We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, modern hotel in a great area.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Boulevard Haussmann, 75009 Paris, France (Formerly Radisson Blu Ambassador Hotel, Paris Opera) (Opera / Bourse)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #637 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Romantic, modern hotel in a great area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed here on a trip together and really enjoyed it. They had great service, let us check in from our overnight flight early and were very helpful with dinner suggestions and places to explore. Very good amenities, a bit of a hike to some of the sites but not bad and we appreciated the quieter neighborhood a little outside the main tourist attractions.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    230
    106
    34
    7
See reviews for
113
185
19
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Marriott has become a "standard" chain in terms of what can be expected across their different banners, almost everywhere in the world. In most cases, this means you get the absolute average size room and amenities, and a location that is generally considered good but never great... Yet, this place was a very pleasant surprise in more than one aspect during our visit in late March 2015.

From our very early arrival (our Uber dropped us off from the airport at 6:45 am), we were greeted by helpful and efficient staff, who worked their best to find us a room that was available for us so that we would not have to wait until later. Within 15 minutes we were settling down in a beautiful, comfortable and large room (think much larger than you can expect in average Paris) with a view to Haussmann Blvd.

Platinum-Elite membership level @ Marriott gave us access to the lounge on the 8th floor, were we enjoyed a relaxed breakfast and where the staff in charge made our already big smile even larger. Specifically, Mr. Christian Perot welcomed us like family, and treated us with such an attention to detail that I was beginning to wonder if I had inadvertedly walked into the presidential suite at the Ritz Carlton. For the following week, my wife, my daughter and myself were excited and happy to see him every morning running the lounge.

Back to the hotel... Room size as I mentioned before is above average for Paris and most of Europe as well. Generally speaking, a couple with a baby in a crib and running around with a stroller will always be tight for space, but this was not the case here.

Restrooms seem recently renovated (I'd say 1 year or so), very clean and tidy. Not extremely large but neither small in any way. Toilet is separate to the restroom which adds to privacy and comfort as well.

The view out of the window from our room down on Haussmann was splendid, and we were happy to enjoy the fair/flea market across the street during the weekend.

Location was another reason why this hotel gets the rating I am giving it. We were simply in the right place. Walking distance from Lafayette (two blocks), The Louvre (6 or 8 blocks), and about 25 minute (2 Km) stroll up to Montmartre and the Sacre-Coeur. The famous Passages Couverts are three blocks away... been to Paris many times and always missed them until this opportunity.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the street if available. Higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 16 nights in March and have nothing but positive comments about this hotel. We used it as a base for Paris and trips around the area. This is our fifth time in Paris and the room was very large by Paris standards. We were in the bar nightly for drinks and sometimes food. Jessica and the bar staff were terrific and very personable. Alexandra, our concierge was great and helped us so much with dinner reservations and other Paris tips. The hotel is located in a safe area with a taxi stand right outside. Shopping and restaurants are close and in walking distance. Save your money on the breakfast and go down the street to one of the bakeries. We had a great time here and will be back.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are probably quieter than the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurelie C, Guest Relations Manager at Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear billmc321,

Thank you very much for your very kind feedback shared on Tripavisor. It is a pleasure to find out that you fully enjoyed your stay during your two weeks.
Your positive comments regarding Jessica, the bar staff and Alexandra has been shared with the team who is thrilled to read that you had a great time with us!
Looking forward to welcome you again whenever your travels bring you back to Paris.

Best Regards,
Aurélie Conton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thann, France
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I did go with my wife for our honeymoon 3 nights. Well for a hotel at Paris the room is decent size. A bit old style in my opinion. Bathroom not too good for that level of hotel. Hopefully I used points and we got access to the lounge and breakfast. They did not upgrade us, although the hotel does not seems full. So I gave a mixed feeling.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurelie C, Guest Relations Manager at Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear blondema36,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the Tripadvisor community. It was a pleasure to have you staying in our hotel for your honeymoon. As we take great pride in delivering a quality of service which meet our guests expectations it would be very constructive for us to get some more detailed information about the main points which were not at your convenience. We always try our best to upgrade our Platinum Marriott members when possible and I notice on your reservation that you were upgraded to a deluxe room with a view on the boulevard Haussmann during your stay. The front office team should have given you this information upon your arrival and our front office manager will ensure this information is communicated to our guests.
Please don't hesitate to contact me directly at guestrelationsmanager@parismarriottopera.com
We appreciate you took the time to share your valuable comment.

Sincerely,
Aurélie Conton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice hotel in Paris. Location of the hotel is nice, near a metro station and near Paris' shopping heaven Lafayette. Hotel is what you can expect from Marriott. I found the room on the smaller side, have stayed in Marriott hotels in India a lot. The rooms in India are a good 2 size bigger.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurelie C, Guest Relations Manager at Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear D1234111,

Thank you for your nice feedback shared with the Tripadvisor community following your stay in our hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a nice time in Paris.
We are very concerned about our guests satisfaction so for your next visit please contact me directly at guestrelationsmanager@parismarriottopera.com , I will do my best to allocate the larger room available in the room category booked. Hoping to have the pleasure to welcome you for your next visit in Paris.

Best Regards,
Aurélie Conton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was nicely located to the Eiffel Tower and close to the arch de triumph also as well as near public transport. The rooms were a nice size and the courtyard was Cody. The staff were helpful professional and friendly making our visit a memorable one. I'd definitely visit again..! And what a wonderful city..! It was actually July 2012 when I visited.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurelie C, Guest Relations Manager at Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Ferguson009,

Thank you for your kind comment posted on Tripadvisor, it is a great pleasure to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us. Our associates are very concerned about our guests comfort and satisfaction so your nice comment will be shared with the team!
We are looking forward to welcome you again for your next visit in Paris.

Best regards,
Aurélie Conton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Marriott Ambassador Opera Hotel is located in a great location. The Metro is just down the street, as are lots of restaurants, shopping. It's also very close to the Nord train station which even makes the location more perfect. We had a room for three adults and it was extremely large for European standards.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurelie C, Guest Relations Manager at Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear SwissyFaye,

We are very pleased to find out that you that you had a nice time in Paris while satying at the Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador.
We sincerely hope to have the chance to welcome you again for your next visit in the City of Lights!

Best Regards,
Aurélie Conton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel

Address: 16 Boulevard Haussmann, 75009 Paris, France (Formerly Radisson Blu Ambassador Hotel, Paris Opera)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#293 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#392 Business Hotel in Paris
#572 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Travelers, the Marriott Ambassador facelift and celebrates the end of its work. Discover our new concept Great Room ! Queridos viajeros, el Marriott Ambassador lavado de cara y celebra el final de su trabajo. Descubre su nuevo concepto Great Room! 旅行者の皆様,この度,ル マリオット アンバサドウールは改装工事を終えリニューアル致しました.是非とも新しいコンセプトのグレートルームをご覧下さいませ.> 皆様のお越しをお待ちしております. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Marriott so you can book your Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Ambassador Hotel, Paris Opera Hotel Paris
Hotel Ambassador Paris
Radisson Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.