We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Scribe was great for visiting Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel to your Saves list
Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #207 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Laguna Hills, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hotel Scribe was great for visiting Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were very happy with our choice of the Scribe which was one of the several hotels offered through Costco. The service was excellent, fast and friendly. The room may have been small by U.S. standards but was very comfortable, well-appointed and with nice amenities, and quiet. We had a Luxury Room. Connection to wi-fi was easy. The mattress was good and didn't aggrevate a bad back. The location was good with restauarants nearby. The Louvre was a pleasant 15 minute walk, and a similar walk to the tour bus location on Rue des Pyramides. The main stop for the Hop on/Hop off bus was a few blocks away. The breakfast buffet service was personal and outstanding. The hotel is an older, which charm and character. We would recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: Our room on first floor facing the interior courtyard was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    380
    102
    37
    21
See reviews for
233
529
73
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreux, Switzerland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Well received on arrival. Porters and baggage men very helpful.
Had requested rooms on same floor which confirmed by phone. Corrective action needed to be taken but carried out elegantly and without fuss.
Good barman. Dinner satisfactory. Service and attitude professional and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I am definitely not a Sofitel fan due to the inconsistency and lack of imagination that this brand is showing. But.. this is something else. Called simply Hotel Scribe as the street address and obviously omitting the Sofitel from the main title( most probably for the reasons above) this is a true good boutique hotel in the heart of the city.
Perfect location, good room size ( in Paris) , attentive service. Value for money!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadjet B, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear valued guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers.

We are delighted that you have found our hotel to your taste and have enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Scribe Paris.
Due to its extensive historical participation in numerous events, we do the utmost to keep the story alive and therefore offer a unique experience to our clients.
As you mentioned, getting around Paris has never been so easy thanks to the central location of the Hotel Scribe Paris. Be it for shopping, sightseeing or traveling to other cities in France or Europe, our property is surrounded by High-End stores, train and metro stations, museums and so on.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you again into the Hotel Scribe Paris.

Warm wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Its a good hotel for a weekend. You can get to so many of the sights in Paris,on foot and for me that is the best way to do it. The hotel is fine although I did find the bed didn't suit my back. It is typical I think of old style French beds with fluffy down filled mattress cover, duvet and pillows. After one sleepless night I found they had a pillow ordering service .... but the pillow I wanted wasn't available! I ended up using two folded towels and that was fine for me. Otherwise, yes the service at breakfast was a bit slow but the food was lovely.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is always a great pleasure to read some feedback from our clients, as it gives us the opportunity to improve our level of service everyday. Indeed, the location is perfect as you said, you can go everywhere by foot really easily and it is a real pleasure to walk around in the area any time. The Opera is a fabulous building and the famous rue de la Paix shows luxurious and prestigious store fronts. However, we are sorry to read that you did not appreciate our Sofitel "MyBed". "MyBed" is our brand concept which consists in two mattresses one upon the other for a better comfort., a sensation of both firmness and softness. Pillows and duvet are made of feather, or synthetic in case of allergies.
You were not able to choose your pillow when you came and we are terribly sorry for this inconvenience. You can be sure that we will do our best to avoid this kind of material problems in the future.
We hope that you will give us the opportunity next time to show you the real Sofitel comfort at night !
Best regards,
Audrey Laroque
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonderange, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This time we we're there in Paris at the SCRIBER without the kid's, the room on the last floor gave us a look over Paris, in the morning, Breakfast buffet was huge and appealing, the staff friendly and helpful, it will become our home base for visiting Paris

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your laudatory comments. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us. Indeed, on the top floor, the view is amazing ! Everyday we try our best to guarantee our guest a great stay by giving them a nice room, personalized and warm service, and it is a real pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay so much.
Again, thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers.
Best Regards,
Audrey Laroque
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Le Scribe is extremely well situated and close to lots of interesting sights. The room was larger than your standard European room. Old world charm with high ceilings. However, the mattress was lumpy ( the bedding was nice). The service was lousy. Breakfast was included and the "podium" girl was more concerned that I had proof of payment than ensuring that I had food. After 10 minutes of sitting at my table, I wasn't given coffee, a fork or a glass. Zero. Nothing. The food was a buffet. Nothing great but for 35 euros (nearly $45) you expect something. I expect more for 650 euros a night. My company booked me for 2 nights. Again, convenient location and some architectural charm but horrific service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Madam,
It is always a pleasure to read from our guests, however I am disappointed to read that you did not experience a real Five Star Service at breakfast. Be sure that this is not the kind of service we intend to deliver and we will make sure that this kind of treatment will not happen again. Comments such as yours really heps us to improve our standards of service, so thank you for sharing your opinion. We hope to see you again next time you come to Paris. Try breakfast again, and you can be sure you will find it to be the best one in Paris !
Best Regards,
Audrey Laroque
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel

Address: 1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Paris
#73 Family Hotel in Paris
#106 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#110 Business Hotel in Paris
#146 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A long tradition of excellence in the art of living awaits you in this grand 19th-century building. An emblem of Parisian life, Hotel Scribe Paris was originally the home of the very aristocratic Jockey Club. It became a hotel of legend, a stage of modernity on which the cinema was born, a favourite place of artists and celebrities. The Scribe keeps that legacy alive today. In its elegant rooms and suites, its public and reception areas, new generations of personalities are even now adding chapters to the hotel's history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris
Hotel Scribe Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.