We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, very comfortable, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Comedies

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Comedies to your Saves list
Hotel des Comedies
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 rue d'Hauteville | 10th Arr., 75010 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Oak Hill, VA, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good location, very comfortable, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel is in the 10th arr. near the Bonne Nouvelle Métro, line 8. The neighborhood is pleasant, not touristy, felt safe. It's not extremely close to most tourist destinations, but it's not far.

The hotel was clean and comfortable. My room, a single, was clean and well appointed. It was large enough for one person but would have been too small for two. The shower stall would be too small for a very large person.

Breakfast, which was included in my on-line rate, was excellent.

The desk staff speaks French, English, and German. They were invariably helpful and pleasant.

I used the shuttle service the hotel recommends to get to and from the airport. That worked well.

All in all, a pleasant experience. I'd be happy to go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear guest,
A big and huge thank you for your lovely message about our hotel. We were very happy to welcome you in our little hotel des Comédies. As you said you stayed in a single room and this
is just for one person so there won't be two persons in this room. We are very happy to read that
you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to make you comfortable with us.
We always try to give a warm welcome to our guests to make them feel like at home:)

We would be very happy to welcome you back with us for your next trip to Paris. Until this day
we wish you all the best and of course good luck.

Kind regards
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Nicci and Sarah - Reception
Matthieu and Johnny - Night Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    116
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
110
72
27
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Unobtrusive, but worth searching - near Rue Poisonierre, welcoming reception, lifts to floors up to 5th floor. We were on lst floor. Only stayed one night, free coffee and croissants laid on in the bar. Breakfast (extra) usual cold meats and cheeses, cereals, fruit juices, fruit,yoghurts, toast, croissants (choc),cake, eggs (to boil for yourself) or order something different. Coffee, super. Went via Eurostar from St.Pancras and Ashford - speedy journey. The taxis aren't a patch on London cabs - most of the guys hardly spoke coherent English and none knew where the hotel or the restaurant were. Luckily, was'nt my first visit and armed with school French, we guided them.

Room Tip: lst floor was good, but lifts are useful. Well sound insulated and heated
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear guests,
First of all we would like to thank you very much for your very kind message about our hotel. It was all our pleasure to welcome you with us for your one night stay in Paris. We try very much to give
to our guests a family welcome. So they know that we are here for whatever they need. We would
be very happy to welcome you back with us for your next trip to Paris.

In the meantime we wish you all the best and of course good luck.

Kind regards
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Nicci and Sarah - Reception
Matthieu and Johnny - Night Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airdrie
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed for three nights over the Valentine's weekend in a triple room, which was spacious and very nicely decorated. It was a birthday surprise and the staff couldn't have been more helpful in assisting my husband with arrangements and making sure that I didn't find out - especially as our daughter was joining us the next day. All of the staff on reception were very friendly and helpful. As we arrived quite late, they were able to advise on which local restaurants were still serving. They also served breakfast in our room on the Sunday morning as work was being done on the breakfast room. The nearest Metro station is very close by, but, as it doesn't have a ticket machine, you need to get tickets from the next station along (just a short walk along the street to the right). It's also quite an easy walk from the Gare du Nord and the shops on the Grands Boulevards. A special break in a lovely little hotel.

Room Tip: We were facing the street, so a tiny bit noisy if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Google Translation
Cher client,
Tout d'abord, nous tenons sincèrement à vous remercier pour votre gentil message sur notre hôtel ! Nous avons été heureux de vous avoir avec nous durant votre séjour parisien !! Nous serions ravis de vous accueillir à nouveau la prochaine fois ! Nous vous souhaitons une bonne continuation !
Bien cordialement
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Nicci - Réception
Matthieu et Johnny - Réception de nuit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed for two nights after several days at Marriott across the river for business. Very comfortable (if small) single room, clean, nice modern amenities, loved the location -- very close to several Metro stations. Lots of options for dining in the neighborhood. Weather was horrible, I felt sick as a dog during my entire stay but the staff at the hotel made me feel almost at home. The best meal of my entire trip was at Le Madeleine Bastille nearby on Bonne Nouvelle recommended by the staff.

Definitely would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you very much for your kind message you wrote about our hotel and also our staff. We are happy that we were able to make you feel comfortable with us. It was all our pleasure to welcome you with us.We love to help our guests with informations and to make them feel like at home.
We would be very happy to welcome you in our little family hotel for your next trip to Paris. In the meantime we wish you all the best, a wonderful year and good luck.
Kind regards
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Nicci - Reception
Matthieu and Johnny - Night Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My first trip to paris and I was solo? ! Good thing everyone at this hotel was so friendly and helpful. Cute rooms, European size so cozy, great location and clean! You can get on hop on off tour right around the corned from the hotel. Plenty of places to eat/drink around. Too much great shopping! I will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you very much for your kind message about our hotel. It was all our pleasure to welcome you with us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. As we are just a small hotel we try to take our time to make our guests happy. Also when we have time we love to chatt with our guest so our single travellers don't feel so lonely :) We would be very happy to welcome you back some day in the future for your next rip to Paris.
Until this day we wish you all the best and good luck.
Many greetings from Paris
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Nicci - Reception
Matthieu and Johnny - Night Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had just booked the hotel for a weekend trip. We stayed in a triple room and honestly, were amazed by how spacious the room and bathroom were. It was a genuine 3 bed room rather than a 2 bed with another bed just fitted in. The room, bedding and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. The bathroom toiletries were of a good quality too. Only upsetting thing was our Nespresso machine did not work :( But we didn't complain as a hotel in Paris providing coffee/tea is itself a bonus!
The staff were very friendly, could converse fluently in English and helped us out with restaurant recommendations and other helpful tips.
The area is nice and bustling and did not feel unsafe even after 2 on a Saturday night. It's very close to Bonne Nouvelle, and also about a 3 minute walk to Strasbourg Saint-Denis (Tip: Bonne Nouvelle does not have a metro ticket machine - get your tickets from Strasbourg S-D). It's only about Euro 10 to get a cab from Gare du Nord.
The price we paid was well worth the services we got.
There are at least a few decent places to catch a bite nearby. For the girls, Afwoush the store right next door is a little box of delights.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear guests,
A big thank you for your kind review you wrote about our hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our triple rooms which are as you mentionned for 3 persons very well because there are 3 reald beds. I would like to mention that our nespresso machines are well working I just checked them this morning again. I guess you must have been upgraded in a superior room as you mentionned just the triple room and not the triple suprerior room. In this case of course the guests they have to pay a charge for using the machine. Unfortunately you did not ask us at the reception because we would have told you with GREAT plasure how it works.
As we are all the time at the reception desk with great pleasure we help our guests in any matter even to help them to get around in Paris.
But we were happy to welcome you with us and for your next trip to Paris we would be very happy to welcome you back.
Until this day we wish you a wonderful 2013 and all the best and happyness all year long.
Kind regards
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Nicci and Charlotte - Reception
Matthieu and Johnny - Night Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krugersdorp, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

You never know what to expect when you do the booking, our stay at this hotel was way above our expectation, homely, clean, friendly staff, easy access to two Metro Stations from where we travelled all over Paris. We stayed there for three nights and would we go back with our next visit to Paris? That would be a definite YES!!! Thanks to Sandra and her staff for making it unforgettable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear guests,
What a wonderful message you wrote about our hotel and of course also our staff. We are happy to read that you were able to make you feel comfortable and happy with us. Of course it was all
our pleasure to meet you in person and to have a little chatt whenever we had some minutes left. We love getting to know our guests closer and so we love taking some time to talk to them.
We are happy to read that for your next trip to Paris you are coming back to our little hotel des Comédies. In this case we are allready very much looking forward to this day.
For the moment we wish you all the best for this year 2013 and of course good luck and happyness.
Many greetings from Paris
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Nicci and Charlotte - Reception
Matthieu and Johnny - Night Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Comedies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Comedies

Address: 8 rue d'Hauteville | 10th Arr., 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Comedies 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel des Comedies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Comedies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.