We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not on par with other 5 stars in Paris” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not on par with other 5 stars in Paris”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I travel to Paris very often for work and stay in a good number of hotels across the city. Given its price point the Scribe is just not quite on par with other 5-stars in terms of the quality of furnishing, overall look, efficiency of reception desk, etc. I managed to leave a make up bag (the women reading would know this is no small financial loss!) in the room but called the evening of checking out- I was told that they would look into it and ring immediately. I never heard back and had a friend call on my behalf the next day.

This time the management did ring back and apologise - he seemed quite professional but I have to say I didn't think any of the staff I came across before that were. Considering the cost of staying at Le Scribe it is hard to recommend to others.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank your for sharing your thoughts with TripAdvisor members.
I would like to offer my apologies for the miscommunication you have experienced. You have the right to expect actions when you contact us. I will ensure your comments are passed on to our staff members for corrective actions.
I sincerely hope you will give us a chance to rectify your first impression and create a more enjoyable memory on your next trip to Paris.
Best regards,
Nadjet B. Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    356
    94
    34
    20
See reviews for
224
493
67
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Traditional building where the Lumière brothers performed their first shows. pros : excellent location at a stone throw to Madeleine square and its famous food delicatessen (Hediard and Fauchon) or to the opera and of course to the large traditional Lafayette and Printemps stores. Good quality breakfast served by friendly multi lingual staff. Weaknesses : small size bedrooms (unfortunately it is quite often the case in Paris !!) and high price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Had a wonderful stay, drove from London and the Valet driver on arrival could not have been more helpful. Reception was a little slow but OK. Room was excellent in size and wifi was free fast and efficient. Only problem would be the outside floodlights intrude into the room still when curtains are drawn. Excellent position for shopping, walking distance to Printemp, Lafayette, Haussmann etc. Great shop next door for artwork 'Talents' showcase for young French designers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here on business for a few days. Good, central location. Rooms small but (newish) high quality fittings and everything you might need. Room service food was very good. Overall service also friendly and not snooty. My only issues are that it's not that cheap; and despite being in a classic old building, the inside is a bit characterless. However, better than the Westin Vendome Paris I stayed in last year which is similarly priced (see earlier review).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

One of the best positions for a hotel in paris, employees friendly but not very flexible at the reception, concierge team well organized, chef of the orchestra Mr Louis Sirot- Guest relation manager- who is very well trained and ready to help and find solutions.
When the reception employees have to deal with more clients as usual - they lose their control - something that happened upon our departure.
The tea shop at the entrance of the hotel may increase it's working hours as it is the best spot of the hotel. The fact is that we will choose again our hotel for our next visit ti Paris.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Went here for our "mini moon". Fantastic location, room was small, but we spent most time visiting locations - so that didn't matter.

It's not far from many famous locations - 15 min walk to Louvre. Metro station is 2 min walk which takes you around the city!!

Would recommend restaurant in the Opera.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auriane G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear guest,

I am so happy you enjoyed your "Mini Moon" with us, I will share these nices comments with our team!

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon in Paris,
With my best regards,

Auriane Galzin
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel could not be better situated; it is walking distance to everything. It is charming, though the rooms are very small. It is clean and luxurious. The bedding is sumptuous. The staff is welcoming and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auriane G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you very much for these Magnifique comments. I am happy you had wonderful dreams with our "My Bed"!

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon at the hotel Scribe Paris.
With my best regards,

Auriane Galzin
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel

Address: 1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Paris
#90 Family Hotel in Paris
#104 Business Hotel in Paris
#104 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#153 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A long tradition of excellence in the art of living awaits you in this grand 19th-century building. An emblem of Parisian life, Hotel Scribe Paris was originally the home of the very aristocratic Jockey Club. It became a hotel of legend, a stage of modernity on which the cinema was born, a favourite place of artists and celebrities. The Scribe keeps that legacy alive today. In its elegant rooms and suites, its public and reception areas, new generations of personalities are even now adding chapters to the hotel's history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris
Hotel Scribe Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;