We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed My Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Rue Castellane, FR 75008 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€110 (EUR)
Ranked #129 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“Enjoyed My Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Wonderful Stay

We arrived at the Best Western Folkstone by taxi from the Paris Gare du Nord( train station). Takes about 10 minutes or so.
Cost was about 11 Euros. Hotel is located in the Opera District. Very convenient, close to restaurants, shopping and the Metro(Madeleine). Area is upscale and quiet..
We were greeted warmly / check-in was a breeze.
The hotel lobby is nicely decorated with art work comfortable chairs and lots magazines also lobby has a small bar. I saw a computer for your us also.
Our room( 407) was nicely decorated, clean and comfortable.. Hotel rooms are small in Paris, this is no exception room just right for 2 persons. The bathroom is done in white( I liked that).We had a shower and tub in the bathroom. Overall the hotel appeared to be very clean. Our room looked out over the street/ we slept soundly. If the light bothers you there is a panel in the window that come down to shut out the light from the street at night
Buffet breakfast is the normal French breakfast and was good. The breakfast area is located in the basement. You can take the elevator or the cute winding stairs to get to it. The elevator can hold two or three normal size people, no more. Dining area is nicely set up with a lady there to help you. The hotel does have internet connection, I can’t remember if there is a cost ,wi fi and breakfast were included in our room rate. All the hotel staff I encounter in the halls and breakfast area were friendly and pleasant. I would stay here again.

P.S I stayed here about 10 or more years ago and I can say the hotel has done a very good job in remolding and updating the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your support concerning our last renovation ; we are glad you like it !
For information, internet corner and wifi in all rooms are free.
We hope to welcome you in Folkestone Hotel, and may be, before 10 years… !!!
Kind Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    256
    28
    4
    8
See reviews for
75
306
35
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed in the hotel around Christmas 2012.

The Hotel is in a small side road of Madeleine, so you won't have traffic noise or anything and just few minutes walk to the metro.
The rooms were clean and the staff is very friendly and always helpful.
Breakfast had a good variety of all you need and was fresh and tasty.

We had a lovely stay and will stay again at our next Paris visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas Gracias para su comentario, muy amable y sympatico.
Esperamos verte de nuevo en Paris,
Cordialmente
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed here from 7-11 April 2013 and the hotel is great.It's at Madeline station and near to Opera. The hotel had just been renovated and the room is clean. They even give me a box of chocolate as a gift when arrived! The breakfast is great and the staffs are courteous. Given my budget, this is a fine hotel even though it's consider as a 3 star. Well done!

Room Tip: Room on the higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you very Much Sir for your kind comment,
You give us the pleasure to improve our services day by day.
We hope to welcome you in Paris !
Regards
Anne-Marie Gerbault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I wasn't expecting much from a hotel at this price point and in the heart of Paris, but the Best Western exceeded my expectations.

Good:
* Clean rooms. Larger than I expected: most Paris hotel rooms are tiny until you start shelling out many hundreds of euros per night. I have stayed at more expensive hotels with smaller rooms.
* Comfortable bed, good amenities in bedroom/bathroom.
* Surprisingly quiet, given how many rooms are packed into a small space. Maybe I just got lucky in having courteous guests around me.
* Decent breakfast for a hotel in this category. No, it is not extravagant. But other hotels in Paris have much simpler breakfasts.
* Friendly front desk staff. Answered all my questions at check-in without complaint or fuss. Looked after my luggage on my final day without complaint.
* Excellent location. Very close to Madeleine metro. Very close to Gare St Lazare/Hausmann, which is just one stop on the RER from Gare du Nord / Gare de l'Est.
* Free, fast wifi. Free printer access at reception.

Needs improvement:
* Maybe they could do more to secure luggage left on a guest's final day (e.g. put it out of sight in a closet or something). However, this is ultimately not the hotel's responsibility, and I am not going to lower the hotel's rating because of this one factor.

I would happily stay here again, especially for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
It’s such a pleasure and our priority when customers live us happy !
Don’t hesitate to contact us if you can help for anything in Paris,
Kind regards
Anne-Marie Gerbault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basingstoke
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Best place to go in Paris , great location , walking distance to all the top attractions ,immaculately clean room, all you need.we stayed for a long weekend Thursday to Sunday and when we come back to Paris this is the hotel we will come to, good continental breakfast with multiple choices,the staff very polite and friendly and very helpfully, thank you very much for making our stay unforgettable

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you to you for this kind comment.
Our location is very pleasant and close to so much attractions as you wrote.
All the Staff and I are so please you enjoy your stay with us, your satisfaction is our priority !
Kind regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay in Paris. In a very nice part of town, close to the Metro, plenty of places to eat around there. This is a rather expensive area but I find it very safe and clean. Also all the major sites are a max 20 min Metro ride. This was my 1st stay here but it was perfect for me as my office is right around the corner. While the rooms maybe "small" for American standards, they are big for Paris standards and very competitively priced. Very clean well-kept rooms. I am pretty particular with how clean my rooms are and the whole hotel is very clean and well kept. The front desk is very friendly and helpful and so is the other staff. I had a queen size room and it was perfect for 2 people. You cannot fit any more than that in there. The bathroom had a tub which I am grateful for. The single showers are usually way too small but this allowed for a good amount of room in the bathroom. Breakfast was excellent but the basic continental breakfast (I prefer this). My breakfast was part of my room rate so I do not know how much it costs independently (I have stayed at places that charge 20 Euro). No hot items per say (eggs/scrambles etc) but a good buffet and very well kept. This is the best value for what you get I have found in Paris so far and I have stayed at 4 hotels. Well done Folkstone Best Western, you have me as a customer as long as this level of service continues and the price is reasonable. I will stay here again on business and again when I am back with family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
All the staff and I thank you for your congretulations. Your feed back is very important for us, it help us to improve our service.
Cleanliness is our priority, every day we work for it.
For information, breakfast rate is 13€ if it can help some travelers.
Kind Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

we stayed again at this small hotel. Wonderfull location. The staff very helpfull and an excellent breakfast. It's served after 7 AM, we were leaving before 7, we told the day before to the breakfast lady and she had prepared for 6,30

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank You so much for your loyalty to Folkestone Opéra.
We are so please to welcome you as you expected. Liliane, breakfast lady, will be so happy to read your comment, thank you for her. She try to help, as much as possible, our customers.
We hope to see you again in Paris, may be in a summer time with some more degrees…
Kind Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera

Address: 9 Rue Castellane, FR 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#101 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#111 Business Hotel in Paris
#111 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.