - Astotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bergere Opera - Astotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bergere Opera - Astotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 rue Bergere | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France (Montmartre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,119 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This hotel is all about service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spent two weeks at this hotel in October. When we read the other reviews we were nervous, but from the moment we entered the hotel our fears were gone. The hotel is older, but that is the charm..


The hotel is all about service. We heavily depended on the staff and had multiple requests. The kitchen staff was extremely accommodating with our limited French and went out of their way to provide whatever we requested.

The manager is top notch and extremely professional. The concierge was very helpful with our countless reservations and we were able to visit restaurants that are typically booked. I can go on and on about the service.

If you want a Paris experience this hotel is for you It is a block from the Metro and is in the heart of everything. If you want an American box then you might not enjoy this hotel like we did. We will return and recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    107
    80
    45
    38
See reviews for
54
96
30
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

A very nice hotel, very Parisian in that most rooms are small but neat. Don't expect an American style hotel to be found in an ancient building at this price. Expect to pay $400 a night for that. But if you want to experience the real Paris this is a great choice.

Only two blocks to a metro stop unlike is shown on the online map we checked. It's a big stop with several entrances. Plenty of decent restaurants nearby - check my reviews!

Pleasant modern lobby with a restaurant for breakfast. Our breakfasts were included with coffee, cereal, ham, sausage, scrambled eggs, incredible croissants and other baked treats, cheese and name brand yogurt. Well stocked and unlimited refills. You won't leave hungry here.

Hallways are dark and uneven, elevator small and scary - typical - but our room, due to our 2 week stay, was upgraded to a larger room at no charge. We had two large windows that opened onto a small balcony, 2 beds, large bath and small toilet area. Besides the nightstand there were two tables and a comfortable chair. Flatscreen TV and cable.

As in most hotels both here and abroad, WiFi, while free, was in and out and only worked from a laptop and not from our iPhones.

Be forewarned - there is little to no free WiFi in Paris except at the Apple Store in the Carousel at the Louvre, so get a plan before you leave or buy a SIM card and a plan in Paris if your phone allows a swap.

Also be sure to get a mobile copy of Tripadvisor as their maps work without WiFi or Cell service including showing your current location. (How do they do that?) If you get totally lost, it has a big arrow that points you like a compass in the direction you need to go. You will need to download the Paris map within the application.

Also get an app that shows the Metro system without WiFi. We found ParisByMetro to be the best for the iPhone. Put in from and to stops and it tells you which direction to head and where to get off for each stop.

Another note of caution - this is a big city and restaurants and bars are everywhere - be sure to bring earplugs for Friday and Saturday nights. Also garbage pickup begins around 4 AM!

Always kept spotlessly clean by the maids, our only problem was with a malfunctioning safe which was taken care of. I never use hotel room safes for this reason.

I can't say enough about the wonderful staff at this hotel. They made our stay so much more enjoyable than it would have been without them. Always ready to chill a bottle of champagne or make dinner reservations or even grab us some silverware for something we'd purchased at the market.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and it was a truly bad experience. The room was small, which i could easily deal with, but it was smelly, filthy and simply disgusting. The once white curtains were almost black and the night curtains were absolutely dirty. The "chair" in my room was full of stains. Simple: don't stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Terrible service, terrible hotel. There are better hostels than this place. I found a receptionist in my room randomly at 11:30 at night "investigating a disturbance on the street" and hiding behind the curtain for 2 minutes before i spotted him. . breakfast is a disgrace, no room service, you have to go and get everything yourself. I've traveled for business and pleasure extensively to some of the poorest and undeveloped places on the planet but this hotel takes the prize as the worst i have ever visited. Unbelievably bad in every way - DO NOT STAY HERE

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Located in very convenient place, short walking distance to all the major sightseeing places, perhaps the best service hotel in Paris! And what was remembering to me - Carine Hucault, which was friendly, polite, caring and ready to help at any time. Thank u Carine! And by the way, she is the most beautiful hotel manager i've ever seen)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manila
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

very old hotel. rooms and toilets need renovation....bathtub sink was not working properly... staffs are unfriendly and waiters/waitress lack proper etiquette and manners.as they clean the tables and collect used plates so loud like they are angry... we asked the reception where to watch the moulin rouge show and was surprised by the staff's reply, "I actually don't know"..location is nice, close to the Grand Boulevard station and about 15 min. walk to La Fayette Galleria and Printemps.... will look for another hotel in our next trips to Paris....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Pathetic Breakfast staff.
So uncooperative staff.. No Asian should go to this hotel.
very rude.
We had to travel at 6;45 am in the morning; so we wanted the breakfast or some kind of a small bread; but they rudely refused and behaved very arrogantly..
don't go to this place if you want to have a comfortable and happy stay.
even the manager was very un supportive

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bergere Opera - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bergere Opera - Astotel

Address: 34 rue Bergere | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,119 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bergere Opera - Astotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic older hotel in quiet area - Close to the Opera, main stores and general auction rooms Drouot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Bergere Opera - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bergere Opera - Astotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.