We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel in the Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #206 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel in the Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Hotel Scribe is in the ideal location for a quick vacation in Paris. It's steps from the opera and a few blocks from the Louvre. While the location is the hotel's best feature I can say the hotel itself is beautiful and very well maintained with a good bar/restaurant. The staff was cordial and extremely efficient. The rooms are small (it's Paris and this can't be helped) but very attractive. This a great choice in the heart of Paris.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auriane G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Mickael,

I would like to thank you very much for these nice comments!

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon !
With my best regards,

Auriane Galzin
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    545
    355
    91
    37
    19
See reviews for
212
467
64
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We spent one night before flying out of Paris, the central location near to the main shopping arteries and the Opera having decided in part our choice. Our very early morning arrival did not ruffle the staff at all, and check in was dealt with swiftly and professionally. We had a spacious (rare for Paris even in this category of hotel!), quiet and perfectly appointed room. All of the staff were polite, competent, welcoming and smiling (even the rather young assistant concierge who appeared a bit lost, but you have to start somewhere!). The bar was expertly staffed and the cocktails mixed to perfection. The only drawback was maybe the breakfast room, underground and too small if everyone turns up around the same time and choice of foods was reduced by the influx of guests. All in all, we would certainly use the Scribe again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auriane G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for these detailed comments on your experience in our hotel and with our services and staff.
However, I am sorry that you experience in our breakfast room, where the first motion pictures were seen in 1895, did not meet your expectations.

I hope we can meet your expectations on your next visit to Paris, and please do feel free to contact me directly should you have any request prior to your stay.

With best regard,
Auriane Galzin
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located to reach all you need in Paris. It was a second honeymoon trip and we were not disappointed, we stayed here on a recommendation.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The service in all areas from doormen, concierge, wait staff maids was excellent. They even allowed us to check in early as our room was ready. A first for us ever. I absolutely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We were on 2nd floor , not a great view but very quiet and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a laudatory comment, thank you very much ! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your honeymoon trip, as it is probably the most important in one's life. Paris is still the ideal destination for honeymoon, and we try our best to provide our guests with romantic attentions in such special occasions.

We were also pleased to give you the room earlier than expected. We know our guests are exhausted by their trip and want to relax upon arrival, so if possible we manage to give them the room in the morning.

We thank you one more time for your comments, and we hope you will choose the Hotel Sribe again for your next trip to Paris.

Best Regards,

Audrey L.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I love Sofitel Hotel but I was really disappointed by the night service. I wanted to eat at 1 am and I ordered pasta, nothing is simpler than that, well I had pastas barely cooked !! I am not sure I will return. No upgrade and the room start to look a little old. I had 2 great stays before and I don't want to be treated like a star but I am a good ACCOR customer, I have a platinum status and I do not feel it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. Indeed, at Sofitel, we are eager to deliver a perfect service for our clients, and your feedback is very important to improve all its aspects.

We are terribly sorry to read that the Room Service did not meet your expectations, please accept our sincere apologies. Be sure that we have told the catering manager about this incident, and he has taken the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurence.

We thank you for your loyalty towards the Accor group. As an Accor Platinum member, you are allowed to expect an upgrade. We were probably fully booked during your previous stay, that is the reason why we did not have the possibility to upgrade you, however we would be happy to do so next time you come to our Hotel, and provide you with a very special VIP treatment.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon at the Hotel scribe Paris, we remain at your disposal, may you want to contact us directly for your next reservation.

Best Regards,

Audrey L.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Very happy with our stay here at Scribe. Don't know if it's just French but the service is at you would expect - a bit snobby and no greater detail to special occasions.
Rooms are spacious and the cleaning service is perfect.
The location is also a major plus because it's so close to Lafayette, the Opera and other great sights in the city and yet it's quiet at night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel Scribe. Indeed, the location is really good, in the heart of Paris ! The opera area was reconverted during the 19th century by Baron Haussmann who decided to create large avenues and typical parisian façades. It is a real pleasure to walk around in this area.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon at the Hotel Scribe Paris, we thank you again for your comments.

Best Regards,

Audrey Laroque
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I've tried to make the title of this review adequate. I'm glad to see the reviews of the Scribe still consistent with our experiences. We stayed at the Scribe in 2002. To this day, I have never stayed in a hotel that compares, and believe me, I've stayed in many 5* hotels. What makes the Scribe special? Attention. Have you ever wondered what it would be like to be a prince or princess and staying at a hotel in Paris? Ever wonder what it would be like to have service where everything you wanted was provided, nearly before you even asked for it. The concierge team was exceptional. Not only were we treated with perfect service at the Scribe, but at every restaurant and club we visited while in Paris. This concierge team must maintain an excellent reputation with every restaurant we visited (Jules Verne, Hotel Ritz, Moulin Rouge). We were met at our cab, escorted to our tables, treated with amazing hospitality. When we go back to Paris, I wouldn't think of another hotel. And I recommend it to anyone considering a stay in Paris. Particularly if you're looking to create a romantic trip for someone special. BTW, we were married two years later.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for electing us "the most memorable hotel in the world" ! We are truly honored by such a title. You noticed what our guests appreciate in our hotel : an individualized and attentive service, which makes the difference. We try our best to offer our guests a unique experience in Paris, and it is a great satisfaction for us to read that we managed to do so for you.

We shared your compliments with our Concierge team, they are all very grateful.
Again, thank you very much for the time you spent sharing such amazing comments on Trip Advisor.

Best Regards,

Audrey Laroque
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was staying recently and came back for a new break in paris. Best location for sure but also a fantastic concierge team, please note they are only women and 100% of their recommendation and help are fabulous. The comfort of the sleep is exceptionnal with a great bed and a total soundproofing from outside but also inside.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street. You can enjoy the animation of Paris streets without any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRIBEParis, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Scribe ! We shared your compliments with our Concierge team who thank you very much for having mentioned them. Indeed, they are only women : the Chef Concierge Emmanuelle, who is Head Seretary of the "Clés d'Or", makes it a point of principle !

Concerning the comfort of the bed, it is due to the Sofitel standard "MyBed" : it consists in a double mattress which makes the bed both soft and firm.

Again, thank you for your comments, as our guests feedback is very important to us.

Best Regards,

Audrey Laroque
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel

Address: 1 rue Scribe, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Paris
#99 Family Hotel in Paris
#104 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#139 Business Hotel in Paris
#153 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A long tradition of excellence in the art of living awaits you in this grand 19th-century building. An emblem of Parisian life, Hotel Scribe Paris was originally the home of the very aristocratic Jockey Club. It became a hotel of legend, a stage of modernity on which the cinema was born, a favourite place of artists and celebrities. The Scribe keeps that legacy alive today. In its elegant rooms and suites, its public and reception areas, new generations of personalities are even now adding chapters to the hotel's history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, ACCOR, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris
Hotel Scribe Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Scribe Paris managed by Sofitel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.