We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Addition to my previous review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moderne St-Germain Hotel

Save Saved
You added Moderne St-Germain Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Rue des Ecoles, 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #665 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Addition to my previous review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Our cousins stayed here on our recommendation and mentioned that the renovated floor (2nd floor where I stayed) was much better than the non renovated ones. There was a problem with moisture from the bathroom and mold in their room. So ask for a renovated room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    152
    70
    31
    25
See reviews for
47
122
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coldwater, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel is located very close to Notre Dame. There are shops, pharmacies, restaurants, and a market within easy walking distance. The nearest metro entrance is not far off either. The hotel itself is quite nice, clean, and the rooms are inviting.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Overall, this was a great hotel. The staff was friendly every time we interacted with them. The room (we had a triple) was a good size based off of other rooms we have stayed at in Paris. Yes, I'm sure it could have been bigger, but we all had enough room once suitcases found a place to be stashed. But Paris hotel rooms are always small, so we were expecting it. The location of the hotel was nice. Close enough that you could easily find food or a five minute walk to St. Michael and Notre Dame, but enough out of those areas that you didn't have to worry about the noise of the neighborhood. The one downside of the hotel was how thin the walls were. We could hear the people in the neighboring room talking at a normal level. There was also some loud partying going on, but it did sound like the management put an end to it after about 30 minutes. Other than the thin walls, this was a great place to stay. Also, how can you not want to stay at a place with a giant hot pink rabbit that sits in the breakfast area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Moderne is one of hotels in Paris I always return to! The location is simply the best! The staff is always wonderful, and they continue to update and renovate the rooms. As always I get the breakfast which includes unlimited coffee. The selection of breads, cheese, cold cuts, yogurt, cereals for me is the perfect way to start the day! The room sizes are good size with free Wifi, and mini bar which I usually end up storing some of my purchases to bring home. The rooms are always clean. It is always so nice to return and see staff that have been there since I have been staying here over the many years. It is sort of like seeing family, which is always comforting! The location on Rue des Ècoles offers me easy access to anywhere I want to go in Paris whether it be by walking, Metro, or occasional taxi. The Moderne is my home away from home!

Room Tip: Higher floors offer better views. Rooms not facing Rue des Ècoles offer less street noise, but with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NIAGARA ON THE LAKE
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband took a cab back to the Moderne St. Germain from the Gare du nord, after a day in London. The cabbie said that the Moderne is in the best part of Paris. We sure agree. We have stayed at the Moderne three times now. It is conveniently located to almost everything you would want to see in Paris. It is a short walk up the hill to the historic and lively Rue Mouffetard with its many cafes (you can drink where Hemingway did). You have the Pantheon, St. Germain, Notre Dam, the Cluny, and metro lines to get you every where. We always walk to the Musee D'orsay, winding our way down through the narrow ancient streets leading from St. Germain de Pres.
The rooms are small, as you would expect, for a reasonably priced hotel. This time our room over looked Rue des Ecoles, it had a large closet and was clean, with good bed. It was cold and damp, but the room was warm and had a welcome bath tub/shower. The toiletries from Yves Rocher were an unexpected elegant touch.
Breakfast is a very good selection of pastries and cheeses and more. This is one of the better breakfasts that we have had in Paris, if not all of France.
We have stayed in other parts of Paris, but have found that even in more expensive hotels our vacation was not as enjoyable as staying in the Vieme. Before staying at the Moderne we stayed at another hotel on Rue Des Ecoles, the Moderne is a much better choice over all.
Over look the small rooms, just go and enjoy everything that the area and Paris has to offer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Nice and clean hotel with modern interior. Room smelled nice and was very clean. We got our room right away even though we arrived a couple of hours too early, the room had a nice big wardrobe and a big tv. View was of rooftops and backyard, but we had one of the cheaper rooms. Lobby was very modern and there was a nice lobby area. The situation is great. only a short walk from métro St Michel where the RER B (blue) goes from, directly to Charles de Gaulle Airport. Also very close to Panthéon, Jardin de Luxembourg, Notre Dame and the river. Very central location. My bed was almost better than the one I have at home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Only about 3 blocks from Blvd. St. Michel and a block from Blvd. St. Germain. A student area with lots of restaurants nearby. The Cluny Museum and the Pantheon are there and there are Metro
stops all within a block or so. Nice warm hotel (weather was cold & rainy) with good wi fi in the
room & flat screen TV. Quiet room. Not my favorite decor but it was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was cheese, yogurt, sliced meats, baguettes, sweet breads & croissants, cold cereals
jam, honey, orange juice. The coffee was made in a percolator early in the AM and left to sit around until 10:30 when breakfast was over so that was not the usual delicious coffee but there was plenty of it.

Room Tip: Our room was on the alley so very quiet. The rooms in the front of the building might have more to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moderne St-Germain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderne St-Germain Hotel

Address: 33 Rue des Ecoles, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon , Sorbonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#277 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Moderne St-Germain Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Moderne St-Germain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderne St Germain Hotel
Hotel Moderne St Germain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moderne St-Germain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.