We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heated Towels and Heated Floor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Terrass Hotel

Save Saved
You added Terrass Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Terrass Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 rue Joseph de Maistre, 75018 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
€10 off room rate
Ranked #480 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Smyrna, Delaware
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Heated Towels and Heated Floor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

And a great deep bathtub........comfortable beds. This was my 2nd stay at this hotel and the only complaint was the WiFi.....it was spotty at best. Had no problem my first stay because I was lugging the laptop and used the ethernet cable to directly access the internet.
This stay I explored the Cemetery twice.....very interesting and was an adventure to find Nijinsky!
The neighborhood is great with many cafes and a variety of shops plus bank services and grocery.
Loved the fresh breads and yougurt at breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Terrass Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear RoyalKitty51,

We are very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We would like to thank you for your comment. We tried to do our best to make you feel like at home.
It makes me very happy to be able to say "See you soon!"

Sincerely,
Jean-Patrick Lebrun - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    202
    75
    31
    22
See reviews for
66
268
17
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel was clean and charming. Service was very good. We wanted to stay in Montmatre and this was the only 4 star and it didn't disappoint. But the only downside (not that big a deal...) the decor was a little brash... not in keeping with the hotels elegance and sophistication. Needs creams and Golds-gentler on the eyes !

Room Tip: Outside facing...the inside rooms look into a quad..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Terrass Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear bt,

Thank you ever so much for your kind words following your recent stay. I was so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a great experience in our hotel.

I do hope that we have the chance to welcome you back to the Terrass Hotel in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Jean-Patrick Lebrun - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paterson, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel added an amazing experience to our lives! Like most hotels in Europe, there are various levels of service and rooms. Waiting for us was a nice note on a card from the staff wishing us a pleasant stay with them, along with the expected chocolate on the pillow (not your common mint). It had the most modern bathroom, all see thru glass, amazing faucets and fixtures, very avant-garde, with an automated heater in the bathroom for towels to keep warm but regulated so it won't set towels on fire. Automatic wooden window blinds remotely controlled kept street noise out completely. The lights can be deemed at guest's preference, all at once or one at a time, to several levels of brightness and even allowed me to keep elegant "stars" at night on ceiling, for special effects. Upon arrival we received a "Carte des Oreillers" - pillow menu. They insisted we chose our pillows based on our preference; choices ranged from musical pillows, or stuffed with goose down, or completely filled with organic materials, or made of bamboo, silk or hippo-allergenic.

As expected of a hotel of this caliber (5-star) it is very clean. The building structure is older as Paris is an “old” city, but very well maintained, redecorated as art deco Paris style. It is a classic for those who appreciate art and history, combined with architecture. It has an underground breakfast restaurant by the main entrance, which is open every morning from 7 am to 11 am (22€), which is the price of a meal outside, and it is not as supplemented and varied as the one at the hotel. Not that is cheap, Paris is not a cheap city, but worth every penny (or Euro)! The staff is extremely cordial and the food INCREDIBLE (take it from a gourmand eater). If you get misty and want to have for example eggs sunny side up (French don't usually cook them that way), they will accommodate your request(s). But I promise you, this is a fancy “continental” buffet breakfast , the way it is meant to be, very classy. They serve smoked lox and fish (usually salmon but also others) prepared in a special way that is lovely (recipe not disclosed), and tasty, many cheese & cold cuts types, chives, fruit salad (great mix of seasonal fruit, all organic), a variety of breads, jams and butter. They also have little containers with different types of a concoction of baked eggs (crème brulee' style) and sweet organic fruit sauce (strawberries, raspberries and so forth). There is bacon, sausages, yogurt of varied flavors (organic), bottles of apple sauce for the little ones and much more I can't quite remember. The coffee or tea are quite good and so are the fresh squeezed orange and pamplemousse (grapefruit) juices.

The terrass is only open during Summer and Fall seasons for obvious reasons. So if you want to plan something special there remember to consult the hotel for info ahead of time. The hotel bar is also another option to spend your evening before you curl up into those wonderful, comfortable beds upstairs. In the room they provide a mini bar, very modern, see thru and fully supplied with a good variety of drinks, sodas juices including champagne. At the front desk it is possible to get many premium additional services sch as reservations for shows, rides, cabs, tours, events including New Year's eve (Reveillon) and the list goes on and on. Small pets are allowed and stay for free. The location couldn't be better. Very close to Sacre-Coeur and full of restaurants and cafes, brasseries, shops and entertainment,including Le Moulin Rouge, are all at walking distance. I have reviewed several restaurants in the area that are amazing.

The only area of improvement I recommend is service from management from 2 or 3 employees that I would suggest to be retrained, but the real workers, the staff de facto they were amazingly accommodating and pleasant. Ask for Louis (concierge) and Tahar (at the bar), they were wonderful. Avoid Elina and I can't remember the name of the other in-charge person who is very self-centered and talks too much mainly about himself but does nothing for guests(he wears glasses and has a Spanish name),.

We travel all over the world constantly and we fell in love with the hotel offerings. French know how to live! And I feel like a child re-discovering Paris! My daughter and I want to make this hotel our habitual stop when in Paris.

Room Tip: It all depends on your budget, but from what I could see, there are no bed rooms, just be specific a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Terrass Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Travelsense12,

I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to make it special. It sounds like you had an excellent time in Paris, and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Jean-Patrick Lebrun - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I travelled at the end of October to Paris for the first time. We had heard that rooms (and particularly beds) were much smaller in Europe. When we arrived at the Terass we were very pleased. Our room had been newly renovated and was immaculate. The bed was a king and there was plenty of closet space. The bathroom was also very nice. The rooms were cleaned thoroughly everyday. For the most part this is a very quiet hotel. One evening we could hear a party going on in another room and a very loud TV but that ended by about 11pm.

The free wifi could be a bit unreliable but that wasn't an issue as most restaurants and cafes in Paris offer free wifi.

The closest subway stop is Blanche. It's then a five minute walk up to the hotel. It is a bit of a steep hill, but allows you to pass some great/quaint stores. Montmartre is a beautiful part of the city. Lots of shops and wonderful cobblestoned streets.

The staff was very helpful and polite. We would stay there again and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Terrass Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Jennifer,

I am so glad to hear you had a great stay at our hotel. I have passed your comments to all the team to ensure we keep up with the hard work.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kindest Regards,
Jean Patrick Lebrun - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paterson, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Terrass Hotel is located in the center of Montmartre, Paris, France, which is a block or two away from the famous Moulin Rouge Cabaret, openTour Paris buses (very convenient site-seeing tour for tourists), and not far from the gorgeous Sacre Coeur (Sacred Heart) Cathedral. The hotel is surrounded by little cafe's and shops that go on for a couple of miles in one direction. Transportation is easy as there is a bus (the 95) which passes just across the street from the hotel, and takes you into central Paris (like the Louvre, for example) and back for around 4 Euro round trip; if you're not a fan of public transportation, a number of cabs stop in relatively the same location, and you can get around for about 15 Euros each way (it's not cheap, but nice if you like the private ride and want to have a conversation with a driver in French or English--or Portuguese, as we lucked out!).
The staff were, for the most part, incredibly friendly, hospitable, and accommodating, giving us the necessary tourist information and then some when we needed it. Two of the front desk workers were a little bit rude, but the nice ones more than made up for that, as we simply just chose not to deal with the rude ones. On the day we left, they even opened up breakfast for us early, just so we could have a meal before we traveled, which I thought was very nice.
The room(s) we stayed in (we stayed here at two points in our European tour, each time we came back to Paris, coming back to the TH) were VERY stylish and clean, with a 50-or-so-inch flat screen TV in each room, with a very modern, frosted glass bathroom with separate toilet in one room, and a more traditionally styled all-in-one bathroom in the second room. The second room we stayed in had a more prominent balcony with, even though it was winter, a lovely view of the Tour Eiffel for New Year's, which lit up beautifully at midnight. There was ample closet space in each room, especially considering this is Europe, which was nice for unpacking our bags.
The minibar is slightly overpriced (but what minibar isn't!), 45 euro for a small bottle of champagne and 30€ for the single serve, but we were getting champagne in Paris for New Year's Eve, so we didn't expect anything cheap! Room Service is also pretty expensive, but we only ordered in once, the night before we left, because there are so many charming cafes to explore, it's seriously not even worth it to order room service, although, you know, it's part of the experience, so...
The bar there is open late and the drink mixers know what they're doing, so there is a plus as well.
All in all, in decor, style, cleanliness, accommodation, friendliness, proximity of location, I give this hotel five stars. I will stay in this hotel again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony that overlooks the Eiffel Tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Terrass Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Erika,

I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to make it special. It sounds like you had an excellent time in Paris, and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Jean-Patrick Lebrun - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equanimity
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is an absolutey delightful hotel. Perfectly situated (overlooking la Cimetiere de Montmartre!) with a great view of the Eiffel Tower from some of the rooms (ours included). very smart, very clean and well-decorated, all mod cons. Breakfast price is a bit steep so we gave it a miss: there are so many options in Montmartre it seems a pity not to get out and about. I'd say our standard room was a bit on the small side, but Paris is expensive, and it was a very comfortable room. The service in the hotel was polite, and what I would describe as "hands-off". The hotel bar was very quiet, and seemed to be closed much of the time, but again, so much to see in Montmartre this wasn't a concern to us. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the Eiffel Tower (although be aware this also includes a view of the cemetery!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Terrass Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Equanimity,

Thank you ever so much for your kind words following your recent stay. I was so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a great experience in our hotel.

I do hope that we have the chance to welcome you back to the Terrass Hotel in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Jean-Patrick Lebrun - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Terrass Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrass Hotel

Address: 12 rue Joseph de Maistre, 75018 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#124 Family Hotel in Paris
#219 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#501 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Terrass Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Terrass Hotel, unique hotel situated in Montmartre has been cultivating the French way of life. It offers a seamless combination of modernity and tradition since1911.Between the Sacré Coeur and the Moulin Rouge, its 98 elegant and spacious rooms and suites boast a privileged location. From the Lounge Bar “The 7th” on Paris’ rooftops,you enjoy a spectacular view in a green and grassy setting.The Terrass Hotel is also the perfect place for conferences or events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Terrass Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrass Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrass Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.