We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Rue Castellane, FR 75008 Paris, France (Champs-Élysées)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
greece
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Almost a Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We decided to spent Christmas in Paris just at the last minute! Having no time at all we chose the Folkestone Opera Hotel based on the good reviews on the TripAdvisor and we were so lucky with this selection! The location couldn`t be better with major sights being at a walking distance. The Madeleine Metro Station was just around the corner and the huge shopping center Printemtps was just two minutes away. The area was really festive, with numerous brasseries and small restaurants staying open until late in the evening. The hotel is a perfect value for money, especially considering the difficult Christmas period. It is a small, cosy, and elegantly furnished hotel. Rooms are very cute and not as small as I was afraid (having read about the Parisian Hotels!). We stayed at the 309 and we had a view of the Rue de Castellane. Everything was very clean, the beds were extremely comfortable, the towels were very soft and the toiletries were from organic products. The breakfast room was located at the -1 floor, in a vaulted room-like a crypt! The variety of food was not that large, but everything was delicious and fresh. The croissants were absolutely addictive and the coffee strong and tasty! The staff was amazingly polite and friendly and really added to us enjoying our staying there. The receptionists are all English speaking, so there is no communication issues. They provided us with a free wi-fi for 3 appliances (2 self phones,1 pad). The only observation is that in case you need some snak late in the evening, you have to go and get something yourself, because they do not have a room service. Other than that, not only we would suggest the Folkestone Opera to my friends and family, but we would surely choose it again the next time we come to Paris!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Good evening from Paris,
Happy New Year and All the Best for 2014 !!! Thank you so much to taking time to wrote your comment. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards,
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    233
    27
    4
    8
See reviews for
69
267
31
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Booked this hotel over the internet for my first trip to Paris in October. The location of the hotel was excellent - it was near the Madeline Metro station and the area near the hotel was also beautiful. The rooms were very nice and comfortable (size is small as is the case with most European hotels).The staff at the reception was very helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Happy New Year from Paris !! All the Best for 2014 !!! Thank you so much for your comment. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, especially for your first time in Paris !
Regards,
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This hotel is great in every aspect: position, confort and staff kindness. The structure has been recently renewed and it's very comfortable. My boyfriend and I only moved on foot and took the metro just in order to go to Disneyland because it's easy to reach every spot from this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Good morning from Paris ! Thank you so much for your comment. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us. As you wrote, our location is quite easy to moved everywere in Paris even for Disneyland with RER direct to the park.
We wish you a nice end of year !!
Kind regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This really is a lovely small hotel with a difference. Not only, having been recently refurbished, rooms are super cute (evenif smallish, as typical of parisian hotels in general) and well appointed , but also the owner and staff in general go the extra mile to take good care of you. This time (december) we even found a small box of chocolates awaiting for us in the room!
Breakfast is plentiful and of good quality and the location is spot in the center of Paris, so very convenient for both sightseeing and also connections to the airports.
Also, I must point out that ive been using this hotel regularly over a number of years and my opinion ahs been consistently positive, if anythin it has improved.
Well done to the team at Folkestone Opera!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
All the staff joins me to thank you to taking time to wrote your kind comment… We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate our last renovation.
We thank you too for your loyalty…
We wish you a nice end of year and hope to see you again in Paris in Folkestone Opéra.
Best regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Sarawak, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Excellent location (2 minutes walk from Madeleine metro station), friendly staffs. We felt very welcomed. The receptionist was very helpful and offered a sincere help and knew us personally. The receptionist also speak a very good English. Good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Good afternoon from Paris ! Thank you so much for you sympathic comment ; we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you once again in France, may be in a different season !!???
We wish you a nice end of year,
kind regards,
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Lovely hotel and perfectly situated. We stayed for three nights and cannot fault the experience.
The hotel was closely situated to Madeleine Metro station however all the main attractions, we soon discovered, were in easy walking distance. A ten minute stroll through a park and you were upon the Seine.
The rooms were nicely decorated and came with all the essentials you needed, and an impressive bathroom for a petite hotel (even if the water took a while to reach a bathing temperature!) The balcony over looking the streets of Paris was an added bonus too.
Breakfast was perfectly Continental, as you would expect and the staff were pleasant and helpful.
As somebody who doesn't know Paris, I think we were pretty lucky to end up somewhere quite so lovely!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
You know Paris at this time !! Good evening from Paris and we thank you so much for your kind comment, we hope to have the chance to welcome you again in Folkestone,
Have a wonderfull end of year in Worcester and may be see you in a different season in 2014 !!!
Kind Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Can't fault this hotel. Basic, but well presented. No extras, but everything you need is there.

The location is great. It is south of opera and all the shops, but an easy walk. It is north of the river, but only 10min walking. The Madeleine metro station is just around the corner.

We would stay here again when returning to Paris!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Good evening Sir, thank you for your comment, you are a real guide of Paris now !
We hope to welcome you again in Paris, may be in summer time ?!
All the staff joins me to wish you a nice end of year in England,
with our best regards
annemarie gerbault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera

Address: 9 Rue Castellane, FR 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Élysées
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#74 Business Hotel in Paris
#106 Family Hotel in Paris
#142 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.