We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant modern Paris hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Paris Monty Opera

Save Saved
You added Mercure Paris Monty Opera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Paris Monty Opera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 rue de Montyon, 75009 Paris, France (Montmartre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #853 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Washington, DC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant modern Paris hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Bright, clean and modern, the Mercure Paris Monty Opéra offers quiet, well-equipped if small rooms and friendly service. Located on a quiet street, facing the wonderful Art Deco facade of the Follies Bergères theatre, this hotel is convenient to the metro while not being in a main business or touristy neighbourhood.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    164
    89
    32
    16
See reviews for
33
160
23
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hotel is situated in a quiet road near Grands Boulevards metro station and its location is good. When we visited the hotel for a weekend, there were however a number of things that struck us.

1) I was telephoned twice before arriving, once on the day before, then on the actual day, to be asked if I was still coming. I had booked through the accor website and cannot understand why this was needed, it merely served to stress my partner and I.

2) we asked for a quiet room. An email was sent in reply saying they would see what they could do. Positive. But on the first night we found ourselves in the room, with a dog, left in the room by its owners, howling until they returned at nearly midnight. I get annoyed by this firstly because dog owners have a responsibility, secondly because the hotel did nothing to help. It took several calls down to reception before anyone actually started to respond to me, and in the end they just waited until the guests returned

3) The hotel smelled very heavily of paint. They still had warning signs up about fresh paint. When I complained about this on checkout, I was asked "Really?". For goodness sake !

4) When we opened our window we could smell the cigarette smoke from some room or person below. Every morning. Ugh!

Look, I realize that this review might seem harsh but I stay in hotels weekly for work, so when I go to a hotel advertising rates of this level and showing 4 stars (it used to be a 3 star) I expect a certain level of service.

On a positive note, on checkout the hotel staff accorded us a discount in response to my issues. For that I am thankful.

We did not eat breakfast in the hotel (17 Euros per person) we preferred the "Pain de la Bourse" round the corner for less than half the price. Not a criticism just a pointer if you are in the area.

And one final thing for Accor to read - I dont want to create an account with TripAdvisor! Just because you have outsourced your customer satisfaction surveys don't make me sign up with some company I have no wish to be registered with! Think what this says to your customers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Very friendly staff, good location, beautiful hall, recently renovated. Our room was facing courtyard, quiet but dark, with a very small window. The bathroom was quite big - for Paris, very clean and recently renovated with good taste.
The hotel in its art deco style is certainly charming. We would choose it again if we could get a good deal because the rates are a bit too high even for Paris.
A couple from Lyon

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have spend two nights in the hotel.

What was not that good:
- size of the room. Not American standard, but fine for Paris.
- Noise insulation. Could be better. You could hear next door


What was good:
- Room has been recently renovated: so very clean and neat.
- Nice bathroom with good water pressure
- Location, near folie bergere, musee grevin, chartier restaurant metro Grand Boulevard (not Opera)
- Quiet room (our room wasn't facing the street)

What was great:
- The service: Very attentive and professional
Air conn was broken and we've got offered the breakfast for the two rooms

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

First off let me say, if you are looking for an American size hotel room, go stay at a Hilton or a Marriott. This is a very cute, little, typical Parisian hotel. The rooms are small (but you're in Paris, are you really going to be in the hotel room except to sleep?), but well appointed. The beds were very comfortable. The bathrooms were a very good size and the amenities were very nice. We had originally asked for a room on a high floor based on reviews here but when we checked in a member of our party had changed the reservation to low floors facing the back. I was disappointed to not be overlooking the street but it sure was quiet in the back. We sleot with the windows open every night. The hotel is undergoing renovations. The restaurant was being refurbished and reopened the last morning we were there. It looked really nice. Even though they were using a conference room for breakfast, they did a great job managing the space. The breakfast was a great deal. In our plan it was only 4 euros a person and it provided continental and hot food options. The staff were very attentive and helpful. You couldn't get a better deal on the street. Overall this is a really good little hotel for the price -- convenient to the metro 2 blocks away, bus stops 2 blocks away, Galeries Lafayette about 6 blocks away. What more could you ask for? It is a typical Paris neighborhood -- a variety of different restaurants -- Jewish, Sengal, Indian, Japanese, Italian and many more. Check out Chartier around the corner -- a very good restaurant with excellent prices. It gets crowded after 7pm. I have stayed in many places in Paris -- La Defense, along Rue de Rivoli and the Champs Elysees. For the price, the Monty beats them all.

Room Tip: A lot of people have commented to ask for one of the renovated rooms on the top floors. According t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Although easybooking made a mistake with our booking, the hotel staff toke complete care of us. The hotel was very clean and pleasant to stay. Nice quiet location in the center, close to everywhere. Good restaurants in the earia. A very pleasant stay

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Paris Monty Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Monty Opera

Address: 5 rue de Montyon, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre , Opéra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#310 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Monty Opera 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Paris, in a quiet street, close to the main department stores, the Opera, the Louvre and the Folies Bergeres theatre. 69 fully equipped rooms, bathroom, hair dryer, minibar, telephone and cable television. The restaurant is only open on request and for groups only, either business or tourist. For individual customers, room service is available during the evening Monday to Friday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mercure Paris Monty Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Monty Opera Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Monty Opera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Paris Monty Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.