We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shopping” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #208 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Had a wonderful stay, drove from London and the Valet driver on arrival could not have been more helpful. Reception was a little slow but OK. Room was excellent in size and wifi was free fast and efficient. Only problem would be the outside floodlights intrude into the room still when curtains are drawn. Excellent position for shopping, walking distance to Printemp, Lafayette, Haussmann etc. Great shop next door for artwork 'Talents' showcase for young French designers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    559
    350
    92
    34
    20
See reviews for
222
488
65
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here on business for a few days. Good, central location. Rooms small but (newish) high quality fittings and everything you might need. Room service food was very good. Overall service also friendly and not snooty. My only issues are that it's not that cheap; and despite being in a classic old building, the inside is a bit characterless. However, better than the Westin Vendome Paris I stayed in last year which is similarly priced (see earlier review).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

One of the best positions for a hotel in paris, employees friendly but not very flexible at the reception, concierge team well organized, chef of the orchestra Mr Louis Sirot- Guest relation manager- who is very well trained and ready to help and find solutions.
When the reception employees have to deal with more clients as usual - they lose their control - something that happened upon our departure.
The tea shop at the entrance of the hotel may increase it's working hours as it is the best spot of the hotel. The fact is that we will choose again our hotel for our next visit ti Paris.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Went here for our "mini moon". Fantastic location, room was small, but we spent most time visiting locations - so that didn't matter.

It's not far from many famous locations - 15 min walk to Louvre. Metro station is 2 min walk which takes you around the city!!

Would recommend restaurant in the Opera.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auriane G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear guest,

I am so happy you enjoyed your "Mini Moon" with us, I will share these nices comments with our team!

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon in Paris,
With my best regards,

Auriane Galzin
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel could not be better situated; it is walking distance to everything. It is charming, though the rooms are very small. It is clean and luxurious. The bedding is sumptuous. The staff is welcoming and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auriane G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you very much for these Magnifique comments. I am happy you had wonderful dreams with our "My Bed"!

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon at the hotel Scribe Paris.
With my best regards,

Auriane Galzin
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was our third trip to Paris and third stay at Hotel Scribe. We really like the location and in the past, the staff has been great. This time around, our stay was still good, but not as great as we remembered. We had to ask for an upgrade - since it was our third stay, we thought they would do something......but we had to ask. In the end, Some small things were overlooked like turn down service for the duration of our stay and we had a lot of issues with the free wifi. The one concierge who usually works in the evening, directed us to two terrible restaurants and funny enough, when we were returning one evening after walking out of one of the restaurants (au petit riche), there was another couple complaining to her about the restaurant she sent them to. In the past, the gym worked well, maybe they weren't as busy but this time, we would have to wait to use things - the last thing you want to do when in Paris. We also found that the state of the rooms were looking a bit tired and needed some fresh paint etc. We didn't make the time to complain to the manager until we were checking out. She was very open and receptive to what we had to say and handled our complaints very well. We may go back - we'll see what we decide because we also rented an apartment at the beginning of our trip, which we also really enjoyed and it is much more cost effective :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auriane G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for your review, I appreciate your taking the time to share your feedback with us.
I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations this time. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with the free wifi, our concierge service and with the gym.

I would be more than pleased to offer you a VIP treatment for your next stay in Paris, please feel free to contact me directly prior to your arrival in Paris.

Yours sincerely,

Auriane Galzin
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

just back from a 4 days stay in Paris . After a first perfect stay in 2012 , during which the general manager gave us a very nice upgrading we returned to this hotel ideally located next to Opera , café de Paris and Olympia , and were not disappointed , although room prices seeemed us to be relatively high.
excellent service especially by concierges, luggage porter and reception , less in bar-restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auriane G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback which we are delighted to read.
I will share your nice comments with all our team !

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon,
Yours Sincerely,

Auriane Galzin
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel

Address: 1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Paris
#79 Family Hotel in Paris
#105 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#130 Business Hotel in Paris
#155 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A long tradition of excellence in the art of living awaits you in this grand 19th-century building. An emblem of Parisian life, Hotel Scribe Paris was originally the home of the very aristocratic Jockey Club. It became a hotel of legend, a stage of modernity on which the cinema was born, a favourite place of artists and celebrities. The Scribe keeps that legacy alive today. In its elegant rooms and suites, its public and reception areas, new generations of personalities are even now adding chapters to the hotel's history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, ACCOR, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris
Hotel Scribe Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.