We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paris is expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Rue Castellane, 75008 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€110 (EUR)
Ranked #169 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Paris is expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great location, nice hotel, good breakfast, excellent service......we recently stayed for 3 nights as a part of a 3 week trip in Europe. Booked online requesting a queen bed deluxe room, including breakfast. Price was almost $300. per night which seems high for a Best Western that is generally smaller than what we would find in the U.S. The room was comfortable and nicely appointed and the location is in the trendy Madeleine/Opera area, but still, the price seems high. We stayed in other Best Westerns in France and Germany but this was by far the most expensive. Probably our last hotel stay in Paris.....if we return, we will try an apartment next time.
One problem....we requested the shuttle to take us to Ch. de Gaulle Airport for our return home. Receptionist told us to allow 2 hours to make the trip. But the shuttle arrived a bit late and then made many more stops in addition to getting stuck in major traffic jam. So if you book shuttle from this hotel, you need to allow at least 3 hours in crazy Paris traffic!! We had to insist to be allowed to board as lines had already closed. Not the best way to start the day.

Room Tip: Maybe possible to pay less for a smaller room. Hotel is generally quiet. Elevator is very small and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your comment.
Airport Shuttle service is really a trouble in Paris because of traffic, I think we are going to stop to propose this solution to our customers but, it’s a pity, it’s cheaper than a cab…
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Best Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    273
    32
    4
    8
See reviews for
82
324
38
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We only stayed here for 2 nights. It was charming and clean in a fantastic location. Our room was smallish, but was an attic room with automated shutters and we looked out over the rooftops of the local area, absolutely lovely. We were within walking distance of the Champs Élysées and the upmarket Opera area. Loved it and wished we had found it earlier

Room Tip: We loved our attic room on the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
In french we say « Il n’est jamais trop tard » meening it’s never too late…
So, Know, you’ve got your french adress’s !!!
Kind Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel was booked by my travel agent so I not quite sure what to expect but to my great relief the stay at the Hotel Folkestone was comfortable and very enjoyable. The room was an adequate size and well furnished. The continental breakfast that was included in my booking was well presented with a good range of food.
The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.
A great place for my too short visit to Paris.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your time with us and very happy you like your room and the hotel in general.
Thank you so much for your comment,
Sincerely
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Found this hotel via Eurostar, thought the location looked good. Thought that for the price we would get the traditional pokey little Paris room. Just goes to show how wrong you can be. Room was really good size with comfy double bed, two wardrobes, chairs, nice furnishings, tea & coffeee making facilities and room safe ( 50 Euro returnable key deposit). The bathroom was small, but contained all you need, toiletries, topped up every day, and the softest towels we've ever come across. Well stocked breakfast room in the basement, open till 11am, great for all of us who like to 'do' Paris by night. Staff vey helpful. Located on a very quiet one way street, so no traffic noise, and minutes from Madeleine and St Lazaire ( great for that trip to Versailles, 8 euros return & 30 mins) and only 6.40 euros from Gare Du Nord (traffic dependent of course) All in all a great find, will certainly return.
Tried to post some pics, but the site keeps falling over!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your time with us !
Our owner choose the towels, it’s one of the most important think for him with the bed quality, he will be very happy to read your comment,
All the staff and I hope to welcome you back in Paris,
Best regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We found this hotel after a long search on the internet in an attempt to find an hotel that does not take dogs. Not that I have anything against dogs (provided their owners are properly trained), it’s just that I can sometimes have an allergic reaction to certain doggy hairs and smells. It is surprising just how many hotels allow dogs into their rooms nowadays.

When we arrived, the upgraded room which we had booked was not available and we were moved into a standard room for one night. (Staff were most apologetic and seemed suitably embarrassed by this). The standard room was small and to the back of the hotel. However, my understanding is that most Paris hotel rooms are the size of broom cupboards and this was bigger than one of those. It was most comfortable and clean and perfectly adequate for a short stay – eg less than one week. The perfectly formed bathroom was tiny. We could fit in okay (just) but it may be bit of a squeeze for Very Large People.

We were moved into our booked room on our second day- this time fronting onto the narrow street. This room was well worth the extra money. From the large exceedingly comfortable bed to the large bathroom with walk in shower – it was all perfect. There was adequate storage space. Air conditioning worked well in both rooms.

The excellent self service breakfast was typically continental and more than adequate. Breakfast starts at 7am and finishes at a civilised 11am. The character breakfast room is in the old cellar and there are photos posted in this forum.

Reception staff were friendly, efficient and spoke good English. They did say that they could keep luggage for guests arriving early before the room is ready or leaving Paris late after the check out deadline.

Location could not be better. The hotel is in a very quiet side street but only a couple of hundred meters from Place de la Concorde via Place Madeleine and from there, you have the bridge across to the ‘left’ side of the Seine, to the left you have the park leading along to the Louvre and to the right is the start of the Champs-Elysees. Within 3K in one direction is the Eiffel Tower, and the same distance in the opposite direction is the Bastille. 3K is usually an easy 40 minute stroll but the sites within short detours of each of the walks will take weeks to get around. We purchased a book of Metro tickets at St Pancras but apart from the trip to and from Garde de Norde, they were not used.

There are restaurants and bars near the hotel although neither as many nor the choice that you will get in the area around the lively, edgy, Pompidou Centre and the nearby Marais quarter (THE area to go shopping on Sundays) or other parts of Paris. The restaurant next door, Madeleine C, is excellent but more upmarket but the fixed price menu dinner deals (available weekdays but get there by 7pm) represents absolutely superb value for money considering the high standard of the food.

I have awarded this hotel 4 stars - very good - although I may be a little harsh. In so many respects it is excellent. This lovely clean and comfortable little hotel in a quiet side street was completely refurbished to a very high standard last year and the style of decoration is just about perfect. It is a shame that the windows were not double glazed and extra sound proofing added to the partition walls between the rooms during the refurbishment. This hotel is most definitely NOT noisy but what very little noise there is from the narrow street gets bounced around the tall buildings and even with the (brilliant) electronic controlled blinds down, the sound still carried. This was not a problem for us, and our neighbours in the adjoining rooms were quiet and civilised which helped.

Overall, I have no problem recommending this hotel and will certainly be back should we return to Paris. There are so many things to see and do in this fantastic city. And it it so easy to get to.

Paris itself is very different to the dirty smelly arrogant Paris I last visited 43 years ago. Paris has, at long last, learned how to display its many ample charms and display them it does – VERY impressive, although I have some reservations about the Louvre and I will post a separate review on this art gallery. Paris is now one of those cities that is a MUST to visit. Having said that, it does help to speak a little French and, with the large numbers of rough sleepers, it can still be smelly in some places. Overall, Paris is as safe as any other major city in Europe but there are con artists on the streets (the dropped ‘gold’ ring con and variations of the 3 card trick are the most common methods to extract 20 Euro notes from tourists) and pickpockets and thieves are around. It pays to be forewarned – as we were thanks to Trip Advisor – and, as in all major town and cities, one must take care at all times.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much to taking the time to wrote this brillant comment to Paris !
We are pleased you enjoyed your sharing time with us and hope to welcome you in the futur to continue your road trip all over the town,
Kind Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just got back from a long weekend and this little gem was perfect in every way. Location is amazing, we walked EVERYWHERE from here. Lots of places to eat nearby and the bar prices are extremely reasonable, breakfast brilliant and the rooms a very decent size for Paris and very clean/comfortable with everything you could need. I saw someone commented about the view from the window being an office, but you can't expect the Eiffel tower for the price of this hotel and that just meant that it was very quiet! A really lovely side street but close to everything.
We ate at the first sushi place you come to out of the hotel and would recommend it, but go easy on ordering as they are bigger servings than in UK! We would also recommend cafe Madeleine for a cheap and cheerful dinner, although don't be pressured into ordering cocktails/desserts/liquor coffees as these are extortionate!
All of the staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful with very good English and patient with our very bad French! We also decided to book the river cruise dinner (9PM) that there are leaflets for in the foyer. I can't recommend this enough, it was amazing.
Absolutely NOTHING wrong with this hotel and for the price we paid we couldn't believe how nice it was. If we or anyone we know every visits Paris again, it will be to stay here.

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor and had no issues, never waited long for the lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments.
We are glad you enjoyed your weekend in Paris with us !
Hope to se you soon in Folkestone Hôtel, Regards
Anne-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

We went to Paris in May 2012 for our 2nd Honeymoon. We decided to stay at this hotel based on the location and the reviews on this site. This is a great hotel, located close to the metro Madeleine, as well as the fashion malls Printemps, Les Galleries Lafayette, and other well known fancy fashion stores. It is also close to all the tourist attractions, such as the Tuillerie and the Louvre.

The hotel room was vey clean, and spacious enough for two adult... A bit bigger than I expected for Paris hotel. The bathroom was also quite nice and modern. The continental breakfast was very good, with fresh pastries and bread, as well as delicious slices of ham and cheese... Typically French. As for the staff, they were very curtious and helpful during our stay.

Will definitely go back if we are ever back in Paris.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Bonjour, hope your second honeymoon was memorable as first one in our city of love.
Thank you for your comment, we are glad that you was surprise (in good way) from our room.
Have a pleasant day.
Laëtitia, front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera

Address: 9 Rue Castellane, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#101 Family Hotel in Paris
#152 Business Hotel in Paris
#158 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Folkestone Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.