We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for business travelers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Paris Porte d'Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Paris Porte d'Orleans to your Saves list
Novotel Paris Porte d'Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15/17/21 boulevard Romain Rolland, 75014 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
City Breaks up to 40% off
Ranked #562 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good hotel for business travelers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

If your travel takes you to the southern edge of the city, this is a good option. It's a clean, quiet and efficient hotel with good service. The breakfast is better than average for a mid-tier business hotel and the staff are pleasant and knowledgeable. The only downside is that cabs are hard to come by at the hotel itself, but there are many available at the Porte d'Orleans station about 5 minutes away.

Room Tip: High floor, facing away from the street (the Boulevard outside the hotel is pretty noisy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    293
    101
    14
    10
See reviews for
272
91
23
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was an excellent hotel in which I stayed multiple times during businesx trips to Paris. Excellent rooms, good breakfast, very good location due to very near bus and metrostation. Only minor point is that the bar of the hotel closes quite early.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulingen, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Been there on a few business trips. The hotel is on the corner of two four-lane roads. The outside of the front entrance is dirty and loud.

Yes, the price might be acceptable for Paris, but that does not mean that I find it acceptable. A lot of two star hotels have better quality and choices for breakfast. The staff at front desk and breakfast was friendly and service minded.

Metro line 4 is in walking distance of the hotel (300meters away).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abingdon
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

To cut a long story short, I complained about the loud noise in my room on arrival. They worked very hard to find another one - the noise was everywhere! - but it turned out my electric toothbrush had turned on in my bag. I was shamefaced, they were very good about it.

So far so good, excellent service above and beyond, and at this stage I would have given it a 5, despite the chain hotel boxy simple decor. I was also impressed by a restaurant that didn't turn me away at 11pm, served me an excellent omelette and superb Belgian beer, and had a good buffet breakfast with meats and cheeses.

However, it turns out that when my colleague arrived at the hotel the previous night at that time, they had given away his room, and wanted to reimburse him later for a taxi to another hotel - sensibly he stood his ground and wanted the money upfront. As the booking was corporate, and as far as I know would have been paid by the company if he was a no-show, this is not really excusable.

The room cost was high - rack rate was EUR220, we got EUR180, for a fairly basic room - although the french tennis championships were on and I gather it could be lower. EUR16 for the full breakfast is probably par for the course. I was going to complain about the lack of wifi, but it turns out they do have it - they just weren't publicising it in my room.

So a mixed bag, and I've split the difference.

Room Tip: Even numbers at the back of the hotel, although colleagues at the front said they couldn't hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nppo, Directeur général at Novotel Paris Porte d'Orleans, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for having transmitted your impressions further to your stay as well as the concern encountered met by your colleague.
It is a limited accident and a not current practice of our établissment.
Cordially
Bruno LEMOINE
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuhan, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is closed to metro line 4 , 2 minutes by walking. Atmosphere is warm and peaceful . Staff at reception is smile all time and helpful. Room is very quiet and bed comfortable. Seperately bathroom and toilet .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights on business. Check in staff were really friendly and polite. Nice big room, clean and comfortable enough. The bar was a bit disappointing, the service was very slow, I think the barman was doing the room service as well so he wasn't always there. Bar food was a bit poor, I had some sort of microwaved panini. The hotel restaurant was OK but a bit dull. Breakfast was quite busy on the first morning so I had room service instead on the other days which was very nice and arrived promptly. Overall I wouldn't mind staying there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Having just returned yesterday 20/05/13 Just a little note, Staff at hotel very friendly if not a little unstaffed in restaurant & bar,
Having stayed in plenty of Novotel hotels in the UK, France & New York, we where a little disappointed with this hotel.
Lobby & bar area clean and modern, but bedrooms stuffy, tired & cheap. We had booked the room for 2 adults & 2 Children, room was only made up for two people, so had to ask for additional bedding, only two paper cups??? for tea coffee or hot choc, we had to share paper cups. Also only two towels in the bathroom for four people to share.
Hotel is close to Metro line M4, just a couple of min walk away. Not much in the area to do of an evening. Quite a lot of homeless about the area, by the bus station, Tramline & Metro line. So didn't feel safe to wonder about of an evening time.
We will be back in paris in October, but I will be booking another hotel this time :-(

Room Tip: Rooms very stuffy lacking fresh air or Air conditioning, to the point of making you feel sick. I had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nppo, Directeur général at Novotel Paris Porte d'Orleans, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear customers,

Thank you for your commentaries about our hotel. I appreciate the time you took to share the problems you encountered during your stay.

Firstly, please allow me to say how sorry I am that these issues affected your satisfaction during your stay in my hotel.
Please be assured, that I will do my utmost to provide an appropriate follow up to your comments

Best regards
Bruno Lemoine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Paris Porte d'Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Paris Porte d'Orleans

Address: 15/17/21 boulevard Romain Rolland, 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#254 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#277 Family Hotel in Paris
#515 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Paris Porte d'Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Paris Porte d Orleans is a 3 star hotel located in the south of Paris, 3 minutes from the metro and tram line. The hotel offers 150 soundproof airconditioned rooms, a restaurant, a Novotel Cafe and 4 conference rooms for meetings and conferences. This 3 star hotel is equally suited to a business trip or a holiday in Paris with your partner or family. The hotel also features a private pay car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Paris Porte d'Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Paris Porte d`Orleans Hotel Paris
Paris Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Paris Porte d'Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.