We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent but overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Paris Monty Opera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Paris Monty Opera to your Saves list
Mercure Paris Monty Opera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 rue de Montyon, 75009 Paris, France (Opera / Bourse)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 nights = up to 40% off
Ranked #840 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“decent but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel is well located. close to a metro station and not too far away from Gare du Nord. The services were good and the rooms were clean. this was the experience of my visit

First they made a mistake and gave us two double rooms rather than twin rooms we booked for. They at first told us they may not have any more left, but moved us. The rooms themselves were nicely furbished and their sizes were decent. with a TV and wifi.

The breakfast was average. After having it on the first morning, we bought things in a nearby bakery, which we enjoyed much more. A while after we got back to the UK, we realised my mother took the minifridge key of the first room by accident. We would have appreciated if they informed us first before taking off 5 euros for this. We would have been gladly to send it back.

Overall: nice hotel, but you'd expect it, since it is a 4*? but probably not great if you are looking for value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYLVIEGONIN, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Monty Opera, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments. Please, could you contact us concerning the charge of 5 euros : we never charge a card if a guest forget to give us back a minibar key !
We look forward to reading you soon.

Yours faithfully

S. Gonin
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    214
    110
    33
    19
See reviews for
43
200
32
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed 5 days in this hotel. Rooms are very clean which is number 1 criteria for me as I am very picky. Receptionists are very helpful and would address any concern right away. Their breakfast is simple and good. I liked that kids are free too which made it worth it. Very close to metro

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYLVIEGONIN, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Monty Opera, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your comment and hope to welcome you soon again !

Yours faithfully

S. Gonin
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel is a short walk from the Grands Boulevards metro, as well as walkable to tourist sites along the Seine. There are also good cafes and restaurants nearby and a grocery store.
As for the hotel itself, the lobby was nice and due to the heat, staff offered us glasses of water while waiting for friends. Free wifi throughout the hotel was a major plus!

Of course, room size is to be expected for a hotel in a major city with reasonable room prices. The bathroom was nice with a good number of towels provided. The room also had a safe, coffee and tea facilities, along with sugar and powdered creamer too. Beds were also very comfortable, though the room temperature was a bit high despite attempts to lower the thermostat. My disappointment was with the extremely thin walls. It sounded like someone was knocking on your door when it was the room next to me and you could hear sounds from the neighboring rooms. Luckily, I spent most of my time away from the room so this wasn't much of a problem.

Room Tip: The elevator is on the small side, so you may want to have a lower floor to avoid waiting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYLVIEGONIN, Manager at Mercure Paris Monty Opera, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear madam, dear sir,

We thank you to have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we despite the desagrement due to the noise, we really appreciate you have liked our service.
best regards

S. Gonin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a fantastic stay. In short: Very nice staff, beautiful building and rooms, perfectly equipped, comfortable, very nice beds, fast internet, good toilettries, great breakfast, and very nice location. If you have been to Paris as a tourist you know that you will get a small room, and these were not bad. If anything negative, the street can get a bit noisy at night during the weekend or rush hour in the morning. Plenty of restaurants and supermarkets around. We recommend the Senegalese place three doors to the left.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYLVIEGONIN, Manager at Mercure Paris Monty Opera, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your appreciation. We hope we welcome you again !
Best regards

S. Gonin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the sea ranch
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

It is a nice hotel hidden by its' small entry and lobby. Check-in was fast and friendly. Like most big city elevators they are tiny, but we managed. The room was clean and good size. Bathroom was very nice, maybe even renovated. The breakfast was well stocked, plenty to choose from, and lots of coffee available. Two blocks from Haussmann Blvd, 5 minutes from the underground or hop on hop off bus line, maybe 15 minutes from Galeries Layfayette. When we checked out and we waited for the cab, the front desk person said to have free breakfast before we leave. That was a nice touch. We arrived at the airport in 35 minutes.

Room Tip: Our room faced away from the street and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYLVIEGONIN, Manager at Mercure Paris Monty Opera, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear sir,

Thank you very much.

We look forward to welcoming you again,
Best regards

S. Gonin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were not getting rooms in other hotel for the dates we required for Opera area beside this and Millennium and the review for Millennium was bad compare to this one. prices for millennium opera and this one was nearly same so we opt for this one instead. Millennium opera is right on the main road and very easy to find where else we took 1 hr to trace this hotel. We asked many people & all the people gave us wrong direction.
Get down at Metro Grand Boulevard and walk to towards small street on the right which is hardly 100 m away, turn inside that street and walk other 150-200 m and take other right and u will find this hotel there..Hotel is small with 5-6 floor with small elevator good for only 2 people. We were getting room infront side but it was non smoking and my hubby wanted smoking room so we got the rooms at the back side which is not a good view and its noisy if you open the window. Room was very compact but I guess its usual for Par hotel but it was nice clean hotel and the rooms. Reception was helpful and spoke in English beside 1 reception (guy), all gals in reception could speak good english. Hard rock is near by on the main road with other cafes. Eatery is all very close. Gallery lafayette is 2 blocks away. Over all it was a good stay.

Room Tip: Take the rooms which faces on the street, avoid rooms ending with 1/2/3 as these will be at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYLVIEGONIN, Manager at Mercure Paris Monty Opera, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you very much !

Best regards

S. Gonin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were only here for a weekend break and paid for the room with my points otherwise it would have been quite expensive due to the area!!! The location is good for Opera and the Grand Boulevards Metro is just a minute away for all connections. The room was clean and also quite small as expected but as we were out all day it was no problem. The staff very friendly and helpful so no complaints about this. We did not eat so cannot comment on the food. Overall an ok hotel but quite pricey if you had to pay rack rates

Room Tip: Ask for one that does not adjoin a neighbour as the walls are very thin and you can hear the showers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYLVIEGONIN, Manager at Mercure Paris Monty Opera, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Good morning,

You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.

Do not hesitate to look at if promotion rates are opened on our web site when you will come back in Paris.

We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best regards

S. Gonin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Paris Monty Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Monty Opera

Address: 5 rue de Montyon, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#145 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#331 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Monty Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Paris, in a quiet street, close to the main department stores, the Opera, the Louvre and the Folies Bergeres theatre. 69 Fully equipped rooms, bathroom, hair dryer, minibar, telephone and cable television. The restaurant is only open on request and for groups only, either business or tourist. For individual customers, room service is available during the evening Monday to Friday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Paris Monty Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Monty Opera Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Monty Opera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Paris Monty Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.