We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great Hotel at a central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Rue Castellane, 75008 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€110 (EUR)
Ranked #168 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great Hotel at a central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed in the hotel around Christmas 2012.

The Hotel is in a small side road of Madeleine, so you won't have traffic noise or anything and just few minutes walk to the metro.
The rooms were clean and the staff is very friendly and always helpful.
Breakfast had a good variety of all you need and was fresh and tasty.

We had a lovely stay and will stay again at our next Paris visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas Gracias para su comentario, muy amable y sympatico.
Esperamos verte de nuevo en Paris,
Cordialmente
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    273
    32
    4
    8
See reviews for
82
323
38
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed here from 7-11 April 2013 and the hotel is great.It's at Madeline station and near to Opera. The hotel had just been renovated and the room is clean. They even give me a box of chocolate as a gift when arrived! The breakfast is great and the staffs are courteous. Given my budget, this is a fine hotel even though it's consider as a 3 star. Well done!

Room Tip: Room on the higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you very Much Sir for your kind comment,
You give us the pleasure to improve our services day by day.
We hope to welcome you in Paris !
Regards
Anne-Marie Gerbault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I wasn't expecting much from a hotel at this price point and in the heart of Paris, but the Best Western exceeded my expectations.

Good:
* Clean rooms. Larger than I expected: most Paris hotel rooms are tiny until you start shelling out many hundreds of euros per night. I have stayed at more expensive hotels with smaller rooms.
* Comfortable bed, good amenities in bedroom/bathroom.
* Surprisingly quiet, given how many rooms are packed into a small space. Maybe I just got lucky in having courteous guests around me.
* Decent breakfast for a hotel in this category. No, it is not extravagant. But other hotels in Paris have much simpler breakfasts.
* Friendly front desk staff. Answered all my questions at check-in without complaint or fuss. Looked after my luggage on my final day without complaint.
* Excellent location. Very close to Madeleine metro. Very close to Gare St Lazare/Hausmann, which is just one stop on the RER from Gare du Nord / Gare de l'Est.
* Free, fast wifi. Free printer access at reception.

Needs improvement:
* Maybe they could do more to secure luggage left on a guest's final day (e.g. put it out of sight in a closet or something). However, this is ultimately not the hotel's responsibility, and I am not going to lower the hotel's rating because of this one factor.

I would happily stay here again, especially for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
It’s such a pleasure and our priority when customers live us happy !
Don’t hesitate to contact us if you can help for anything in Paris,
Kind regards
Anne-Marie Gerbault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basingstoke
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Best place to go in Paris , great location , walking distance to all the top attractions ,immaculately clean room, all you need.we stayed for a long weekend Thursday to Sunday and when we come back to Paris this is the hotel we will come to, good continental breakfast with multiple choices,the staff very polite and friendly and very helpfully, thank you very much for making our stay unforgettable

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you to you for this kind comment.
Our location is very pleasant and close to so much attractions as you wrote.
All the Staff and I are so please you enjoy your stay with us, your satisfaction is our priority !
Kind regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay in Paris. In a very nice part of town, close to the Metro, plenty of places to eat around there. This is a rather expensive area but I find it very safe and clean. Also all the major sites are a max 20 min Metro ride. This was my 1st stay here but it was perfect for me as my office is right around the corner. While the rooms maybe "small" for American standards, they are big for Paris standards and very competitively priced. Very clean well-kept rooms. I am pretty particular with how clean my rooms are and the whole hotel is very clean and well kept. The front desk is very friendly and helpful and so is the other staff. I had a queen size room and it was perfect for 2 people. You cannot fit any more than that in there. The bathroom had a tub which I am grateful for. The single showers are usually way too small but this allowed for a good amount of room in the bathroom. Breakfast was excellent but the basic continental breakfast (I prefer this). My breakfast was part of my room rate so I do not know how much it costs independently (I have stayed at places that charge 20 Euro). No hot items per say (eggs/scrambles etc) but a good buffet and very well kept. This is the best value for what you get I have found in Paris so far and I have stayed at 4 hotels. Well done Folkstone Best Western, you have me as a customer as long as this level of service continues and the price is reasonable. I will stay here again on business and again when I am back with family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
All the staff and I thank you for your congretulations. Your feed back is very important for us, it help us to improve our service.
Cleanliness is our priority, every day we work for it.
For information, breakfast rate is 13€ if it can help some travelers.
Kind Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

we stayed again at this small hotel. Wonderfull location. The staff very helpfull and an excellent breakfast. It's served after 7 AM, we were leaving before 7, we told the day before to the breakfast lady and she had prepared for 6,30

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank You so much for your loyalty to Folkestone Opéra.
We are so please to welcome you as you expected. Liliane, breakfast lady, will be so happy to read your comment, thank you for her. She try to help, as much as possible, our customers.
We hope to see you again in Paris, may be in a summer time with some more degrees…
Kind Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was my third stay at the Folkestone Opera. We've always been drawn to its wonderfully central location, but its facilities, service and comfort add to its appeal. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful during our stay, ensuring that all our questions were answered and our needs met. The hotel also offers a great breakfast with many choices. If you enjoy walking, the Madeline Church, Place de la Concorde, the Champs Elysees, Opera Garnier and the fashionable (and expensive) department stores - Galarie Lafayette, Au Printemps - are within easy, walkable distances from the hotel. Additionally,the Madeline Metro stop isn't more than 5 minutes away. Getting to the hotel is relatively easy as well. We took the Roissy Bus from CDG at 10 Euros each and got off at the end of its run - Opera Garnier. From there you can walk to the hotel in 10 minutes.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe twin room. It was relatively roomy for Parisian hotels. We'd recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Good morning from Paris,
Thank you very much for this kind comment !!! As you wrote it, our location is a nice place to discover Paris ; we thank you for your loyalty to Folkestone Opéra !
Kind Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera

Address: 9 Rue Castellane, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#101 Family Hotel in Paris
#150 Business Hotel in Paris
#158 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.