We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic items somewhat lacking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel to your Saves list
Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #210 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“basic items somewhat lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

stayed 1 night, after arrival at hotel / room, found some itrms wanting. 1. direction at floor level was wrong, sign pointed right when room was actually on the left side. 2. showerhead was damaged and affected the water pressure, extremely frustrating. 3. shower area not built logically, water splashes as shower is combined with bathtub. 4. tv remote was missing.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    385
    104
    38
    21
See reviews for
238
536
74
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisley
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at the Scribe as part of a Horse Racing Abroad package to the Arc de Triomphe horse race. It is an attractive hotel in a great location, near Charles Garnier's magnificent and overblown Opera house.
On arrival in our room we were dismayed. We had booked a room with twin beds and our room had a big double bed. The remote for the tv did not work. These glitches however were fixed promptly.
Coffee at breakast was dire - cold, stewed and virtually undrinkable. The staff were inattentive and I had to wave my arms around to attract attention to be served with a hot drink when my friend joined me.
We had no extras, I did not even see a mini bar, but the following week my credit card bill came in and I had been charged 59 euros. Apparently we had downed this much booze. No one had given me a bill before we left, when of course I would have been able to dispute it, and we did not leave the hotel until one pm, having checked out and given them our luggage for safe keeping at around 9.45pm.
Of course I am in dispute with them and expect my 59 euros to be refunded but it is irritating and time wasting and very sloppy of them not to have given me a bill before I left if they thought I owed them money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were very happy with our choice of the Scribe which was one of the several hotels offered through Costco. The service was excellent, fast and friendly. The room may have been small by U.S. standards but was very comfortable, well-appointed and with nice amenities, and quiet. We had a Luxury Room. Connection to wi-fi was easy. The mattress was good and didn't aggrevate a bad back. The location was good with restauarants nearby. The Louvre was a pleasant 15 minute walk, and a similar walk to the tour bus location on Rue des Pyramides. The main stop for the Hop on/Hop off bus was a few blocks away. The breakfast buffet service was personal and outstanding. The hotel is an older, which charm and character. We would recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: Our room on first floor facing the interior courtyard was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Well received on arrival. Porters and baggage men very helpful.
Had requested rooms on same floor which confirmed by phone. Corrective action needed to be taken but carried out elegantly and without fuss.
Good barman. Dinner satisfactory. Service and attitude professional and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I am definitely not a Sofitel fan due to the inconsistency and lack of imagination that this brand is showing. But.. this is something else. Called simply Hotel Scribe as the street address and obviously omitting the Sofitel from the main title( most probably for the reasons above) this is a true good boutique hotel in the heart of the city.
Perfect location, good room size ( in Paris) , attentive service. Value for money!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadjet B, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear valued guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers.

We are delighted that you have found our hotel to your taste and have enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Scribe Paris.
Due to its extensive historical participation in numerous events, we do the utmost to keep the story alive and therefore offer a unique experience to our clients.
As you mentioned, getting around Paris has never been so easy thanks to the central location of the Hotel Scribe Paris. Be it for shopping, sightseeing or traveling to other cities in France or Europe, our property is surrounded by High-End stores, train and metro stations, museums and so on.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you again into the Hotel Scribe Paris.

Warm wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Its a good hotel for a weekend. You can get to so many of the sights in Paris,on foot and for me that is the best way to do it. The hotel is fine although I did find the bed didn't suit my back. It is typical I think of old style French beds with fluffy down filled mattress cover, duvet and pillows. After one sleepless night I found they had a pillow ordering service .... but the pillow I wanted wasn't available! I ended up using two folded towels and that was fine for me. Otherwise, yes the service at breakfast was a bit slow but the food was lovely.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is always a great pleasure to read some feedback from our clients, as it gives us the opportunity to improve our level of service everyday. Indeed, the location is perfect as you said, you can go everywhere by foot really easily and it is a real pleasure to walk around in the area any time. The Opera is a fabulous building and the famous rue de la Paix shows luxurious and prestigious store fronts. However, we are sorry to read that you did not appreciate our Sofitel "MyBed". "MyBed" is our brand concept which consists in two mattresses one upon the other for a better comfort., a sensation of both firmness and softness. Pillows and duvet are made of feather, or synthetic in case of allergies.
You were not able to choose your pillow when you came and we are terribly sorry for this inconvenience. You can be sure that we will do our best to avoid this kind of material problems in the future.
We hope that you will give us the opportunity next time to show you the real Sofitel comfort at night !
Best regards,
Audrey Laroque
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel

Address: 1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Paris
#92 Family Hotel in Paris
#108 Business Hotel in Paris
#110 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#152 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A long tradition of excellence in the art of living awaits you in this grand 19th-century building. An emblem of Parisian life, Hotel Scribe Paris was originally the home of the very aristocratic Jockey Club. It became a hotel of legend, a stage of modernity on which the cinema was born, a favourite place of artists and celebrities. The Scribe keeps that legacy alive today. In its elegant rooms and suites, its public and reception areas, new generations of personalities are even now adding chapters to the hotel's history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris
Hotel Scribe Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.