We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic for what you pay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Croix De Malte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Croix De Malte to your Saves list
Hotel Croix De Malte
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 rue de Malte, 75011 Paris, France (République)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,489 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
newmarket
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“basic for what you pay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

mould in bathroom,water leaking all over the floor from shower and a lot of outside noise.On the plus side the staff where helpful.Don't think the passage carpet has been cleaned for ages.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    30
    26
    18
    17
See reviews for
16
40
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

The only thing that's good about this hotel is its location, being a stones throw from Oberkampf metro. We arrived around 2:00 pm and there was already a queue of guests waiting for their rooms. We were told they were being cleaned and to come back later. We left our luggage and went for a drink, but the rooms were still not ready by 4:30pm. Eventually we were given room 7 which is on the ground floor. The room is a decent size but has many problems. For a start it was very dirty - looks like it hasn't had a good clean since Brotherhood of Man were in the charts. The bathroom shower was held up by faith...and created a large lake on the floor every time it was used. If you’re in Room 7 you will observe that the bottom of the bathroom door has swollen to double its normal thickness due to continual soakings. The worst thing though was the bed - it was like perching on the edge of a deep parabola all night – and woe betide you fall into the middle because your back will probably seize up next morning. Now I know why there are so many pictures of parrots on the walls of the hotel lol. And the pillows were disgusting – the bed and pillows from room 7 need taking outside and burning. The breakfast is hit and miss – if you get up early you may get coffee and croissants, but if you are later you will have to wait for the receptionist (yes that’s right…she seems to do everything) to bring more food and coffee out. And of course you will need to clear away and lay your own table. Like most people we spent most of our time in Paris out and about and don’t want an expensive hotel – but I think it is reasonable to expect a decent night’s sleep. Finally there is a strange guy hanging around the hotel, he says some really weird stuff. He in fact acts quite like a stereotype acid casualty from the late 1960s. However the receptionist appeared to be deferential to him, so I suspect he may actually be the owner. Basil ?….Basil !!

Room Tip: Beware of the bedding and shower in room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We had problems finding this place at 1st. We called the hotel reception and unfortunately for us, he couldn't speak in English. So we asked passerbys, etc and managed to find it after 2 strangers took the trouble to help us out.

I like that it has a cafe beside which serves great bruch. So near the Metro (Oberkampf) too! Thus making it easier to move around.

If you are on a tight budget or don't wanna splurge on accomodation, this hotel is ideal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Comparing apples to apples the hotel was what we expected for the location and price. For Paris the price was reasonable which meant compromising quality. Once you accept that then the hotel was fine. The hotel could do with some general maintenance, the staff did their job nothing more. But we didn't go to Paris for a hotel so if we go back we would be happy to stay there again. If you are going for the hotel experience then that's a different story.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for a cheeky trip away to Paris. I simply picked this hotel as it was close to my friend's hotel.

The hotel was comfortable, staff were friendly and it was great value for money.

The location is perfect, especially for two girls travelling on their own. Only 100 metres from the tube station.

The only thing I can recommend is better pillows - else everything was great!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

i have just arrived this hotel,in fact a few hours ago. I flew in from Helsinki where i had just enjoyed hospitality from a 4 star hotel-sokos vaakuna.As soon as we arrived i realised that the room was a bit too cold, so i asked for heating,I sleep for 3 hours in the cold, wake up and i am shocked that i do not get what i have asked for. I go downstairs to complain. The receptionist is joined by, well i do not really know who she is shouting at me as if i have made an unusual request. Hotel is about service and hospitality. I would advice that if you are looking for a hotel you want to stay and you desire hospitality,comfort and good treatment, this hotel should be the least you should consider. Of all my over 10 years of travelling around the world, this is the worst hotel i ever stayed.I am checking out in a few minutes.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

No separate shower - hose attached to taps with a loose shower door which swung back and forth like a flag. Shower hose in bathroom wouldn't attach to shower as the holder was broken. We complained, but no use. Ever tried to shower with one hand holding the hose, one hand holding the shampoo, and one washing your hair and bod?
Rooms tiny - if you're a size 4 and 3' tall, with hygiene issues, these rooms may just about suit you.
Stuffy, hot and dim......

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Croix De Malte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croix De Malte

Address: 5 rue de Malte, 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > République
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,489 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Croix De Malte 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, casual hotel with tropical theme - located near fashionable cafes, 2 kms from Gare de l'Est. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Croix De Malte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Croix De Malte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.