We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location to explore Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terrass Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Terrass Hotel to your Saves list
Terrass Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 rue Joseph de Maistre, 75018 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #505 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Munich, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Location to explore Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great Location! Great Location!
If you go to Paris and you do not want tu use underground and want to be in the middle of lovely bars and restaurants and romantic area this is the Place to be in Paris!

The rooms are amzing and completely new. Great decoration.

Breakfast is very tasty and all very good organized. Fresh juices and lovely french croassiants.

Enjoy your stay there!

This is the place to be in Paris!

Room Tip: Next to the Hotel is a lovely Organic/ Bio Restaurant. Go there for lunch or dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Terrass Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Merian,

Thank you for taking the nice to right such a nice review.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us !

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Regards,
Jean Patrick Lebrun - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    220
    80
    34
    22
See reviews for
80
305
18
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel is well situated close to Mont matre, in a calm place. The hotel is well managed with friendly and helpful staff. Room are good and clean. Internet is good.
Breakfast free of charge for children.
Good place to stay, might be considered soemwhat costly though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Terrass Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Turbi 1965,

What an amazing review!

We are thrilled to know that not only did we exceed your expectations but that we exceeded your children’s as well and we are so excited that you loved everything about your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back!
Jean Patrick, Lebrun - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

As a solo traveller on a single nights stay for work I found the hotel very well located for food and drinks, just as well as the charges within the hotel were a little on the high side. Just step out the front door and there are many café's bars, restaurants and patisseries a stones throw away.

The hotel itself was quiet, very clean and in in excellent repair all round. The staff were helpful friendly and courteous. A pillow menu was offered and, along with the standard facilities you would expect from a hotel (tea and coffee making, decent soaps and towels, slightly pricey minibar and snacks and free fast wifi) there were some nice touches that included shutters on the windows for a full blackout experience and very controllable aircon. The demi bath was a slight disappointment but the bathroom as a whole was very good indeed.

I don't know if I would want to spend a prolonged amount of time there but if the location suits you and you have a mini break planned then I think you could do far worse. Far far worse. I would return, but take my meals outside the hotel and purchase my wine from one of the many stores close at hand.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Terrass Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive review.

We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed our location and proximity to all the Parisian sites. However, next time I still hopeyou will enjoy our breakfast & bar which has some great food items & cocktails.

We hope to have you visit us again soon.
Jean Patrick Lebrun - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel is efficiently run, friendly and helpful staff always. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room was very comfortable overlooking the Eiffel Tower. The hotel is located within a short distance to the Sacre-Coeur and a host of great cafe's, bars and restaurants. Located close to the Metro and Bus routes for ease to get into the centre of the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Terrass Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Peter,

Thank you for the awesome review.

We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed everything about your stay and even more excited to know that we are now your “go to” hotel!

We hope to see you lots more in the future!
Jean Patrick Lebrun - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

After reading some negative review regarding the hotel I was a little apprehensive before going. Im a 24 old guy with my 20yr girlfriend and we had booked this hotel for 3 nights stay.
Upon arrival we were greeted and checked in straight away so no problems there. However I had requested a room high up and smoking. I was given a room on the first floor, non-smoking. After a quick chat with the reception they told me to come back in the morning and they would move us to another room. I should say the first room, was largeish by Paris standards, clean and decorated nicely, only drawback was stupid design of shower but to be honest did not cause any real flooding problems. The next day we were moved to room on the top floor. The room was much bigger and nicer and was just under the terrace bar. No noise at all at night and no we were no drinking or staying awake late at night!
On the second night we decided to go to the terrass bar, 8pm, no reservation. Quickly shown to a table, pricey but offers amazing views of Paris and Effiel tower, fast and efficient service and staff were polite and attentive! So for all the negative given regarding this bar, maybe I was just lucky but had no issues whatsoever!
The hotel is located a bit of walk from some things, depending on what you want to do or see, but would say its in a good location overall. Considering the price I ended up paying for this hotel (extremely cheap compared to other 4 stars) I would say I got a bargain and loved this hotel. They also seem to have sorted thier staff problems. I had dealings with maybe 4 or 5 different guys on reception and each one was quick, polite and did there best to help me. Maid also very friendly!
So overall I would say that it was a brilliant hotel for the money. Dont be put off by bad reviews, maybe I was lucky but I doubt it as I would say Im a difficult critic to please. Also this is my first review as I felt compelled to say that either the previous reviews were just idiots or the hotel has taken aboard the comments and improved. Either way I was a satisfied customer and would use them again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Terrass Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Paul,

Thank you for choosing us despite of the negative reviews ! We are thrilled to know you loved our location to everything. It is pretty great being so close from all those bright lights.

We are also pleased to hear all of our staff welcomed you back each day and assisted with any request you had.

We hope you are able to come back to Paris soon and see us.

Best regards,
Jean Patrick Lebrun - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lardirago, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed at the Terrass Hotel on business many time, and found its location very practical (between Clichy and Montmartre, close to many metro lines); I also recently stayed there with my wife and booked one of the room with a Tour view - very successful. At 11PM the Tour does a light show and you are ideally placed to watch it from your hotel room window!
The rooms are not huge - but in line with most french hotels, well furnished and equipped. Very nice rooftop restaurant for breakfast.

Room Tip: The Tour view room are more expensive but worth it if you travel with your SO
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Terrass Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest

I am thrilled to hear that both you and your wife enjoyed your most recent visit at The Terrass Hotel and that we exceeded your expectations!

I will share your kind words with my colleagues whom all have contributed to making your stay enjoyable.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon again for another delightful visit.

Jean Patrick Lebrun - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ferriby, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The good points :- Location brilliant, hotel staff very welcoming and very helpful, room beautifully fitted out, exceptionally clean and large tapless bath in 310 meant two could share as it was our honeymoon destination for 5 days after all.

Bad points, entry to the roof garden was shockingly controlled, you have to book your seating and no standing, this was hugely disappointing as we booked the hotel because of the roof garden to relax in and the romantic view. On our first night we went up to the roof garden for an early evening drink about 8 pm to enjoy the view before going out to explore, all tables where full, but there was a seating area with no one sat on it so we asked to sit there and where told it was to seat seven people so we couldn't sit there dumbfounded we suggested we didn't mind standing for a drink, this also was refused and it was then indicated we should leave and book to come back much later like 11 pm. Bad Bad Bad and very rude, we will definitely not go back again to this hotel.

Room Tip: deluxe rooms exceptionally refitted and very welcoming after a day out exploring, 310 has 2 large wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Terrass Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Gary,

I have carefully taken part of the feedback you have posted here on Trip Advisor with regards to your stay at our hotel - and it makes me unhappy to read that you have been put through a lot of unnecessary and unfortunate stress.

It is clear that your stay did not work out as planned, and that you were disappointed with, amongst other things.... We know that our terrace is very busy when sun is coming so I apologize for the inconveniences caused and look forward to hearing from you directly.

Warm regards,
Jean-Patrick Lebrun / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Terrass Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrass Hotel

Address: 12 rue Joseph de Maistre, 75018 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#233 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#257 Family Hotel in Paris
#480 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Terrass Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Terrass'' Hotel closed its doors since November 2014 for a complete renovation. The re-opening is planned for May 2015, we hope to have the chance to welcome you in our brand new hotel, for a new experience in the heart of Montmartre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Terrass Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrass Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrass Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.