We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Comedies

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel des Comedies to your Saves list
Hotel des Comedies
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 rue d'Hauteville | 10th Arr., 75010 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #86 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
stamford CT
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Spent five nights on vacation here, very convenient to two metro stations which allowed us to get to all parts of Paris pretty quickly and easily at all hours. Within walking range of Sacre Coeur and the Montmartre area but not much else. Several restaurants nearby for a quick and inexpensive breakfast/espresso. Hotel arranged for shuttle transport to/from airport, not too expensive. We had a triple room (2 twins together and a separate twin) comfortable but room a bit small; bathroom was moderate sized and clean. Room was on third floor facing street (as a side street, not too busy compared to the main boulevard nearby) but the noise was not too bad as windows were airtight. Staff at front desk was friendly and helpful; seemed to only have 2 day Paris passes, so get anything longer elsewhere to save money. For the price, which was reasonable, I would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: get an upper floor room to avoid street noise; don't know about those facing the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guests,
We would like to thank you very much for your kind message about our hotel. We are happy
to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Paris. Also a big thank you for having chosen our little hotel des Comédies. As our gests usually stay 2 or 3 days we only sell just the 2 days passport for the museums.
We are happy to read that you liked your room and that we were able to make you feel comfortable and happy.
Of course we would be very happy to welcome you back for your next trip to Paris with us. Until this day we wish you all the best.
Kind regards from sunny Paris
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Nicci and Samira - Reception
Matthieu and Johnny - Night Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    105
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
99
64
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here from 2nd March to 6th March 2013 for a short break while my wife was on Chemotherapy. We were made feel very welcome at the hotel who arranged (for a fee) to have us collected at the airport. Booking in was quick and welcoming.The hotel is very well located for visiting the sites and is near Gare de L'est and Gare du Nord.
The only reason we didn't give the hotel full marks was because of our experience at breakfast on Sunday morning. We gave our room number to a waitress but she, we discovered, didn't speak English and went to get the manager who said the people in the room number we gave had already checked out. Tables were not cleared away even though it was quiet. We were told "no poached eggs ,scrambled or fried" and at €13 per person we thought it overpriced.
Other than that our room was well decorated. The cleaning staff were very polite and did a great job.
Special mention to Sandra who was very helpful and polite. She is a delightful lady and a great ambassador for the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guests,
First of all a huge thank you for your wonderful words about our hotel and also the kind compliment about myself. I was of course very happy to read your special words this is very kind. We are sorry if there was a problem at the breakfast room. Of course not all our staff is speaking English and that is why we are all the time here to help in any understanding problems. But I have to check about the problem with the eggs because we prepare fresh eggs in all kind of different ways for our guests and this every morning. Also the 13.00 Euros price is a buffet and you can eat as much as you want. I agree with you that it is too expensive if someone takes just a coffee and a croissant. But very often our guests have a huge breakfast and after that they don't eat anymore until diner.
The buffet problem is always the same for people they don't eat a lot it is too expensive but it is still a buffet and you can eat as much as you want.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were happy to make you feel
comfortable and that we took well care of you. Actually that it is what se tray every day to give our best service to our guests to make them feel important and special.

We wish you all the best and good luck for the future and would be very happy to welcome you back some day in the future.
Many sunny greetings from Paris
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Nicci and Samira - Reception
Matthieu and Johnny - Night Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Near to metro station, many cafes along the street. When u come up to the main street,turn tight and Walk straight down you will find many small shops for shopping, Hard Rock Cafe and continue straight down you will be able to find the department store lafayette paris,take about 20-30 mins walk.
Hotel decor is elegant and clean. But the corridor is a bit narrow but that is not a big issue though... Hotel staff is friendly and helpful...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guests,
First of all we would like to thank you very much for your time to write this kind message about our hotel. It was all our pleasure welcoming you with us and we thank you for having chosen our little hotel des Comédies.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that also our staff was able to help you. We try every day to give our best to make feel our guests comfortable and happy with us.
We would be very happy to welcome you back for your next trip to Paris.

In the meantime we wish you a wonderful time and see you maybe very soon:)

Kind regards from sunny Paris
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Nicci and Samira - Reception
Matthieu and Johnny - Night Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Had planned to stay at Hotel Gare du nord next to station for ease of logistics on arrival from Amsterdam. Nothing cheaper that day so this was on offer at eur 160 (for 3 pax) when normal rates for 3 could be in Eur 200- range.

Receptionist was good and straightaway marked out on the map where we were in terms of the Metro. It took 20 mins to reach here from Gare du Nord esp when we did not have gps and the streets in Paris can be far complex compared with US or UK.

The beds were comfortable and clean (as expected for all 3 stars hotel - pay less and you ll settle for bedbugs, dank carpets, small bath rooms, thieves for the 1 -2 stars !) . Hence at the rate we booked it was fairly good deal.

The only precaution i have to share with guest is the poor design of the bathroom glass shower door which has a gap and with the shower, water floors down and out to the carpet (which over time will smell and be dank)

The location is great despite the distance from Gare Du Nord (15mins but there are a metro 50 metres away) for your arrival or departure to another destination

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guests,
We would like to thank you very much for your message your wrote about our little hotel des Comédies. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our hotel. We try very hard to do our best that our guests feel comfortable and happy with us. Of course after all we are just a 3 star hotel but we try to give the best service as possible to every single guest.

We would be very happy to welcome you back some day in the future for your next trip to Paris and in the meantime we wish you all the best.

Kind regards from Paris
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Nicci and Samira - Reception
Matthieu and Johnny - Night Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Location is really perfect. Metro station 'Bonne Nouvelle' just a few steps away and the area has plenty of restaurants, bars, cinemas. (the famous cinema Rex is just round the corner.)
The rooms are nice an clean but rather small. Ask for a room on upper floor you will appreciate it (traffic noise!). Front desk is very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is good and above French average (compared to other 3* hotel)

Room Tip: Choose a room on 3rd floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guests,
We would like to thank you very much for your little message your wrote about hotel. We are happy to read that you liked our breakfast buffet because we take well care about fresh products for our guests. Also in all our rooms we have double glassed windows and in the rooms which are facing the street we even have electrical stores which helps also for having less noise in the rooms.
But we are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Paris. We wish you all the best and would like to thank you again for having chosen our hotel.
Kind regards
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Nicci and Samira - Reception
Matthieu and Johnny - Night Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Paris is famous for its sidewalk cafes, but unfortunately I had the opportunity to experience a sidewalk hotel room during a three night stay at Hotel Des Comedies.
 
I’d made my booking well over two months ahead of time, and easily could and would have found something else had I known that I’d end up in this ground floor, street-side room (number 01). (I arrived at about 5pm, and asked shortly after looking at the room whether anything else was available, but was told there was nothing.)
 
What is particularly irritating is that upon booking I received a confirmation stating that I would have a ‘soundproofed’ room. This is a pretty disingenuous claim in this case. Perhaps some additional soundproofing was done to the windows, but at street level every footstep from every high-heel (a common thing in this stylish city) loudly resonates from the sidewalk. Moreover, you get a lot of noise from the adjacent lobby in this room; chatting, check-in/out noise, and a nice door slam every time someone leaves the building (there is an additional door separating room 01 from the lobby, but it is largely ineffectual from a noise standpoint).
 
I was looking forward to this hotel, and indeed it has much to commend it. It is centrally located, nicely appointed, and the staff are pleasant. Had I not been stuck in the sidewalk room I believe I would have enjoyed it. But the negatives of this room outweighed all of the positives for me.

Room Tip: Avoid room 01, ground floor street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guest,
I am very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Be sure that we do all the time our best that our guests are happy with their stay in our hotel. All our rooms have double glassed windows in this room 001 has even two windows. Believe me we have even repeater guests which love this room and which ask for this room when they stay with us because there is much more light in this room than in the other single rooms.
Of course I can understand that not everybody likes the same things in life but I would not be so categoric to say avoid this room because some guests love this room.
Also when we can we always propose our guests to change the room as soon as possible but we have just 5 single rooms and if we had long stays in our single rooms the time you stayed with us it was probably not possible to change your room.
Believe me that is always the first thing we propose our guests because we want to make sure that they feel happy with their stay.
I hope you still enjoyed your stay in Paris and wish you all the best.
Kind regards
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Samira and Nicci - Reception
Matthieu and Johnny - Night Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

A smaal hotel with Nice clean rooms, ok breakfast - nothing too special (13 euro extra) , very nice staff , close to the metro and not to far from the train station nord + est. the street is very noisy - the window is not double so you here it all. also we could hear the ppl next door and the lift. ... i did not sleep good at all! try getting a room on a higher floor or a window not to the street (our room was 101 )
The corridor is very narrow, and the neighborhood is not very nice... all in all- a nice hotel, but next time i will go for a different place.

Room Tip: try getting a room on a higher floor or a window not to the street - it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you very much for your review about our hotel and share your experience with us. I would like to mention that our windows are double glassed and in all rooms to the streets we even have electrical stores so our guests can even shut down them to have less street noise. Very often our guests don't take care about this service because it helps really to be more quiet at night.
Of course we are sorry if you had oisy neighbours at night. That happens often in hotels because the people are not at home and so they take less care than at the spot they live all year round. But we are glad that you apreciated our service and your stay in Paris.
We wish you all the best.
Kind regards from Paris
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Nicci and Samira - Reception
Matthieu and Johnny - Night Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Comedies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Comedies

Address: 8 rue d'Hauteville | 10th Arr., 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Comedies 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel des Comedies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Comedies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;