We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare experience!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Abaca Messidor Paris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel Abaca Messidor Paris to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Abaca Messidor Paris
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 rue de Vaugirard, 75015 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #977 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
1 review
“Nightmare experience!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My experience at this hotel was HORRIBLE! First of all, they did not have the room that I requested upon arrival. They gave me an upgrade the first night, and I was forced to change the room the following day. On the following day, my new room was not ready when I arrived at the reception or the receptionist did not know I was supposed to make a change (which is not normal). Upon my arrival that evening back to the hotel, I had discovered that all my things were removed from the room without my knowledge and my personal items had been touched by complete strangers (hotel staff). When I went to the reception, they were rude and gave nothing but excuses and did not even offer an apology for the mix-up (which was their fault), since I went to the reception that morning to make the room change but the receptionist apparently knew nothing about it. When I spoke to the owner of the hotel on the phone he was extremely rude, gave nothing but excuses and hung up on me. Talk about good customer service!
They gave me another room for the night which was way smaller than the one I reserved. It was next to the stairs, and lots of people were passing by making noise. To top it off, the room was dirty! There were dirty underwear and socks on the floor left by the previous guest!!! How disgusting!!! The cleaning staff do not do a thorough job cleaning the rooms.
The next day I changed the room AGAIN! In less than 48 hours I had been in three different rooms. To make it worse, the elevator was not working. I had to walk up and down 6 flights of stairs during all this drama. And the telephones in the room were also out of service.
Needless to say, I was forced to change my hotel. I wouldn't advise this hotel to anyone. There are better hotels in the neighborhood if you are looking for a more quality experience

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LionelI213, Gérant at Quality Hotel Abaca Messidor Paris, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Google Translation
Madame,
Merci de votre commentaire à propos de notre hôtel.
Nous sommes affligés par votre propos.
En effet, nous sommes toujours consternés lorsque parfois, il arrive que l'un de nos hôtes soit déçu de nos prestations et services alors que nous avons tenté notre possible pour lui laisser le meilleur des souvenirs de Paris.Très concernés par notre rôle d'accueil à Paris, un échec relationnel nous laisse toujours un sentiment de frustration et de tristesse.
Malheureusement, et à notre corps défendant, le dialogue n'a pas été possible entre nous car nous n'avons pu échanger correctement et dans les conditions de respect usuel.
En effet, lors de notre entretien téléphonique, il nous a pas été laissé la moindre possibilité de dialoguer et d'aplanir nos différends.
Pis :vos divers propos insultants tenus à l’hôtel envers les différents membres de notre personnel pourraient même nous laisser envisager que votre retour éventuel lors d'un prochain séjour à Paris ne s'impose vraiment pas.
Nous sommes donc désolés de vos positions et vous souhaitons vivement de trouver la paix et la satisfaction dans d'autres lieux de séjours à Paris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    95
    28
    8
    6
See reviews for
12
78
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CowThey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014 via mobile

On arrival at the hotel we got our rooms direct and we we're early so was surprised that we got ours room so fast.

We had two rooms and both of the rooms was nice, not so big but clean and big enough for us.
One of the room had a bathtub and both of the room was equipped with safe box and waterboiler and the/coffe so we could do our own hot beverage.

The breakfast was very good, lots of choices and the staff was quick to refill and was very helpful.
Nice options with "pod" coffee machine, like!!

Free Wifi, not the fastest but fast enough for us.

Our rooms had windows against the street but we didn't here so much, with closed windows....
The bed was little hard but lots of pillows and gave us a good night sleep.

Good location, nice staff, clean rooms, good breakfast and close to metro!

We we're satisfied and enjoyed our visit in this hotel.
We we're her three nights.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LionelI213, Gérant at Quality Hotel Abaca Messidor Paris, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Dear KodeCarlsson
Thanks for your nice review about our hotel.
We are very happy to notice that you took some advantage of our services and our good situation in Paris..
See you very soon in France !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branne, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

I had some trouble to find an hotel in this zone of Paris. Abaca Messidor was one of the only available. It cost me 162Eur for 1 night is a very small single bed room, without the breakfast...
I was expecting some good service at this price, but it was not even the case. People cold and not really friendly, very small room, supposed view on the garden (but it was just a small window with no real garden outside...)...
Honestly I do not recommend this hotel. I am sure you can find better one and cheaper.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LionelI213, Gérant at Quality Hotel Abaca Messidor Paris, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Dear Yoy121,
Thanks for this comment about our hotel.
We are sorry that no one warned you about standard size rooms in Paris in a 3*** NL Hotel.
Yes, Paris is one of the european capitals where the room size in hotel is seriously impacted by the general problem of free surfaces.
As we focus about good quality service, we paid a strong attention about your general comfort.
Furthermore, you were upset by room price ; we are sorry to understand that you did not take time to compare other 3 stars hotel in a good Paris district like ours. because if you did it, you would have not be so disappointed.
We regret this state of fact and hope although that you had great souvenirs of Paris and should not hesitate to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Ok hotel, great location, reasonably priced for Paris. Major issue is the quality of the bed. We had the twin beds and the mattresses were badly in need of replacement! Granted we were not staying in a premium room, however a mattress of quality, without a sunken area in the middle is to be expected. Since a good night's rest is our priority, I could only give 3 stars.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LionelI213, Gérant at Quality Hotel Abaca Messidor Paris, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Hello Denise S,

Thanks for your comment on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to see that you took advantage from our quiet and well located hotel in Paris.
We are sorry to understand you had some comfort problemes with your mattresses. We will focus on this problem in your room.
See you very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My family were booked on 2 separate rooms and the 2nd Floor for a 4-day stay. Hotel staff were not able to move us to a Garden View room when requested upon check-in. (This was recommended by previous reviews). They has a 2-person elevator that access all floors. Carpeted staircase is right beside it. The room is not comparable to North American hotels with large amounts of space, the small rooms were nice and clean and had individual A/C Units. Our room windows had a small balcony that faced out to the one-way street (Rue de Vaugirard) and for the 2nd Floor, it was not too noisy at all. The 'Convention' Metro station is steps away that takes you anywhere in the City. I like the fact that there were no tall building around this neighborhood. Mainly a residential and commercial area, the hotel were very close to good restaurants, bakeries, cafes, banks with ATMs and grocery stores. Also conveniently situated beside a 'Monoprix' where one can buy anything you will need on your Paris trip without breaking the bank. A nice bakery across the street opens around 6am where you can grab nice treats including French Macarons of different flavors (if they haven't ran out yet).

Breakfast was served between 7-10AM in their downstairs room was of American Style with warm entrees (eggs, bacon, sausages) and a variety of breads and and pastries. Coffees, teas and chocolate and a good selection of cheeses and deli meats. A great starter if you plan a hectic day of walking around the City.

Hotel staff were very helpful and gave us maps and a 'Quick Guide' from the hotel to main attractions throughout the City (wished all hotels did this!). Wi-fi access were not a problem at all (from the 2nd Floor). Staff also booked our return shuttle to the airport and confirmed our flight. Very personable service.

We loved Paris and actually do not mind booking the same hotel again as it was a great part of the experience.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Garden were probably quieter, but street noise was not an issue. Be aware that sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LionelI213, Gérant at Quality Hotel Abaca Messidor Paris, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hello V M,
Thank you for your review about our hotel.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay amongst us.
It was nice to meet you and help you exploring Paris ! The Abaca's situation is perfect to discover the whole city and to take advantage of parisian life style !
See you soon in Paris !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

In June 2014, we spent 5 days in this charming little Hotel situated in the "15e arrondissement" in which we were lucky to have a peaceful room with a garden view. After a full day of visiting Paris, it was great to be able to relax in the Garden. Our room (Prestige) had large windows with flowers on the window sill, a large bathroom and a good size bedroom. The room was very clean and quiet. There is a beautiful room where you can have breakfast. The Hotel is 2 minutes away from the subway station, the cafe's and restaurants. The staff and the owner are very accomodating and were very helpfull when it came to obtaining directions around Paris or suggesting a restaurant. We would definitly stay there again and recommend to anyone travelling to Paris to look up this wonderfull property.

Room Tip: Ask for the Garden Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LionelI213, Gérant at Quality Hotel Abaca Messidor Paris, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hello Andre B,
Thanks so much for your stunning review.
We were delighted to meet you.
It's wonderful if you took advantage of our hotel as you wanted.
Yes, our situation in Paris is perfect to explore Paris and our lively surroundings offer a large rank of good surprises (restaurants, cafés, shops, cinémas, theatres, etc.).
Please, let us know if you come back in France !
See you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We booked this hotel for 3 nights in november. The staff at check-in was very helpful and quick. Our room was small but very satisfying. All you need. We also seemed to have a recently renovated room. We had to single beds that were put next to each other to form a double bed. There was a TV and refrigerator to store your own drinks. The bathroom was very well equipped with a hairdryer! I had only a few remarks. You do here the metro passing by beneath the building, but if you do visit Paris as you should you will be so tired that you won't hear it at all. I did not take the breakfast in the hotel, they charged €10.00 per breakfast per person. The best thing I can advise is to go en get your breakfast at the bakery right across the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LionelI213, Gérant at Quality Hotel Abaca Messidor Paris, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hello 7StephanieH,

Thanks for your comment about our hotel.
See you soon in Paris !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Abaca Messidor Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Abaca Messidor Paris

Address: 330 rue de Vaugirard, 75015 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #977 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Abaca Messidor Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Hotel situated close to Porte de Versaille Exhibition Center & the Eiffel Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Hotel Abaca Messidor Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Paris
Paris Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Abaca Messidor Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.