We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassade Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassade Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassade Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79, rue de Lauriston | 16th Arr., 75116 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #971 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Yes the rooms are small but that's the standard for most European cities. Bed was comfortable and room was cleaned every day. The front desk personnel was very nice. Didn't take the breakfast option. Bathroom always clean. Working A/C during all of our stay. It is a small property and for us was perfect. If you have more than 2 pieces of baggage I recommend leaving the essentials in the room and store the bulk downstairs in the storage. Safes are available (not in the room). 1 block from metro and about 5 blocks from Arche de Triomphe and Champs Elysees. Super quiet neighborhood at night and with at least 2 great small restaurants within 5 min walk! Def would return!

Room Tip: It can get noisy due to people banging doors. No one knows if the person next door is inconsiderate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    62
    38
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
68
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location. It is a short walk to the Arc de Triumph, Champs-Elysées and entrance to the metro. It gets an average rating because the rooms are basic which is all you need when exploring the city. It is clean. The bathroom seemed recently renovated. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The only complaint is the bed. It was basically a king size bed but it was two twin beds pushed together so I could only use one side. I would suggest just to update to a double.

Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick on Tweed, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Stayed at the Ambassade at end of May 2014
.Wonderful location 10 minutes from Arc de Triumphe and Trocadero is 10 minutes the opposite direction as well as the River Seine with the Batobus boat departure point.
The hotel is located on a quiet street and is clean and stylish. Room was small but with good décor and modern bathroom. Breakfast room very homely and service good and excellent variety of breakfast food.
Rue le Lauriston has a few bars and restaurants. Our favourite locally was Le Corner Cafe on Rue Cimarosa.down from the hotel.Also a great little bakery along from hotel Reception staff helpful for ordering taxis etc. and local knowledge. The lift is small but convenient.
Over our stay we walked to nearly all the access points and attractions
10 minutes in any direction gives access to - The Arc ,Trocadero , R.Seine boats /Batobus and wide variety of restaurants. Also used the Metro line for other attractions all convenient from hotel location even Roland Garros

Highlights of Paris for us were
the Boat trips 18 euros for 2 days which gets you to ALL the major sites
The Eiffel Tower /10 minutes walk from hotel and SPECTACULAR form the top
AND
Trip to Versailles Absolutely Breathtaking for the half day or full day- Plenty to see and do.
4 Full days are not enough but sampled what Paris had to offer and will use the Ambassade again definitely !!

Room Tip: Request a larger type room to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

I have just returned 2 days ago from a weekend stay at the Hotel Amassade.

All i can say is what a lovely hotel! Its Location is amazing 3 minutes walk to the Arc De Trimophe and the street that its situated on is delightful, lots of little shops and cafes around.

We stayed in room 44 on the 4th Floor and it wa lovely and airy , nice clean shower room and very comfy beds!

The staff were very friendly and the breakfast that was included was typically french and delicious.

All in All a lovely hotel stay in a perfect location with great service! Its a must 3* stay here for any trip to PARIS.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4 Th floor are lovely and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

I stayed here in November 2013 and found the facilities good but the service very poor indeed.
The room was a good size for Paris and the furnishings were nice. The price is also reasonable for this area.
However, the room was very noisy in the morning as the bins were emptied just outside and this woke me up on both mornings.
The main problem was that the service at the desk was very poor. When I arrived back in the evening and dropped my key in the morning, there was no greeting at all. One the first morning it was raining and I asked in French if there was a nearby shop to buy an umbrella. I was told that there wasn't but no offer was made to call me a taxi or to suggest an alternative. I felt that the service was impersonal to the point of rudeness and I will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The staff were exceptionally polite and kind, especially the man who seemed to be there during the day on monday-wednesday, the rooms were extremely comfy, very well cleaned (except the bathroom which had hairs on the walls from previous visitors (only 2 or 3)), they all spoke a relevant amount of English, again especially the man who worked there in the days from monday-wednesday, located near a supermarket, the eiffel tower, arc de triumphe, champs elysses, it truly is amazing! Free Wifi in a city where everything is overpriced was a bonus too! It also had phenomenal air conditioning, you could change the setting on it so when we arrived it wasn't too warm so we turned it down but it was 38 degrees one day and were able to cool down in an instant when we came back and turned it on, best hotel I have ever stayed in, the worst thing I can say about it is, it's a 3 star hotel but they key said 2 star.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

having been to paris once before i knew what this hotel would probably be like. and just as most hotels in france its on the cosy side ( but you dont spend all day in your room) its on a quiet side street ( yes the bin men come early morning but dont they back home as well.? ) very handy for two metros and walking distance to arc de triomphe and eiffel tower. breakfast was good, plenty to eat and all help yourself. safety deposit boxes are available free and some rooms have tea/coffee facilities. we stayed at the front of the hotel on the second floor and did not get any disturbance at all. all in all i would happily return here again as i would my previous hotel in paris 4 years ago. i find people only complain about "something" if theres actually "nothing serious" to complain about!!...............

Room Tip: had no problem at the front 21, 22,23,24 25.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassade Hotel

Address: 79, rue de Lauriston | 16th Arr., 75116 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#57 Spa Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome in hotel « Ambassade » … discover our 38 rooms air-conditioned and equipped with granite bathrooms.They combine the invaluable fabric refinement, of a furniture "Art nouveau" conceived by Masters cabinetmakers … and modern comfort offering hair drier, Free Internet WIFI, Satellite TV, Canal+...Begin the day with a buffet breakfast been useful in the charming room nicely decorated with photographs of Paris. Benefit then from the peace of this residential district … ideally located at only a few steps from Champs-Elysées, gardens of Trocadéro and Eiffel Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ambassade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassade Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.