We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and comfort equal happiness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Rue Castellane, FR 75008 Paris, France (Champs-Élysées)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Location and comfort equal happiness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was my third stay at the Folkestone Opera. We've always been drawn to its wonderfully central location, but its facilities, service and comfort add to its appeal. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful during our stay, ensuring that all our questions were answered and our needs met. The hotel also offers a great breakfast with many choices. If you enjoy walking, the Madeline Church, Place de la Concorde, the Champs Elysees, Opera Garnier and the fashionable (and expensive) department stores - Galarie Lafayette, Au Printemps - are within easy, walkable distances from the hotel. Additionally,the Madeline Metro stop isn't more than 5 minutes away. Getting to the hotel is relatively easy as well. We took the Roissy Bus from CDG at 10 Euros each and got off at the end of its run - Opera Garnier. From there you can walk to the hotel in 10 minutes.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe twin room. It was relatively roomy for Parisian hotels. We'd recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Good morning from Paris,
Thank you very much for this kind comment !!! As you wrote it, our location is a nice place to discover Paris ; we thank you for your loyalty to Folkestone Opéra !
Kind Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    211
    26
    4
    7
See reviews for
61
240
29
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very good value. Location is great.
Rooms are a little small, but well put together and clean. It is in an old building the heart of Paris, so small rooms are part of the deal unless you wish to pay a lot more. For our 3 nights in Paris this was the ideal combination of location, price, value etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you Sir for your comment.
Don't hesitate to contact us if we can help for any information you might need in Paris !
Kind Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was our second stay at the Folkestone Opera. We selected the hotel initially due to a recommendation from our travel agent in Switzerland, and for the second trip due to the location as we were going to the opera house.

Pros: Great location regarding sights, metro, restaurants, and the opera/ballet. Good breakfast buffet with enough quality and variety to keep up the interest. Good clean, quiet, comfortable rooms with free wifi. Friendly staff that speaks english. Prices were very reasonable for what you got.

Cons: The heating/cooling system in the room didn't work well (or we couldn't get it to work). It was a bit noisy on the 4th floor. Small rooms, but not unexpected in Paris. Minibars were minimally stocked, but we primarily needed water.

We would recommend you get a room with a terrace on the upper floors. The terraces are delightful and charming.

Room Tip: upper floors; ask for a terrace room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We appreciate that you take time to comment our Hotel. All the staff is happy that you enjoy the location and the hotel in general! Concerning the air conditioning, we are at your disposal during your stay, next time, don’t hesitate to ask us to give you a helping hand. We hope to see you soon!
Reception, Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

It is our second trip to Paris and it was easy decision to stay at this fabulous little hotel again. We stumbled on it by accident 2.5 years ago, and we consider it a lucky find.

It is perfectly located near all the best shops and public transport, the rooms are warm and cozy (in fact they have been refurbished since our first visit and are even nicer than we remembered!)

On the same street are some great restaurants including a super italian eaterie (get in early for a table) and delish Korean. The hotel itself has a buffet style breakfast that is lovely too.

The staff are as equally warm as the hotel surroundings and helped us out with all our public transport enquiries etc (a thank you to Virginia for her tips on getting to La Village).

The lounge is also really nice and there is free wifi in the lounge and hotel rooms.

In a nutshell this is a great hotel that represents remarkable value for its location and yes, we would happily come back for a third time. If it ain't broke why fixit?

Highly highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
First the whole team and I would like to wish you a very good year 2013, with lots of travels !
Most of all we thank you for your confidence and kind comment. It is always a pleasure to participate at your good memories.
We hope to see you again in our hotel.
Kind regards.
Laurence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

we stayed at this hotel for one week in early november. It was an easy check in. If you dont pack light you might need to make a few trips with your bags, small elevator. The hotel is a short walk to public transportation, metro and buses. The staff was very helpful, they helped us make reservations at a restaraunt, and then change them. There was a breakfast area downstairs. Nothing to exciting, basic stuff, but tasted good. It was very nice for those days you just want to grab something and go so you can start your day. The hotel room itself was clean. nothing over the top, small. but large enough for two people who came to paris to see the sites not spend time in their room. the bathroom was just what i would expect. the shower was small, would fit one person with not a lot of wiggle room. able to access internet from my room, but when i needed a bigger screen i was able to use a computer which is available in the lobby with a printer. i would stay there again should i go back to paris.

Room Tip: we had read that if you are on the ground floor it can get really noisy. we asked not to be one the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
The whole staff and I would like to thank you for your nice report regarding your stay with us in November. The rooms, as most rooms in Paris, are not so big, but as you wrote it, there is so much to sightsee in Paris, so easy from our central location...
We wish you an Happy New Year.
Kind regards.
Laurence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights on 6th floor. Typically small room for Paris but very cosy, nicely finished and a sizeable terrace. Great bedding and bed. Outside space - ideal if you are a smoker.

Bathroom was tiny, but good water pressure and lots of hot water. Good towels and toiletries too.

Breakfast was good quality and served in a nice cellar room.

Honestly, the best 3 star I've stayed in in Paris. Would definitely return.
Good value when booked as part of Eurostar from UK. Book it!

Room Tip: Seek 6th fllor with terrace if a smoker. Terrace would be great in Spring, Summer & Autumn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
So pleased to read such comments about our hotel, thank you for your time with us, and we'll be here in 2013 to welcome you again ! Happy New Year.
Laurence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in the attic room on 6 th floor which was very cosy , breakfast was included and was lovely which included fresh croissants and boiled eggs and a variety of different things , staff were also very helpful if we needed to book a taxi or make a reservation in a resturant.
Only 3 minutes walk from the Madeleine and tube station so very handy to go shopping or sight seeing, walking distance to all the designer shops and champs Élysées area, but very pricey!!
There are lots of restaurants on the same street as this hotel all different price ranges and a very good English bar around the corner call the cricketer .
Would definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice comment concerning your last stay with us. We have this chance to be vey well located in the centre and we always fell happy to know our guests spent an enjoyable time in our hotel.
We wis you an Happy New Year and hope to welcome you in 2013 !
King regards.
Laurence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera

Address: 9 Rue Castellane, FR 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Élysées
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Paris
#96 Family Hotel in Paris
#144 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.