We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value for money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Timhotel Jardin des Plantes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Timhotel Jardin des Plantes to your Saves list
Timhotel Jardin des Plantes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 rue Linne, 75005 Paris, France (Quartier Latin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,287 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Poor value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed 3 nights during February 2014 and didn't really enjoy our stay. The location was not bad, it was close to the metro station so transport around the city was easy. However, there are not many shops or restaurants in front of the hotel so you'd have to walk a bit further when exploring the area. Rue Monge and Rue Moffetard was about a 10-15 minutes walk away. These are two large streets with many shops, cafes and restaurants which is a plus. Our room was on first floor of the hotel. The lift is tiny and could barely fit two people inside. We literally had to squash up against the walls of the lifts when trying to take our luggage up to the room. It was like playing tetris. The room was on the smaller side but it was adequate compared to other european rooms. The bath room was also small. Both the room and bathroom seemed old and in need a renovations. The room wasn't the cleanest. There were stains on the walls and ceilings. Upon arrival into the room, we noticed tiny insects like ants crawling in the bathroom sink and on the walls in the room. The water pressure in the shower was not great. Also it seemed very hard to adjust the water temperature to just right. Most of the time, we were left with extremely hot or ice cold cater. The bed was a queen size which was adequate and comfortable to sleep in. However, it seemed like the walls are very thin as we could constantly hear our neighbours in the other rooms speak. They provided complimentary water, tea and coffee in the room which was good. Our room was cleaned everyday and they will provide new sheets and towels if needed. There was free wifi in the room but it was downright absurd as the connection was slow and unstable. It was almost impossible to connect, and when you do manage to connect online, your net would get disconnected after 10 minutes or so. It was very annoying trying to connect to the wifi everyday. We didn't choose the breakfast option so cannot comment on the quality. The service at reception was okay. Overall, we think this hotel has poor value for money. You will be better off paying a little extra for a nicer hotel room and a better experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    129
    82
    42
    25
See reviews for
41
157
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We booked our room at this hotel because we read a couple of good reviews here on trip advisor, when entering our room we instantly noticed that it was crawling with insects and the room was really dirty. The night receptionist was extremly helpfull and booked a room at another hotel as they where fully booked and it was already midnight. When coming back to the hotel we met the rudest and most disrespectful front-desk manager I have ever met in my life ( I work at a hotel ). Through-out our stay, her mood just got worse and she made sure that we would never ever suggest or use this hotel again. The hotel was dirty, mold in the bathroom and It did not smell nice. Even though the location is perfect we found alot of other hotels in the area for the same price , clean and with the nicest staff

Our recommendation : don't be fooled by fake reviews, find another hotel.

To the hotel : change management, cause your morning personal ( blonde woman ) made sure we are not coming back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane,
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed for a week at this hotel, as it was conveniently placed for the Museum of Natural History and Botanic Garden, where I had work to do. It was also close to a Metro station and within walking distance of central Paris. The room was basic but clean and the breakfast was adequate. The lift was extremely small and cramped, but possible to use the fire exit, although one light was not working there. The carpet outside our room was due for replacement as there were multiple stains from cigarette butts on it, making for a depressing scene before entering our room. Probably better value elsewhere in Paris - the same money in Berlin paid for almost luxury accommodation by comparison.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

nice place with small rooms as you would expect for this price but you cant beat the location. across the street is Jardin des Plantes and the metro is just down the street with access to all of Paris. Also some nice restaurants close by. We would love to stay here again the next time we're in Paris!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, and were pleased with our stay at the hotel. We did not try the breakfast, as it was not included in the price of the room. The location is good for central Paris, and it is easy access to tourist attractions from there. The room was alright, and pretty in line with the price, i.e. as you would expect at that price. The beds were really comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I wanted to come to Paris for my birthday and I didn't want to stay right in the centre but, equally, I didn't want to have to spend most of the trip travelling so, I did some research and found this hotel in the Latin Quarter.

It's a bargain and it's perfect for travelling in and around Paris. The rooms are fairly small but if you don't intend to spend much time in your hotel (we had a very full itinerary) then that shouldn't matter too much. It definitely didn't make our stay any less pleasant.

The room was clean and the reception staff were pleasant enough.

Two things to bear in mind;

1. The "free" safe at reception is actually 4 euros a day but it's very handy
2. The lift is tiny and there are no stairs apart from the fire exit which you are discouraged from using so be prepared to be uncomfortable when travelling between floors

All in all a pleasant stay; would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neamt
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The hotel is small, not to many rooms but in a very good location for exloration. Jardin del Plants is in front the hotel, the metro station close (300 metres) and many places to eat out.
1. room: not to big but comfortable, with a perfect bed, big and soft, clean. We had a room with no view but was ok. Paris is not discovered from the window. You can make tea, în the room but to fridge.
2. Bathroom : ok, good sized.
3. Elevator: small.
4. Food: Baguette, butter, fruits, danone, cheese, tea, milk, coffee. A good breakfast.
5. Is a safe area, even by night (at 3 a.m.)
6. Personnel : ok, helpfull.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Timhotel Jardin des Plantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timhotel Jardin des Plantes

Address: 5 rue Linne, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,287 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Timhotel Jardin des Plantes 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 5 story hotel located opposite the Botanical Gardens in the Latin Quarter - 1/2 kilometer to Austerlitz train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Timhotel Jardin des Plantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timhotel Jardin Des Plantes Hotel Paris
Timhotel Jardin Des Plantes Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timhotel Jardin des Plantes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.