We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but not cheerful” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Paris Alesia Montparnasse 14eme

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Paris Alesia Montparnasse 14eme to your Saves list
Ibis Paris Alesia Montparnasse 14eme
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49, rue des Plantes | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,133 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Cheap but not cheerful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked a tour based at this hotel. The tour company and the courier couldn't be faulted, but the hotel was very disappointing. The rooms were not clean and we had one small towel each in the bathroom. There was a noise from pipes which continued through the night, and we found that the electric heater only blew out cold air. We were told when to go down to breakfast. The first morning, at 8 am there was a great choice of croissants, fruits and yoghurts, preserves, ham, cheese and spanish omelette, plus a variety of teas and freshly made coffee. On the last morning we were told to come into breakfast at 9 am, which we did, to find there were no croissants, fruit for yoghurt, preserves, cheese, omelette, breakfast tea, and the only coffee available was from a vending machine.

Room Tip: don't go on the second floor - it is for smokers
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    401
    299
    96
    38
See reviews for
162
328
113
208
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sayreville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have been to europe before and expected small but not dirty and mold in spots, curtains were dirty, some rooms smelled of smoke and not a clock in the room, can't say anything good about hotel except the staff at the front desk was very helpful, called cabs for us and let us use their phone more than once, location is not the best either, congested area and took long to get anyhwere, would never stay there again!

Room Tip: Look for a better location for hotel, closer to eifel tower, lots of traffic everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My experience with this hotel is nothing like the bad reviews listed on this site. I found it to be clean, quiet, very well-located near a metro station and small supermarket. The rooms are small, but that is usual in Paris. We were too busy enjoying this wonderful city to spend time in a room in any case!
The continental breakfast was just to my taste- fresh pain au chocolat, fruit, yoghurt and hot chocolate/coffee were all lovely.
If you want a luxurious room with full English breakfast every day then perhaps Paris isn't right for you anyway.
Good value for money.

Room Tip: Lower floors so you don't have to bother with the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed at the Ibis Paris Alesia Montparnasse for 3 nights in September 2012. The room was small but that's normal for Paris and it was clean, and quiet. Staff was friendly, breakfast was good. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Spotlessly clean very basic room. Phone shows you can call for a snack in your room. I tried to do this and Reception picked up and transferred my call to the kitchen. This rang and rang and the phone was then picked up and put straight down. So I recalled Reception. They told me I would have to come down and eat in the hotel restaurant. So I took my seat and waited. And waited. Eventually by calling out across the room I got a waiter to come and serve me. The veal burger and chips then took forever to arrive. When they did the chips were warm not hot and the veal burger was barely cooked and the bread buns were cold. And then I had to wait a long time, with my meal becoming still colder, until the accompanying beer was served despite my reminders that it was due. The waiters argued between themselves in front of me as to who should go and get the beer. Pathetic. The lifts took a long time to come and with the room card, which doubled as a lift security card, working intermittently and not inspiring confience in the security it was supposed to ensure. The three star rating gives a wrong impression of what you can expect. Ibis has basic formula which needs to be competently delivered to warrant more than two stars. Paris has a lot to learn from Asia when it comes to service.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Apart from the cold reception at the front desk, and the tiny room (we were travelling with an infant and by the time they brought a very ugly cot, it occupied the little space in the room), the 3 in 1 soap (who does that?!), only 1 staff to attend to all the guest at diner, the stay was actually okay. the cleaning ladies and kitchen staff were extremely helpful which was a plus

other than that, the best thing about the hotel was the location and probably breakfast. breakfast was cheaper @ 9 euro's since it was buffet breakfast and though there are cafe's in the area, the variety available at the hotel was worth more than the 9 euro's paid.

there are shops that line the road leading to the Alesia Metro station so for us, shopping started as soon as we dropped our bags as we were able to get discounts even in september.

however, if you plan on a fancy trip with plenty of time to spend lying in your hotel room, then look elsewhere. but for a place to sleep and hit the city, this is not a bad choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

You feel dirty staying at the Ibis. Forget that that the rooms are small, I expected that. The bathroom looked grungy, there was wall paper in the bathroom that was peeling off. The floor/carpet was disgusting. they give each person one very thin towel. no washcloths. A 3 in 1 soap... BRING YOUR OWN SOAP. The staff varied, some were great, others not so much. The breakfast buffet is fine and the area is fine. mostly everyone spoke English, A few said they did not.. not sure if I believe them. Our beds were "twins" but I think they were a child's twin.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Paris Alesia Montparnasse 14eme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Paris Alesia Montparnasse 14eme

Address: 49, rue des Plantes | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,133 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Paris Alesia Montparnasse 14eme 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Paris Alésia Montparnasse hotel is located in the centre of Paris, 3 km from the Exhibition Centre at Porte de Versailles, 4 km from the Latin Quarter and 5 km from the Eiffel Tower. The airport is 15 km away. The hotel has 264 air-conditioned rooms with Wifi Internet access, including 5 adapted for disabled persons, as well as 8 meeting rooms. LE RESTAURANT, a bar, snacks 24/24, and private covered parking (not free) are at your disposal. Pets accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Paris Alesia Montparnasse 14eme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Paris Alesia Montparnasse Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Alesia Montparnasse
Ibis Alesia Montparnasse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Paris Alesia Montparnasse 14eme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.