We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for overnight stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Rue Castellane, FR 75008 Paris, France (Champs-Élysées)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good for overnight stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

We stayed one night at this hotel on June 14 between coming back from Normandy and leaving for the airport. I chose it because it was walkable from Gare St Lazare (although a little long for my mother with luggage) and we could walk to the Opera to get the Roissy bus to the airport. However, after walking from the train station, we decided to take a shuttle to the airport so we didn't have to walk again with the luggage. The receptionist called the shuttle for us and everything went very smoothly.

The rooms were small but adequate for 1 night. I was happier in our apartment for a longer stay, though. The rooms were clean. Each had 2 twin beds that you could walk around but not between. There was a full bathtub with a shower curtain. There was a small elevator that you could fit 2 people with a small suitcase in.

There was a breakfast room downstairs and breakfast was included in our rate but we had to leaved for the airport too early to try it.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    232
    27
    4
    8
See reviews for
68
266
31
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

My father and I stayed recently at the Folkestone and thought it was great. We booked through the bestwestern site directly and the rate for prepaid was better than anything out there and included breakfast. We were on the street side and even then it was not too noisy. The rooms are small but I am not in Paris to hang around the rooms I am there to tour around!

It is in a great location which has easy acess to the RER (which takes you to the suburbs or the CDG airport), numerous other Metro lines (which take you throughout Paris) and is in walking distance from Opera, the Grands Magasin, and down to the Champs Elysee and Place de la Concorde.

Highly recommend it and the staff was very friendly and spoke English if needed. they have an internet terminal as well which was helpful and a group of French newspapers and the Herald Tribune every morning to read!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

It's a nice hotel where I will stay again. The rooms are small but cozy, well furnished. The bathroom was small but very clean and I can’t say the dimension really bother us. The hotel is very well located near subway, restaurants and a lot of shops. Also the Gare St. Lazare is nearby and even Place de la Concorde it’s ten minutes away. In fact we walk from the hotel to Place de la Concorde, Champs Elysees, Arc de Triumph and Tour Eiffel. It was a long walk but feasible and very pleasant on a nice sunny day. The breakfast was included and it was good. Not a very large variety but more than enough to give us a good start in the morning. The internet in the lobby was also useful but we needed some times to wait a few minutes for other persons to finish. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only problem we had was that the elevator didn’t work a few days and the staff offered us the minibar contents for free to compensate. I will definitely stay again in this hotel on my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

I stayed at the Best Western Folkestone Opera and loved everything about it. The staff is amazing. The hotel is clean and the location perfect. It's around the corner from the metro st madaleine. Close to the Place st madeleine and you can walk to the Place de concorde and Champs Elysee.
It's very convenient and easy to get around. The best was that the breakfast is free and you can just call frnt desk and have them bring it t you room. At no additonal charge.
I have nothing bad to say about this hotel or the staff. The rooms are small but confortable and clean. My room even had a balcony with a little garden. Adorable!
They staff at front desk spoke English and if you need tickets for some attractions and shuttle to the airport, they book it for you.
I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

This was our first trip to Europe and so far our experince with hotels in London and Stockholm had been fantastic. Our luck ran out at this BW. From the very first moment we had problems with the our check in, the lady at reception was rude and not helpful at all and this attitude remained until we checked out 5 days later.
The ladies at the breakfast area were more interested in gossiping in the kitchen and eating the food rather than making sure the guests were looked after. If we ever asked for anything we were given the most agressive look and were made to feel as we were in their way. RUDE! RUDE! RUDE!
The rooms were a joke , so small .

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

I had an opportunity to stop over in Paris for the weekend following meetings in the UK. Naturally, I chose the same hotel I stayed at 3 years ago since everything had been quite to my liking. I arrived at 11:30 and had to wait 15 minutes for my room to be made up. No problem. I was given 605, one of 4 rooms across the front that have a balcony/deck facing Rue de Castellane (6th floor only). Everything was meticulously clean, however there is the possibility of ants from the potted plants on the balcony. I spotted one in my room. The bed is comfortable. The bathroom is tiny but spotless and well supplied iwth toiletries. The view is pleasant. There are 3 layers of curtains to block the light if you're inclined to sleep late. I love the neighborhood, from the small shops and restaurants to the 1 block walk to the Metro or 4 blocks to the big department stores.

Breakfast is still nicely turned out, although I was disappointed to find apricot juice no longer offered. There are still 2 or 3 freshly baked cakes, fruit, cheese, ham and yogurt, croissants and pain de chocoloate. All included in my rate (115 Friday and 135 Saturday). I was delighted to find one of the front desk clerks still there after 3 years. She lied and said she remembered me too. No problem speaking English, happy to give directions, help with pronounciations or call a taxi.

Internet is now free. I did not use wifi, but did use the computer in the lobby with no problem.

I will return, hopefully in less than 3 years.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoples Republic of Manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

Situated around the corner from Madeleine, it's perfectly walkable to the Seine, St Germaine, The Louvre & Musee d'Orsay. We found the discounted room rate excellent for an Hotel pretty much bang in the centre of Paris. The neighbourhood felt safe and welcoming with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby, although it is an expensive area of Paris. The hotel is on a quiet street so no traffic noise during our stay. I'm going to have to rethink my stereotypical view of Parisians because the receptionist was warm and welcoming and spoke perfect English. The hotel is well decorated, indeed one floor was being decorated whilst we were there. The bedrooms were indeed small, however, I've stayed in smaller rooms in London and Manhatten. Unless your gonna hold a party, the room is adequate. Bathroom was as small as it could be though. I think I've had a larger bathroom in a caravan. But it was well presented.
Breakfast, which unusually was included in our rate, was a very good buffet. Cold meats, cheese, pastries, boiled egg, fruit, cereals. etc. We filled our boots to last us until well into the day. No it's not 5 star, but if your on a budget I would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera

Address: 9 Rue Castellane, FR 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Élysées
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#80 Business Hotel in Paris
#116 Family Hotel in Paris
#142 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.