We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel to your Saves list
Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #207 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pure luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The Scribe gives you that real feel of luxury from the minute you park. Everything is very beautiful and though only having booked a superior room, this was actually rather large. The location is spot on, close to everything you would want to see when visiting Paris. The downside is obviously that luxury does not come for free.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is really important to us to get your feedback and we appreciate to know that your room was to your convenience. Also, it is true that the Hotel Scribe Paris is very well located, close to many touristic sites and shops.
Thank you again for your lovely review, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in a near future.

With Warm Regards

Béatrice Schopflin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    380
    102
    37
    21
See reviews for
233
529
73
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great location in Opera district but within walking distance of most attractions. Food and ambience of hotel was good with nice comfortable lounges in foyer. A easy walk to the open top bus stop which is a great way to get an overview of this charming city.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front of the hotel are quieter but have limited views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Scribe Paris.
We are glad to read that you appreciated the location of the hotel also as the atmosphere of our property. The soul of the Hotel Scribe Paris is the fruit of many years of work and dedication to this very special place. It is a great reward then to read this kind of comment from our guests!

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.


Best Regards,

Beatrice Schopflin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We originally got booked at what was supposed to be a 4-star hotel right around the corner from the Scribe and it was terrible. The AC didn't work, it smelled like smoke, and the bathroom had terrible yellow buzzing lights.

I couldn't get in touch with our agent or the booking company, so I literally walked around frantically looking for any hotel that looked half-way decent. The Scribe was my saving grace. I saw the beautiful hotel around the corner and went in and asked for a room. They were very accommodating. The room had a great view and a great bathroom. We loved the spa as well as the other hotel amenities. The breakfast as well as all other dining options at the hotel were very good... a true 5-star establishment.

Lastly, the hotel is in a great spot with plenty of great restaurants and attractions close by. I will plan to stay at the scribe next time I head back to Paris as this was one of the better hotels I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.
We are very pleased to read that you overall appreciated your stay at the hotel Scribe Paris.
It is really nice to know that you were attracted by the hotel while walking around looking for a place to stay!
We would like to thank you for your kind comment about the hotel amenities and are glad to read that you are planning on coming back for your next visit to our beautiful city.

We certainly hope to welcome you back again very soon at the Hotel Scribe Paris.

With Warm Regards,

Béatrice Schopflin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sndy Springs
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

If you like history, desire a stellar location, enjoy lavish architecture topped with class service and a touch of romance.....this may be the place for you! Easy access from Orly airport we arrived at the hotel in the evening -- real candles gracing the entryway along and excellent bellmen who quickly brought our luggage to our room while we had an excellent dinner at the on-site restaurant (rated 4.6) Google Reviews. In addition to an excellent meal, the wine list was exceptional (ordered a wonderful bottle of Sancerre). Upon entering our room we were delighted by the Bose system playing beautiful symphonic classical music/opera. We loved the high ceiling in the room and the ability to swing open the double windows overlooking the picturesque courtyard swathed in red light, window boxes and total silence outside. The location was excellent. We walked to brassieres, high end stores, flower and wine vendors as well as easy access to public (as well as on-site private) pick-up to visit everything from the Eiffel Tower to the Palace of Versailles, Moulin Rouge and more. We stayed for 4 nights, during which time the Prime Minister of France, Manuel Valls arrived for a meeting at the hotel. The consierge was fluent in English and arranged the best of everything --- from reservations at the best restaurants to getting last minute tickets at the Opéra Bastille led by conductor Philippe Jordan. A note to the ladies..... if you want to get your hair done the hotel is close to international salons. Note: skip Jacques Dessange (hard sell on products and rates dependent upon their assessment of your ability to pay). Very special thanks to the hotel for re-chilling our $350 wine from Maxims upon our departure back to Atlanta, GA. Wonderful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive comment on Trip Advisor after your stay at the Hotel Scribe Paris.

We are pleased to read that you fully enjoyed your stay and we will pass your kind comments along to our team. It is always really nice to read such a positive review!

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel Scribe the next time you visit Paris.

Kind regards,

Béatrice Schopflin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I've been to Paris many times and have always stayed in different 4 and 5 star hotels. So far, none has truly impressed me until Hotel Scribe Paris. Located in one of my favorite areas in Opera Paris, this 5 star hotel is sized just about right, not too small like a boutique hotel and not too big and commercial. The amount of attention each staff gave to us has made our stay in Paris much more comfortable and happy. The rooms are good sized and have plenty of luggage space. There is also a spa with steam, jacuzzi and a fitness center all guests can use, this is especially nice after a full day of walking in Paris or a day's worth of work.

Love this hotel!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review on Trip Advisor.

We are deeply touched to read that you consider the Hotel Scribe Paris as your favourite hotel in Paris.
We are happy to learn you appreciated the professionnalism and kindness of our Ambassadors such as the comfort and location of the hotel.

We certainly hope to welcome you back again very soon at the Hotel Scribe Paris.

Yours sincerely,

Béatrice Schopflin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed here as it is advertised as a Sofitel managed hotel. Very true, but it is not a Sofitel Hotel, so Accor Club members should not expect the advantages of Accor membership. When we booked into a club room we expected a club lounge but this was not so. We had a minibar where all soft drinks were free, but nothing alcoholic and not the nibbles. We did get free bottles of water most days and the toiletries, towels etc were top notch.
A sign in the room indicated that tea, coffee etc would be replaced if you contacted housekeeping, which we did when necessary plus we asked for a jug of milk as we did not like the sachets of Lait concentre supplied ( 2 at a time ). We certainly did not expect to be charged 5 euros for the milk. Even the smallest motels in Australia provide fresh milk free of charge. Some days dirty mugs were washed, other days they were not washed. Some days tea and coffee were replaced without us asking, some days they were not replaced.
Our room was of acceptable size, with refurbished bathroom and toilet which were excellent, except that a person with physical disabilities would have trouble using either the bath or shower ( which is over the bath ) due to the height of the bath. The bed was excellent and sheets etc were changed every day! Lovely big fluffy towels and limitless hot water.
Having said all that, without a doubt, the best thing about this hotel is the staff. With one notable exception, all staff we had dealings with we're polite, friendly and professional. This is especially so for the staff at concierge - top marks.
Meals in the hotel restaurants were universally excellent.
Would I stay there again? No, there are other good hotels in Paris without the taint of misrepresentation and where club room means club lounge.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

We are saddened that some aspects of your stay did not live up to your expectations, especially as we strive to offer to our guests a "Magnifique" Parisian experience.

We understand that you were disappointed with the category of room you booked.
Here at the Hotel Scribe, we do not have a Club lounge.
For a club room we mean a spacious room (28 to 37m2), bathtub and shower, free soft drinks from the mini-bar (replenished once a day), early check-in and/or late check-out (depending on availibilities) and newspapers in the room as we describe it on our website.
We of course accept the Le Club loyalty card as we are Sofitel so you can enjoy all the advantages of the Accor Membership Program.

Please accept our sincerest apologies as regard to the mugs that were not replaced every day in your room as it should have been. That doesn't reflect the level of service we are used to deliver to our guests.

Also we would like to thank you for pointing out the professionalism of our Ambassadors as they strive to make our guest's stay memorable.

We do hope to welcome you back in the future althought you are not convinced to come back, we would like to have the opportunity to satisfy you better.
Please do not hesitate to contact us at h0663-dm2@sofitel.com should you wish to discuss further.

Best Regards,

Béatrice Schopflin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I visited Scribe last year after a long break of not visiting Paris. It is still a magical hotel in a great position and was as good as it ever was when I visited with my wife some twenty years ago. Staff very friendly, position great, rooms super. We always stay there when in Paris. Rooms, restaurant and service are all 'plus grande'. It has a magical stmosphere.

Room Tip: Try not to limit your spend when staying and ask for a room overlooking Rue Scribe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice S, Directeur général at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Sir,


We would like to thank you for posting such a lovely comment on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Scribe Paris like it was the case twenty years ago.
We always strive to give everlasting moments to all our guests and it is a pleasure to know you felt that the Scribe Hotel has a magical atmosphere.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.


Best Regards,

Beatrice Schopflin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel

Address: 1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Paris
#73 Family Hotel in Paris
#106 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#110 Business Hotel in Paris
#146 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A long tradition of excellence in the art of living awaits you in this grand 19th-century building. An emblem of Parisian life, Hotel Scribe Paris was originally the home of the very aristocratic Jockey Club. It became a hotel of legend, a stage of modernity on which the cinema was born, a favourite place of artists and celebrities. The Scribe keeps that legacy alive today. In its elegant rooms and suites, its public and reception areas, new generations of personalities are even now adding chapters to the hotel's history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris
Hotel Scribe Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.