We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Rue Castellane, 75008 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€110 (EUR)
Ranked #138 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Lovely hotel and perfectly situated. We stayed for three nights and cannot fault the experience.
The hotel was closely situated to Madeleine Metro station however all the main attractions, we soon discovered, were in easy walking distance. A ten minute stroll through a park and you were upon the Seine.
The rooms were nicely decorated and came with all the essentials you needed, and an impressive bathroom for a petite hotel (even if the water took a while to reach a bathing temperature!) The balcony over looking the streets of Paris was an added bonus too.
Breakfast was perfectly Continental, as you would expect and the staff were pleasant and helpful.
As somebody who doesn't know Paris, I think we were pretty lucky to end up somewhere quite so lovely!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
You know Paris at this time !! Good evening from Paris and we thank you so much for your kind comment, we hope to have the chance to welcome you again in Folkestone,
Have a wonderfull end of year in Worcester and may be see you in a different season in 2014 !!!
Kind Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    258
    28
    4
    8
See reviews for
76
307
35
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Can't fault this hotel. Basic, but well presented. No extras, but everything you need is there.

The location is great. It is south of opera and all the shops, but an easy walk. It is north of the river, but only 10min walking. The Madeleine metro station is just around the corner.

We would stay here again when returning to Paris!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Good evening Sir, thank you for your comment, you are a real guide of Paris now !
We hope to welcome you again in Paris, may be in summer time ?!
All the staff joins me to wish you a nice end of year in England,
with our best regards
annemarie gerbault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Porto, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Nice small hotel,well situated,central.But rooms and specially the bathrooms were small..Also too close to the elevator,which makes a lot of noise.But if you don't mind that overall it'S a Nice place to stay

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Good afternoon from Paris,
Thank you to taking time to wrote a comment. « Nice small hotel », as you wrote everything is small in Paris… !!! We are so sorry about that but we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us even if with this « small »trouble…
With our best regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and found that the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The room we had was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was of a good quality and the ladies replenishing the food were very helpful and efficient.
The hotel is in a perfect location for Concorde and the various bars and cafés.
Can't wait to go back and definitely would stay at this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you very much to taking time to wrote your comment.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for the breakfast ladies… !!!
We wish you a nice end of year
Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. I agree that it can be tricky to find at first, but once you do, you also realize that it is conveniently close to subway stations and that you can walk to quite a few attractions. It is located in a nice, quiet neighbourhood with lots of restaurants ("Chez Papa", for example, was wonderful) and shops ("Printemps" is 5 minute walk from the hotel) nearby.

The rooms are -- as usual in Paris -- small (adequate for us, but I can see that someone with multiple suitcases would find it a bit tight), but clean, comfortable and very tastefully decorated. There were no drawers in the room, just a closet and some shelves. There was also a minibar, a flat-screen TV, and a safe (you had to leave EUR 50 deposit for the key). The bed was very comfortable -- not too hard, not too soft. Washrooms are very clean; the showerhead was a bit worn, but it worked just fine, and the water temperature and pressure were easy to adjust. Shampoo and shower gel were mediocre.

Our room was facing the street and while my husband and I didn't mind the street noise nor the light from streetlights, I can see how someone with light sleep may prefer a room that faces away from the street. Personally, we enjoyed the commotion, it was part of the Parisian experience.

The room was cleaned very well and the hotel staff was polite and helpful. We did not try their breakfast (there is a cute and affordable pastry shop "Castellane" right across the hotel -- their pastries were delicious!), but we did use their free computer and printer in the hotel lobby, which was very convenient and useful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Madame,
All the staff and myself are so pleased you had a good stay with us in Folkestone Opéra. I’m suprised concerning your shampoo and shower gel comment ?!!!
Their quality is really good, do you speak about their numbers may be… ???
It’s a pity you didn’t taste our home made pastries but I do understand you like the one across the street. We hope you had a nice trip back home to Toronto and we whish you a nice winter.
Sincerely,
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed here in May 2013 for 6 nights, the location was tricky at first to find but well worth it. The rooms are small but comfortable and very clean. The reception was always helpful. The location is great, close to the metro and had a number of cafes in close walking distance. There was a restaurant "chez papa" around the corner that had the best prawns I've ever had! I would stay here again. Complimentary breakfast was standard.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Now you know the way to visit us !!! Thank you to taking the time to wrote a comment since may. We hope to see you again in Paris, you still have plenty of restaurant to test...
With our best regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

After spending many hours checking out hotels on the internet, we decided on this one. The hotel was very very clean, the staff were very helpful and friendly, our room was slightly on the small side but had everything that we needed. The room had been recently decorated. The breakfast was very good.
The hotel is within easy walking distance of the main attractions and close to the red bus stops.
Will definitely stop there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Good afternoon from Paris ! we are glad you had chosen Folkestone Opéra. Thank you for your nice comment and don’t hesitate to contact us if we can help for anything in Paris in the futur.
Kind regards
Annemarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera

Address: 9 Rue Castellane, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#104 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#113 Business Hotel in Paris
#122 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.