We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great in so many ways” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel to your Saves list
Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France (Opera / Bourse)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #211 of 1,774 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“great in so many ways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

great location. nice staff. great breakfast included in price made to order eggs and a large buffet. fresh water in room provided. location allowed us to walk everywhere. wife loved the bed and may buy the sheets for our home. Only little thing is that it was a bit hard to get into shower as the tub was pretty high. but we would definitely go back and stay again - hope we have the opportunity. booked through hotwire so price was good but would have been fine paying normal rates

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to learn that you overall enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Scribe Paris.
Thank you for your comment about the bathtub, it is always good to have this kind of feedback to improve our level of service and amenities. We are terribly sorry you found it difficult to get in, just for your information we also have rooms with showers. Do not hesitate to ask for it for further reservation, to avoid this kind of inconvenience during your next stay.

As regard to the rate, we kindly inform you that we apply an online parity policy, so the rates and conditions are always interesting on both sides. Do not hesitate to contact us directly for further reservation if needed.

We certainly hope to welcome you back again very soon at the Hotel Scribe Paris.

Yours sincerely,

Béatrice Schopflin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    432
    117
    41
    22
See reviews for
275
609
81
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Itapiranga-SC
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed 4 nights, in may. The location is great, near everything. If the weather is good, you can walk almost everywhere in Paris. There're bus, sub and RER stops near the hotel. The hotel is huge, so the service is not the best, but it's ok. The staff was very nice with us (a little words in french helps a lot), the breakfast was excelent. The rooms are very big and confortable. We didn't had dinner in the restaurants, used de service room, which was very good and fast. The price is expensive, but Paris is not a cheap place. When I come back to Paris (I hope soon), this hotel will be a place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Scribe Paris.

We were very happy to read your lovely words, and glad to know you had a nice stay with us.
However you mention that the service is not the best because we are a "huge hotel", we would be more than happy to discuss together, if you could contact us on h0663-dm2@sofitel.com ,to help us understand what were our lacking points.
At the Hotel Scribe Paris, we strive to go beyond our guests expectations, and we do our best to give an experience to remember to each and every guest.
We are thrilled to read that you would not hesitate to come back to the hotel.

Thank you again for your review, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in a near future.

With warm regards,

Béatrice Schopflin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

well in paris you got cheap hotels where you knock your head on the ceiling and fall of your bed, you have to pay to be in a decent place, rooms are fine, large, clean but the staff is a bit aloof, not noisy even with an heavy traffic, very good position next to everything

Room Tip: high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Scribe Paris and that the room was to your convenience.
However we are very sad to read that you found our ambassadors a bit distant and we are terribly sorry about that. We usually deliver a very good level of service and we strive to do better every day. Also your comment is very precious to us.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a near future.

With warm regards,

Béatrice Schopflin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The Scribe gives you that real feel of luxury from the minute you park. Everything is very beautiful and though only having booked a superior room, this was actually rather large. The location is spot on, close to everything you would want to see when visiting Paris. The downside is obviously that luxury does not come for free.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is really important to us to get your feedback and we appreciate to know that your room was to your convenience. Also, it is true that the Hotel Scribe Paris is very well located, close to many touristic sites and shops.
Thank you again for your lovely review, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in a near future.

With Warm Regards

Béatrice Schopflin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great location in Opera district but within walking distance of most attractions. Food and ambience of hotel was good with nice comfortable lounges in foyer. A easy walk to the open top bus stop which is a great way to get an overview of this charming city.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front of the hotel are quieter but have limited views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Scribe Paris.
We are glad to read that you appreciated the location of the hotel also as the atmosphere of our property. The soul of the Hotel Scribe Paris is the fruit of many years of work and dedication to this very special place. It is a great reward then to read this kind of comment from our guests!

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.


Best Regards,

Beatrice Schopflin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We originally got booked at what was supposed to be a 4-star hotel right around the corner from the Scribe and it was terrible. The AC didn't work, it smelled like smoke, and the bathroom had terrible yellow buzzing lights.

I couldn't get in touch with our agent or the booking company, so I literally walked around frantically looking for any hotel that looked half-way decent. The Scribe was my saving grace. I saw the beautiful hotel around the corner and went in and asked for a room. They were very accommodating. The room had a great view and a great bathroom. We loved the spa as well as the other hotel amenities. The breakfast as well as all other dining options at the hotel were very good... a true 5-star establishment.

Lastly, the hotel is in a great spot with plenty of great restaurants and attractions close by. I will plan to stay at the scribe next time I head back to Paris as this was one of the better hotels I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.
We are very pleased to read that you overall appreciated your stay at the hotel Scribe Paris.
It is really nice to know that you were attracted by the hotel while walking around looking for a place to stay!
We would like to thank you for your kind comment about the hotel amenities and are glad to read that you are planning on coming back for your next visit to our beautiful city.

We certainly hope to welcome you back again very soon at the Hotel Scribe Paris.

With Warm Regards,

Béatrice Schopflin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sndy Springs
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

If you like history, desire a stellar location, enjoy lavish architecture topped with class service and a touch of romance.....this may be the place for you! Easy access from Orly airport we arrived at the hotel in the evening -- real candles gracing the entryway along and excellent bellmen who quickly brought our luggage to our room while we had an excellent dinner at the on-site restaurant (rated 4.6) Google Reviews. In addition to an excellent meal, the wine list was exceptional (ordered a wonderful bottle of Sancerre). Upon entering our room we were delighted by the Bose system playing beautiful symphonic classical music/opera. We loved the high ceiling in the room and the ability to swing open the double windows overlooking the picturesque courtyard swathed in red light, window boxes and total silence outside. The location was excellent. We walked to brassieres, high end stores, flower and wine vendors as well as easy access to public (as well as on-site private) pick-up to visit everything from the Eiffel Tower to the Palace of Versailles, Moulin Rouge and more. We stayed for 4 nights, during which time the Prime Minister of France, Manuel Valls arrived for a meeting at the hotel. The consierge was fluent in English and arranged the best of everything --- from reservations at the best restaurants to getting last minute tickets at the Opéra Bastille led by conductor Philippe Jordan. A note to the ladies..... if you want to get your hair done the hotel is close to international salons. Note: skip Jacques Dessange (hard sell on products and rates dependent upon their assessment of your ability to pay). Very special thanks to the hotel for re-chilling our $350 wine from Maxims upon our departure back to Atlanta, GA. Wonderful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive comment on Trip Advisor after your stay at the Hotel Scribe Paris.

We are pleased to read that you fully enjoyed your stay and we will pass your kind comments along to our team. It is always really nice to read such a positive review!

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel Scribe the next time you visit Paris.

Kind regards,

Béatrice Schopflin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel

Address: 1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Paris
#89 Business Hotel in Paris
#94 Family Hotel in Paris
#118 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#174 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A long tradition of excellence in the art of living awaits you in this grand 19th-century building. An emblem of Parisian life, Hotel Scribe Paris was originally the home of the very aristocratic Jockey Club. It became a hotel of legend, a stage of modernity on which the cinema was born, a favourite place of artists and celebrities. The Scribe keeps that legacy alive today. In its elegant rooms and suites, its public and reception areas, new generations of personalities are even now adding chapters to the hotel's history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Splendia and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris
Hotel Scribe Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.