We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anne Marie & Daniel from Toronto, Canada” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Rue Castellane, FR 75008 Paris, France (Champs-Élysées)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #109 of 1,793 hotels in Paris
toronto
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Anne Marie & Daniel from Toronto, Canada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel April 12-19th, 2013. It is wonderfully situated in a charming street in the heart of Paris. We could not have wished for a better location. Close to everything with great little bistros steps away. The metro and tour buses are 2-5 minute walk. Our room was wonderful with a small sitting room and a great balcony that just made our stay. We spent many hours after sightseeing just relaxing on the balcony with our baguettes, fresh cheese, the tastiest strawberries we have ever tasted and refreshments. All of the staff were extremely helpful and spoke excellent English. A special thanks to Virginia who seemed to be there from the day we arrived until we left and was so pleasant and friendly. She gave us suggestions and her directions were always accurate.The rooms were impeccable and the service was first class.This hotel made our trip the wonderful experience it was. To return from a glorious day in this beautiful city to our own little quaint hotel was a bonus. The beds were extremely comfortable and we slept contented and serene. I must also mention the breakfast which was a variety of cereal, toast, cheeses, yogurt, cold cuts, eggs- everything you could want. This started our day off beautifully and we were good until dinner. I have already recommended this hotel to all of my friends and would not even consider another hotel now that I have stayed at the Folkstone Opera. Again, our special thanks to all of the staff. Please know that you have made our memories that much better for your wonderful hospitality.

AnneMarie & Daniel

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony...It was magic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Anne-Marie and Daniel,
All the staff and I thank you for your kind comment. We are so please you enjoyed your stay with us and don’t hesitate to contact us if we can help for any thing in Paris.
Enjoy your summer time in your beautiful country…
Merci beaucoup et à très bientôt,
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    193
    22
    4
    7
See reviews for
53
205
29
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at Folkstone Opera for 6 nights end April / early May. The staff on the reception desk welcomed us warmly, and that set the tone for our stay. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. From getting directions, booking tours and just general information, we were always treated with respect and in a warm friendly manner. The hotel itself is located in a beautiful area of Paris, with excellent shopping and eating places near by. I highly recommend the patisserie across the road as well as the Italian restaurant 30 meters down the street. The beds in this hotel were the best beds we encountered in our 5 week Europe trip. I would not consider any other Paris hotel when I return to Paris ( next year I hope)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for this kind comment !!!
We hope to see you next year in Paris, may be with the sun…
Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Our travel agent recommended this small hotel and we were delighted with our accomodations.
Our room was lovely overlooking the small street in front with windows that opened a nice size bathroom and the overall ambiance of the hotel. We had a wonderful breakfast every morning that was replenished by a very attentive employee. The front desk arranged tours for us, everyone we encountered at this liitle gem went out of their way to make our stay memorable.
Thank you and we hope to be back.

Room Tip: Recommend the larger room we stayed in 203 room quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Good Morning From Paris !
It was your first time in Paris but not the last one...We hope that you'll come back too !!
Thank you for your nice comment,
regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have stayed at this perky little hotel at each of our three visits to Paris and it never disappoints.So wonderfully located on a quiet little street close to some of the best shopping and sights in this magical city,Hotel Folkestone Opera more than satisfies our demands. The rooms are intimate and ever-so clean, the bathrooms being especially attractive, and as for the beds, we always have a great sleep due to their quality and the fact that the area is so quiet.
I am always so impressed by the front-desk people-courteous and always so helpful whatever your request and all speak excellent English too. I must admit that I am on first-name basis with most after our three visits! Free use of the computer,printer and wi-fi,are definite added bonuses. The breakfast room downstairs is very well organized and spacious and the ladies who serve there are so lovely and attend any special requests. The breakfast is described as continental by a few Tripadvisor reviews but we have found that it should be given a much higher rating-great choice of cereal, fruit, both fresh and canned, eggs of your choice, pastries, meats, yoghurts, cheeses, scrumptious breads or toast, to me add up to full on breakfast!!
And the best thing about this Hotel? If you can snare it, a little balcony makes your stay just perfect. A wine ,cheese,jambon and perhaps some delicious strawberries from the nearby fruiterer, at the end of a Paris day ,out on your balcony- aaahhhh, heaven!

Room Tip: Beg for a balcony !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Good morning from Paris ! Thank you so much for your loyalty and this kind comment.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and all the staff joins me to thank you to visit us in Folkestone
Kind regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera. We spent 6 nights. The room was clean, the staff very friendly, and the location wonderful. We arrived on Monday morning about 900 and were allowed check in early. Daily breakfast starting Tuesday was pleasant. It included yogurt, hard boiled eggs, pastry, fruit, coffee, and more.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 6th floor. The room was quiet and the elevator worked fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Good morning from Paris, we hope you had a nice trip back to Florida !
Please send us some sun and few degrees…here is still winter time…
Thank you so much for your kind comment, in taking time to wrote what you like in our hotel, you help us to improve, day by day, our services.
We which that you made all you wanted in six days in Paris
Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I used tripadvisor to plan our trip to Paris and found this hotel. Just spent a few nights at this hotel last week and it was great. We took a cab over from CDG (45 Euros) on a Thursday morning - it's located on a side street walking distance to major attractions (we just thought the walk to the Eiffel Tour was a bit long). It was very clean and front desk were very nice and helpful! Lobby is on the small side but nicely decorated (as was the breakfast room). As for the rooms - think small and then it'll be a little smaller than you expected! We were hoping for a room with a small terrace but couldn't get one. But everything considered it was big enough for two people and one large suitcase (and smaller bags). The beds and pillows were great - after a long day of sightseeing - you want a comfy bed and pillows. At first we were taken aback by how small the room was.... but after a couple of days we were fine and decided we'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Good Morning from Paris !
We are glad you decided to stay with us, as you wrote, even if Parisian’s rooms are smaller than you expected, we are pleased you definately enjoy your stay in Folkestone.
We hope to see you again in Paris,
have a nice summer !
Kind regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyneton, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We spent four nights at this hotel and found it was a very nice stay, the rooms are very small, even when compared to other European countries we have stayed at, but they are clean, modern and comfortable. When touring you really only spend the early mornings and late night at the hotels so this was fine by us. The staff are lovely and helpful from the front desk, the breakfast room, to the cleaners. The only issue we had was with the person in the next room, they weren't really doing anything wrong, just watching TV but you could hear everything. We wore earplugs during the whole of our stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your comment.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us even with thin walls and earplugs…
We try to improve it in renovation time and I understand it’s could be a trouble when we’ve got the habit to sleep in silence.
We hope you had a nice trip back !
Kind Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera

Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western
Address: 9 Rue Castellane, FR 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Élysées
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#94 Family Hotel in Paris
#95 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.