We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet, clean and well positioned for metro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Didot Montparnasse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines Didot Montparnasse to your Saves list
Citadines Didot Montparnasse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   94 rue Didot, 75014 Paris, France (Formerly Citadines Porte de Versailles Paris)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #751 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“quiet, clean and well positioned for metro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

My partner and I decided on this particular hotel as part of an easyjet holiday package. It was our first trip to Paris and without any knowledge of the Paris area we made our decision on reviews similiar to this. To begin with, a really good tip for those who are travelling to Paris for the first time(as we were). On arrival at the CDG airport and after collecting bags, if you follow the signs indicating the metro/train station you will come across an information desk. Here you can buy a metro pass, which in our case because we were there for 4 days we purchased a 5 day pass. For the 5 day pass we payed approx. 50 euro each which was fantastic value considering a single ticket would have cost approx 8-9 euro(and we would have used the metro 10+ times during our stay). The pass also gave us access to the outer zones of the city including a trip to disneyland and surrounding areas. At the information desk you can also ask about the accommodation you have organised and the staff will quite happily print off a map and point you in the right direction. From there its a short walk to the airport metro station where you place your ticket in the machine positioned next to the gates which let you through the the main station platform.
The trip on the metro with one change of trains along the way took around an hour with us getting off at the Alesia station.
From the Alesia station it is about a 10-15min walk to the hotel and is very easy to find. Along the way there is a great selection of bakerys and patisseries and right next to the hotel itself is a small supermarket with all the basics.
On entering the hotel we were met at reception by a very friendly member of staff who quickly confirmed our booking and gave us all the relevant information we needed. Our room was on the first floor overlooking the street below. We had absolutely no problem with being on the road frontage as the neighborhood was very quiet and we had no noise issues throughout our stay. The room was a spacious self contained apartment style setup with a well equipped kitchenette. It also had separate bathroom and toilet. It had a double sofabed in the lounge area which was easy to interchange between sofa and bed and was also very comfortable in both situations.
During our 3 night stay we did not get back to the hotel before midnight any of the nights. At no stage did we ever feel unsafe walking from the train station to the hotel in the early hours of the morning and were surprised at how quiet the area was at night.
Overall we had a great stay at the citadines didot alesia with it offering all the basics we required and its relative close proximity to the metro.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    84
    29
    3
    1
See reviews for
78
33
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley CA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

The Citadines chain are charmless, purpose-built hotel apartments, but they afford privacy and convenience for a family with children. The bedroom and living room with large sofabed had separate entrances from the hallway. The kitchenette is also useful. The air conditioning seemed like a waste when we arrived in cool rain, but when the mercury was in the 90s (that is, almost 35C), it meant a good night's sleep.

The neighborhood is away from the tourist sites, but the Metro is a pleasant 7-minute walk (Plaisance) and trains run every 3 or 4 minutes until early morning. The T-3 tram is a two-minute walk, but transfers from tram to metro on the same ticket are not allowed. (If you have a pass, this is not a problem.)

There is a bakery across the street with fine breakfast pastries. Many of the restaurants on the street were closed for August vacation, including the small supermarket that usually occupies the ground floor of the hotel, but we did manage to get a cheese plate at the bar up the street at 11:45pm.

I know Citadines sometimes market themselves to business travelers, but the internet connection is very slow and the computer in the hotel lobby is an antique.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

We stayed here two night in May 2010, it suited us really well. Travelling by car with two teenagers it is perfect. Good value, not far from the Paris ring-road, (payed) parking available underneath the Hotel.
The staff is also great, friendly, efficient and speaks good english (unlike in most other French hotels). Location is in a lively street, pleasant walk to one of two nearby metro stations.
Layout of the apartment is not great, small livingroom/bedroom but a big hall. As we didn't spent too much time indoors we didn't care about this a lot.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

I've spent 3 days at this hotel in December 2009. The room was great for the price. It was a studio with two beds and fully equipped kitchen: microwave, dishwasher, fridge, stove, toaster, coffee maker, ustensils, cups & dishes! Nice comfy beds although a bit tricky to open. Once the beds were opened there wasn't much space left in the room but who wants to stay in the room when in Paris?

The location was good too, especially once we figured out how to get to Plaisance metro station instead of Alesia or Porte de Vanves. It took about 30 mins by metro to reach the Eiffel tower. The area is very quiet, we had no trouble walking around even at night. There are supermarkets nearby: a Franprix right below the hotel but it's open only between 9AM - 8.30PM and closed on Sundays. There are also other grocery stores around: smaller, more expensive but open late at night.
The staff speaks English and are very friendly. The breakfast is "all you can eat" but it's typically french. Meaning, don't expect to see eggs and ham, sausage, bacon or any other meat product. You will find cereals, milk, tartes, butter, marmelade, orange juice, coffee, etc.
All in all it's well worth the money and I would go back there again, even for a longer stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

The Citadines extended stay hotel in rue Didot is very convenient when you are in Paris for a few weeks and want a kitchen to avoid having to go to restaurants all the time. The staff is great and really helpful to make your stay enjoyable. All of this said, this is really a middle-class building. So if you are used to charming bedrooms, this is not the place for you as you will find the environment a bit dull. However for this price level, it can be a good choice. Finally, note that the rooms have different sizes, some facing the street and others facing a private courtyard, so I suggest you contact the front desk ahead of time if you have a preference.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center City, Philadelphia, PA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

In mid June, my husband and I stayed at the Citadines Paris Didot Alesia for the 5th time since 2004. It is our favorite vacation spot in Europe. The hotel is clean, comfortable, and friendly. The staff speak multiple languages and are fluent in English. Our one-bedroom apartment was small--as are many modest accommodations in Europe--but we had a lovely balcony overlooking the street. Rue Didot is full of old-fashioned family-owned shops, including several bakeries, butchers, and restaurants. There are hardly any tourists in the neighborhood, so you will get to see how real Parisians live. The 58 bus stops across the street and takes you down to all the tourist attractions, such as Notre Dame. You can also take this bus to Gare Montparnesse, where you can catch the trains to Chartres Cathedral and Versailles. Two Metro stops are also nearby--Plaisance is a 5-minute walk, Alesia is a 12-minute walk. We love rue Didot and Citadines Paris Didot Alesia. If you are a lazy suburbanite who drives your SUV everywhere and hates to walk, stay away from this place, please. This is a great spot for folks who love city living, European style!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2006

Wrote this up in the Forums and thought I'd add it here. I booked this without having any tripadvisor reviews so I thought it'd be worthwhile to share my experience for future potential travellers.

Away we go...

I have been at the Didot Alesia Citadines for over two weeks on business. In general I have a favorable opinion of the property. It's located within 10 minute walk of the metro (13 or 4) or a couple minutes from a couple buses (58 and PC1). When the Tramway gets going later this summer it will also be very close to that (which connects to Port d'Orleans and RER B line along the same route as the PC1 bus). I would say nothing is more than 30 minutes away max and southern Paris areas like Mont Parnasse are maybe 15 minutes away on foot.

Location is ok for those with extended business or vacation plans. It is not central by any means though the 13 will take you straight through Invalides, the Champs (right by the d'Orsay, close to the Louvre), St. Lazare (Opera, shopping) and fairly close to Sacre Coeur in ~20 minutes without changing trains. If you've been to Paris before and don't forsee yourself taking the midnight strolls along the Seine most first timers are dreaming to do this property is not a bad option. It's comfortable for those people or families who know the city and can take the little bit of extra time getting places in exchange for the convenience to a nicely equipped kitchen and more apartmenty feel.

Staff is efficient and for the most part amiable. Laundry is ridiculous at 13 Euro for a wash and dry (but there are a couple of reasonable laundrettes within 5 minute walk). Room was clean and fairly modern with a Dishwasher, mini-Fridge/Freezer, Microwave and two burner stove. My room smelled very off when I arrived. I traced it to a stove hood filter that didn't look like it had been changed in years. Once I tossed that the odor was gone in a couple days. The A/C blew cool and the water was hot (you have your own hot water heater in your apartment). There was a serviceable sofabed, big desk, TV, CD Stereo, ironing board and iron as well as a safe and a fold out clothes rack in the shower. All in all, the conveniences made for a comortable extended stay. Internet was a bit disappointing. The lobby has a free WIFI access point but I could not get the signal in the room. When I was in the lobby the connection was slow and unreliable. There is a public PC there for communal use along with a plasma for the news or big sporting events (World Cup, Le Tour de France, etc...). I didn't take breakfast but it is available for a charge (really, why would you want to pay 8-10 Euros when you could get something at the Supermarket or Boulangerie across the street for much less?).

The neighborhood is nothing special but pretty convenient. There is a Supermarket right outside the front door (though prices seemed a little higher here than at other neighborhood locations). There is also an Ed, ATAC and one other market near the Plaisance metro station (~5-10 minute walk). Per nearly every Parisian neighborhood, there are plenty of chinese, indian, japanese, french, pizza and donner kabob take aways to satiate you. There are also a number of more fancy restaurants and bars in the area but nothing too touristy. Usual accomodations of banks, atm's, pharmacys, post office and coiffure all close by as well. I did not feel unsafe in this neighborhood and it is really dead on weekends.
Anyways, that's about it...I paid b/w 82-116 Euros (due to the Bastille Holiday week). I'd stay here again for this price.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines Didot Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Didot Montparnasse

Address: 94 rue Didot, 75014 Paris, France (Formerly Citadines Porte de Versailles Paris)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#157 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Didot Montparnasse 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an authentic Parisian area, complete with wide boulevards lined with trees and magnificent late 19th and early 20th-century buildings dotting the landscape. It is also conveniently near Broussais, gare Montparnasse, Saint-Joseph and Notre-Dame-du-Bon-Secours hospitals, and is only a 10-minute drive from Porte de Versailles Exhibition Park.Right at the door of your Apart'hotel are streets full of shops, open-air markets and discreet lanes and squares. Not far away, the flea market at Porte de Vanves and the charming Parc Montsouris are ideal places to visit in the vibe of the city.Absolute must-see: The Parc Georges Brassens (with its rose gardens, perfumed garden and second-hand book market on weekends) . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Citadines Didot Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Porte De Versailles Paris Hotel Paris
Citadines Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Didot Montparnasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.