We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Paris hotels I've ever stayed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel to your Saves list
Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France (Opera / Bourse)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #227 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“One of the best Paris hotels I've ever stayed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This is not only a hotel, Scribe a part of the history of Paris. Fantastic hotel in a very nice neighborhood facing The Opera. Upon arrival we were told that we have been upgraded to a larger suite. Our booking was for a junior. The staff, as you can guess, were very friendly and they gave us a great welcome. Our suite was located on the second floor which is called the Josephine Baker floor, named after Josephine, herself a legend at her time. As I said, the hotel looks like a 19th century museum with the nice bar, restaurant and a "salon de the". The name of the themed bar/restaurant is Le Lumiere which is where Lumiere Brothers showed their first film over there. Opera Metro is very close. We took advantage of the proximity of the hotel to Cafe de La Paix and had most our breakfasts over there. WIFI was free with an acceptable bandwidth. Only like all other Sofitel hotels in Europe, you have to log in every 24 hours. No sweat! In short, very nice hotel in a very nice area! Recommended.

Room Tip: We loved Suite # 272.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review on TripAdvisor following your stay at the Hotel Scribe Paris.

It is great to learn that you appreciated not only our perfect location in the heart of Paris, but also the kindness of our Ambassadors. Be assured that your warm words were shared with our entire team.
We are deeply touched to read that you would recommend our beautiful and historical hotel and that you consider it being one of the best Parisian hotel you ever stayed in.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back again very soon at the Hotel Scribe Paris.

With Warm Regards,

Béatrice Schopflin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    435
    122
    42
    22
See reviews for
281
622
82
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Staff was courteous ,beds great, room had plenty of space, location near opera, restaurants and shopping. Breakfast provided was,excellent. The only non-positive was the tub/shower entrance and exit were a challenge. Enjoyed our 5 nights.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor,

We are happy to learn that you overall enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Scribe Paris.
We would also like to thank you for your comment about the bathroom, it is always good to have this kind of feedback to improve our level of service and amenities. We are terribly sorry it did disturb you. For further reservation, we do recommend you to book a room with a shower, as it still remains easier to get in and out than the bathtub.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Best Regards,

Béatrice Schopflin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We spent 6 nights at this hotel. The rooms are clean, the breakfast is wonderful, And the staff was so helpful with reservations, answering questions, and recommendations! The Opera Metro station is just a block away and offers quick and reliable transportation to any other tourist destination!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.
We are glad to read that you overall enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Scribe Paris.
It is really important to us to get your feedback and we appreciate to know that your room was to your convenience and that you liked your breakfast.
Also, it is true that the Hotel Scribe Paris is very well located, close to many touristic sites and shops.
Thank you again for your lovely review, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in a near future.

With Warm Regards

Béatrice Schopflin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying here in May . It has been a dream to have a weekend in Paris for years and I finally got to go . In my head I had a perfect image of what and where the hotel should be lucky enough my dreams came true . Before we arrived we emailed the hotel to recommend a restaurant for our second night stay and to book into there own restaurant "la lumiere" on the first night . They could not have been more helpful and we decided to book a restaurant called "goust" which the hotel completely took care of. They hotel is in a perfect location walking distance from every major tourist spot it did take us about 50 mins to walk to the tower but what an amazing experience everywhere you look there is paris's outstanding beauty and history . Our meal at the restaurant at the hotel was fantastic really unique flavours and good selection at first I thought it was expensive but everything in Paris is expensive so in comparison it really wasn't that bad . We even ordered room service breakfast and we were brought a feast . I would recommend "goust" as a restaurant too just a minute walk from the hotel its a mitchelm star experience it was expensive but I would say as an experience worth every penny .. I would definitely recommend scribe and hope I get to return again one day

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a real pleasure to read such lovely comment.
We are really happy you appreciated the location of the hotel, the restaurant and the help of our concierge team.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in a near future.

With Warm Regards,

Béatrice Schopflin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

great location. nice staff. great breakfast included in price made to order eggs and a large buffet. fresh water in room provided. location allowed us to walk everywhere. wife loved the bed and may buy the sheets for our home. Only little thing is that it was a bit hard to get into shower as the tub was pretty high. but we would definitely go back and stay again - hope we have the opportunity. booked through hotwire so price was good but would have been fine paying normal rates

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to learn that you overall enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Scribe Paris.
Thank you for your comment about the bathtub, it is always good to have this kind of feedback to improve our level of service and amenities. We are terribly sorry you found it difficult to get in, just for your information we also have rooms with showers. Do not hesitate to ask for it for further reservation, to avoid this kind of inconvenience during your next stay.

As regard to the rate, we kindly inform you that we apply an online parity policy, so the rates and conditions are always interesting on both sides. Do not hesitate to contact us directly for further reservation if needed.

We certainly hope to welcome you back again very soon at the Hotel Scribe Paris.

Yours sincerely,

Béatrice Schopflin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itapiranga-SC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed 4 nights, in may. The location is great, near everything. If the weather is good, you can walk almost everywhere in Paris. There're bus, sub and RER stops near the hotel. The hotel is huge, so the service is not the best, but it's ok. The staff was very nice with us (a little words in french helps a lot), the breakfast was excelent. The rooms are very big and confortable. We didn't had dinner in the restaurants, used de service room, which was very good and fast. The price is expensive, but Paris is not a cheap place. When I come back to Paris (I hope soon), this hotel will be a place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Scribe Paris.

We were very happy to read your lovely words, and glad to know you had a nice stay with us.
However you mention that the service is not the best because we are a "huge hotel", we would be more than happy to discuss together, if you could contact us on h0663-dm2@sofitel.com ,to help us understand what were our lacking points.
At the Hotel Scribe Paris, we strive to go beyond our guests expectations, and we do our best to give an experience to remember to each and every guest.
We are thrilled to read that you would not hesitate to come back to the hotel.

Thank you again for your review, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in a near future.

With warm regards,

Béatrice Schopflin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
172 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

well in paris you got cheap hotels where you knock your head on the ceiling and fall of your bed, you have to pay to be in a decent place, rooms are fine, large, clean but the staff is a bit aloof, not noisy even with an heavy traffic, very good position next to everything

Room Tip: high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Scribe Paris and that the room was to your convenience.
However we are very sad to read that you found our ambassadors a bit distant and we are terribly sorry about that. We usually deliver a very good level of service and we strive to do better every day. Also your comment is very precious to us.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a near future.

With warm regards,

Béatrice Schopflin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel

Address: 1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Paris
#94 Family Hotel in Paris
#95 Business Hotel in Paris
#129 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#191 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A long tradition of excellence in the art of living awaits you in this grand 19th-century building. An emblem of Parisian life, Hotel Scribe Paris was originally the home of the very aristocratic Jockey Club. It became a hotel of legend, a stage of modernity on which the cinema was born, a favourite place of artists and celebrities. The Scribe keeps that legacy alive today. In its elegant rooms and suites, its public and reception areas, new generations of personalities are even now adding chapters to the hotel's history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris
Hotel Scribe Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.