We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best (but also one of the most expensive) Paris Hotels I stayed so far..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel to your Saves list
Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France (Opera / Bourse)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #218 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“One of the best (but also one of the most expensive) Paris Hotels I stayed so far..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

this has been one of the best Paris hotels I stayed so far. However, I think the price was also expensive (EUro 500plus) so if you do not mind the price, you will not end up being disappointed.

On another hand, I have also stayed in very close hotels that were 1/4 of the price of this one and the quality difference was not 4 times.

All in all, this is a nice hotel, but perhaps if you are willing to pay more than Euro500plus, then there could be other nice ones too. I can, the very least say that this one will not disappoint you, if you do not mind the price.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadjet B, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear guest,

Merci for writing a review about your stay at the Hotel Scribe Paris.

I am delighted to read you think of our establishment as one of the best in Paris.
The high rates are due to the extremely busy season; many fairs, exhibitions, shows and so on take place in Paris over the fall period.

Whenever you plan another trip to Paris, please feel free to contact us the earliest so we can provide you with competitive rates.

Sincerely,

Nadjet Bennaceur
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    436
    122
    42
    22
See reviews for
284
624
82
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Lovely rooms and very pleasant concierge's on staff..Everyone was so helpful and took care of our every need..I would highly recommend Hotel Scribe..Excellent location and attentive to detail to make one's stay with them an experience worth repeating..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

stayed 1 night, after arrival at hotel / room, found some itrms wanting. 1. direction at floor level was wrong, sign pointed right when room was actually on the left side. 2. showerhead was damaged and affected the water pressure, extremely frustrating. 3. shower area not built logically, water splashes as shower is combined with bathtub. 4. tv remote was missing.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at the Scribe as part of a Horse Racing Abroad package to the Arc de Triomphe horse race. It is an attractive hotel in a great location, near Charles Garnier's magnificent and overblown Opera house.
On arrival in our room we were dismayed. We had booked a room with twin beds and our room had a big double bed. The remote for the tv did not work. These glitches however were fixed promptly.
Coffee at breakast was dire - cold, stewed and virtually undrinkable. The staff were inattentive and I had to wave my arms around to attract attention to be served with a hot drink when my friend joined me.
We had no extras, I did not even see a mini bar, but the following week my credit card bill came in and I had been charged 59 euros. Apparently we had downed this much booze. No one had given me a bill before we left, when of course I would have been able to dispute it, and we did not leave the hotel until one pm, having checked out and given them our luggage for safe keeping at around 9.45pm.
Of course I am in dispute with them and expect my 59 euros to be refunded but it is irritating and time wasting and very sloppy of them not to have given me a bill before I left if they thought I owed them money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were very happy with our choice of the Scribe which was one of the several hotels offered through Costco. The service was excellent, fast and friendly. The room may have been small by U.S. standards but was very comfortable, well-appointed and with nice amenities, and quiet. We had a Luxury Room. Connection to wi-fi was easy. The mattress was good and didn't aggrevate a bad back. The location was good with restauarants nearby. The Louvre was a pleasant 15 minute walk, and a similar walk to the tour bus location on Rue des Pyramides. The main stop for the Hop on/Hop off bus was a few blocks away. The breakfast buffet service was personal and outstanding. The hotel is an older, which charm and character. We would recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: Our room on first floor facing the interior courtyard was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Well received on arrival. Porters and baggage men very helpful.
Had requested rooms on same floor which confirmed by phone. Corrective action needed to be taken but carried out elegantly and without fuss.
Good barman. Dinner satisfactory. Service and attitude professional and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel

Address: 1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Family Hotel in Paris
#93 Business Hotel in Paris
#123 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#188 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A long tradition of excellence in the art of living awaits you in this grand 19th-century building. An emblem of Parisian life, Hotel Scribe Paris was originally the home of the very aristocratic Jockey Club. It became a hotel of legend, a stage of modernity on which the cinema was born, a favourite place of artists and celebrities. The Scribe keeps that legacy alive today. In its elegant rooms and suites, its public and reception areas, new generations of personalities are even now adding chapters to the hotel's history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris
Hotel Scribe Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.