We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Paris Alesia Montparnasse 14eme

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Paris Alesia Montparnasse 14eme to your Saves list
Ibis Paris Alesia Montparnasse 14eme
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49, rue des Plantes | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,240 of 1,791 Hotels in Paris
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Apart from the cold reception at the front desk, and the tiny room (we were travelling with an infant and by the time they brought a very ugly cot, it occupied the little space in the room), the 3 in 1 soap (who does that?!), only 1 staff to attend to all the guest at diner, the stay was actually okay. the cleaning ladies and kitchen staff were extremely helpful which was a plus

other than that, the best thing about the hotel was the location and probably breakfast. breakfast was cheaper @ 9 euro's since it was buffet breakfast and though there are cafe's in the area, the variety available at the hotel was worth more than the 9 euro's paid.

there are shops that line the road leading to the Alesia Metro station so for us, shopping started as soon as we dropped our bags as we were able to get discounts even in september.

however, if you plan on a fancy trip with plenty of time to spend lying in your hotel room, then look elsewhere. but for a place to sleep and hit the city, this is not a bad choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    451
    348
    127
    56
See reviews for
198
383
123
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

You feel dirty staying at the Ibis. Forget that that the rooms are small, I expected that. The bathroom looked grungy, there was wall paper in the bathroom that was peeling off. The floor/carpet was disgusting. they give each person one very thin towel. no washcloths. A 3 in 1 soap... BRING YOUR OWN SOAP. The staff varied, some were great, others not so much. The breakfast buffet is fine and the area is fine. mostly everyone spoke English, A few said they did not.. not sure if I believe them. Our beds were "twins" but I think they were a child's twin.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville PA
Level Contributor
247 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

A group of us stayed here recently as part of a business trip. The hotel is in a decent location as it's a less than 10 minute walk to a subway station and there are plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Sadly, that's about all the hotel has going for it. It's an old hotel that is in desperate need of a makeover.

Like many hotels in Europe, the room is small, but unlike other places, it's also quite dirty. My room had stains on the carpet, the bathroom had mildew, and the room smelled musty. My tiny room had 3 single beds! There was no room to walk around and I had no work space. I had my luggage sitting on the luggage rack and my laptop sitting on top of my luggage. I sat on a small metal stool and that is how I had to work inside my room. The third bed looked like it would fold back up into the wall providing a work space, so I asked the front desk to send someone up to see if they could put away the third bed as I was not having any luck. Someone showed up the next day, tried for a few minutes, then said something to me in French and left. No one ever came back and I had to deal with the bed as is for the week. As for the beds themselves, it's about a 3" firm mattress with a bottom sheet and a duvet cover. Yea...there is no top cover between you and the duvet and I seriously wonder how often those duvets are cleaned or changed. The towels were quite thin and rough and there are no wash clothes. They do provide a combination soap/shampoo/conditioner all in one bottle that is evidently shared between guests as when I checked into the room, the bottle was less than half full. There were only two outlets in the room and one was in the bathroom. As someone who uses a CPAP machine, there were no outlets near the bed for me to plug my machine into. There's a very small closet and a flat panel TV in the room, which I never turned on.

The three elevators are small and slow and you have to swipe your key before pressing your floor number. Not a real big deal if it worked, but half the time, you are swiping your card multiple times while other guests are waiting to swipe their cards as well. I was on the third floor and it was easier to simply take the stairs at times.

The food in the restaurant at the hotel was not great. We had breakfast, lunch, and dinner there and it left a lot to be desired. Breakfast was by far the worst. It was crowded and it was hard to find clean coffee mugs or even working coffee/juice machines at times. The lines to get coffee were long. The food was the same every day and included some breads, pastries, cheese, cereals, and crepes. You had to cut the bread yourself and often times, there wasn't even a napkin to hold the bread while you cut, so you can imagine how many hands were touching the bread. Yuck!

The meeting room itself was OK, but the snacks we ordered often didn't arrive on time and were pretty cheap. There are some drinks provided in the room along with tea and coffee. All of the AV equipment worked and I will say that the staff was responsive to our needs with the AV equipment. When we encountered some issues with the phone, someone did come over and help us.

Free wireless is provided in the hotel but you are limited to 200 MB per session. You have to provide your name and email address every time you connect, but you can simply enter a bogus name and email address and it will connect fine. At times, the wireless connection would simply drop.

All in all, I cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

First of all it was a very old hotel and may be it can be located on a better place. Rooms are small but the size i think was not the worst part. Rooms were not clean also the bathroom. It smells ugly, but it is about the hotels age. Breakfast was not good and it was a small restaurant. One morning we have to wait 10 minutes for an empty table.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Compared to hotels stayed in London and Rome, this hotel was way below expectations. The air conditioning/room ventilation did not work, and was not responded to when asked of hotel staff. The bathroom towels were thread bare, no facial tissues, no wash cloths, no face soap. Reminded me of cruise ship lower cabins, very, very small space and bath.

The room size was very small, just 18>24-inches wider than the bed length. Open clothes storage (closet??) did not have sufficient hangars for 2 people. Very small elevator, only 2-3 people with luggage. As a security feature needed to swipe room key into elevator receptacle to have elevator go to assigned floor however, thius feature was very erratic in use. Easier to take stairs if one was not on the upper floors. Breakfast was erratic ..... depending on time, not enough food and/or choice. Hard to plan when on a schedule.

Rug in room was not vacuumed, especially along the baseboard and floor line of furniture.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

It starts with a cold reception by the staff. You are then transported into the word of this Ibis.... Feels something like a prison. If you enjoy outdoor carpet that is stained and dirty moldy bathrooms with fist holes in the door ..then.. This place is for you! If you like the smell of pee and trash it is your place!

Room Tip: Don't stay here..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

As I've been many times to Paris, you spend very little time in the hotel room except to shower and sleep. The Ibis Alesia is ~10 minute walk to the Metro so it was very convenient to go anywhere. There are many bistro's around the area if need a quick bite. The rooms were typical size for Paris, they were clean and the air conditioning worked great (we visited during a heat wave). The breakfast that was included was fine - fresh croissants and breads, brie cheese, ham, cereal and yogurts were plentiful along with decent coffee individually made and dispensed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paris
Ibis Paris Convention 15eme
#1,038 of 1,791 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Montparnasse
Ibis Paris Maine Montparnasse 14eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Ibis Paris Sacre Coeur 18eme
Ibis Paris Sacre Coeur 18eme
#1,274 of 1,791 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Paris Alesia Montparnasse 14eme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Paris Alesia Montparnasse 14eme

Address: 49, rue des Plantes | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,240 of 1,791 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Paris Alesia Montparnasse 14eme 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Paris Alésia Montparnasse hotel is located in the centre of Paris, 3 km from the Exhibition Centre at Porte de Versailles, 4 km from the Latin Quarter and 5 km from the Eiffel Tower. The airport is 15 km away. The hotel has 264 air-conditioned rooms with Wifi Internet access, including 5 adapted for disabled persons, as well as 8 meeting rooms. LE RESTAURANT, a bar, snacks 24/24, and private covered parking (not free) are at your disposal. Pets accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Paris Alesia Montparnasse 14eme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Paris Alesia Montparnasse Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Alesia Montparnasse
Ibis Alesia Montparnasse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Paris Alesia Montparnasse 14eme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.