We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great area, average experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Basss

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Basss to your Saves list
Hotel Basss
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   57 rue des Abbesses | 18th Arr., 75018 Paris, France (Formerly My Hotel in France Montmartre) (Montmartre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,165 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great area, average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed in this hotel first time three years ago and thoroughly enjoyed it.The rooms were small but clean. That is why I decided to stay here again this year. Unfortunately, it was not the same. The were originally booked for a 6th floor room. The reception was very nice and changed it for a 3rd floor room. However, the signs of tear and wear are visible. The bedspread was stained, although the sheets were clean - so not a major problem, but then again if you pay £75 a night you expect everything to be clean. The TV in the room was not working either. There is a kettle in the room, but no complimentary tea/coffee or cups? Hmm, I guess it is meant for people with their own provisions.
On the bright side, breakfast was nice and it is served in a nice basement area.
The area of Monmarte and the central location of the hotel made up for it and so for a night I'd say it wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Hotel Basss, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

We thank you for your comment. It is a real pity that your last stay was so disappointed.
Through your descrption of the second room you had, I can imagine this one has not been checked before your arrival. We apologize for these inconvenients.
We are looking forwards to welcoming you again,

Best regards
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    179
    144
    61
    52
See reviews for
49
234
34
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Do not stay here.

We arrived separately and I was checked into room 64, which was on the 6th floor but no lift so a walk up (which was a pain, but fine). The room was small and in the roof, the bed cover was stained and the bed didn't feel safe to sit on. The bathroom was similar in size to a caravans and very dated and also not particularly clean.

My friend arrived a few hours later and we both sat there thinking what to do. The bedroom was a double and we had requested a twin (but this isn't the issue as we can share). The bed was hard and broken!! Prior to this I called down for an iron and was told they only had the iron and no ironing board .. you had to do this on the bed! Plus I was told to walk down (6 flights) to get the iron if I wanted it. Great.

So .. dirty bed linen (hairs on the pillow cases when we pulled back the top blanket), broken bed, small and dirty bathroom, 6 floor walk up. Also the corridor is very very noisy as sound echoes right up the building.

We called booking.com and cancelled which meant we had to find a new hotel at 11.30pm .. so left and got a taxi then.

DO NOT STAY HERE. I have read the good reviews and would question the source.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Hotel Basss, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank for your comment about our hotel. We need all our clients feelings to improve our services.
You had a very bad experience during your stay at My Hotel In France Montmartre and we really want to appologize about it. After your quick departure, we also noticed that the bed in room 64 has been broken. We have ordered immediatly a new bed base to replace it.
As you wrote it, the hotel does not have a lift, even spacious bathrooms. Our structure is typically the Parisian architecture and we are waiting for soon works to change all the concept of all the rooms, bathrooms and reception to welcome our guests.
We are sincerely sorry for all that you underwent in our establishment.

Best regards
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lonodn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

A friend and I stayed for 3 nights this week and as we travel frequently, we didn't expect anything more then a clean and warm place, where we could rest post long Parisian wonders through this fabulous city.

However, as soon as we opened the main door of the hotel, we were welcomed by a strong smell similar to smell found in old, unventilated and mouldy houses. It was everywhere! The only reason we didn't turn away immediately was a sad fact that we payed in advance!

The reception looked cheap, a receptionist nervous and without a single simple smile!
Once arriving to our room on a 3rd floor, the almost equally smelly odour welcomed us into its "arms". The bathroom presented with hair leftovers; visible dust in corners and a dirty sink with a broken cupboard, not to mention the mini personal space left after 1m * 2.5m had a sink, toilet and shower in it!! The "twin bedroom" had beds 5cm apart with bed side lamps but no main light, miniature storage place and dust present everywhere!!

The cleaning lady did such a "great " job that my PJs were in exactly same position, as when I left, in fact the whole bed was exactly same as were the towels in the bathroom and the dust in the corners.

One of the positives of this hotel and reason why we booked it, was advertised breakfast AND packed lunch. Well, well, well....breakfast was a challenge of patience, as whenever we arrived to it, there was not enough space to seat down nor (or any at all) coffee, tea or hot water. My friend got even a dead fly in her cup! There was routinely luck of cups and plates and guests waiting in a queue to get their morning beverage with napkins smelling of mould. Packed lunch didn't materialise the first day at all nor was there any interest from the staff to supply anything else. Altough, the packed lunch did showed up the next day, but was not worth of the wait! A tasteless sandwich with half an apple and bottle of water; in a country of amazing baguettes!

Suffice to stay, we will NEVER stay again nor recommend this place to anyone! The only good thing going for it is the superb location, otherwise an utter disappointment!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Hotel Basss, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you for your comment. We really need all feelings to improve our services.
We are such disappointed that you had a bad experience in our hotel. Apparently, the room which was attributed to you has not been cleaned well before your check-in. It is a pity that you did not came to complain at reception, we would be pleased to suggest you another room.
Also, you did not appreciate ou concept "all for you" which offers everyday to every guest, buffet breakfast, lunch box and unllimited wifi access. As you wrote, the breakfast room is quite small, our building is a typical parisian one with its bent cellar.
We regret sincerely your misadventure in our hotel.

Best regards
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

It's Paris.

Everything's expensive and the rooms are small, so we must proceed on that basis.

I ended up with room 66, on the top (6th floor). There is no lift so if you're hauling heavy bags up there, you'd best be fit. Room 66 is a single room in the 'attic'. It has a table to work. It's well-lit and it's one of the modernised rooms. The shower is hot with good water pressure. It also has a balcony overlooking the rooftops of Montmarte and it's this that makes the room. You'll not going to see the Eiffel Tower from here (you'll need to book room 68 for that) but it's real pretty all the same. I travelled in November so it was cool and grey, but on a warm Spring day, that balcony will be wonderful. The free hotel wifi didn't quite reach the room but I wasn't in the hotel to work or dick around online so I sat in the stairwell for a few minutes to use the internet.

As far as the hotel goes; the staff are fine. They accommodate me when I booked the rooms for the wrong date, called taxis for us, answered a couple of questions, let us stay until 2pm for no extra charge. It's clean. It's cheap. It's in a lovely location. If you're paying 175€ for five people in the middle of Paris, don't expect the Waldorf Astoria and if you're travelling alone get room 66.

Room Tip: Remember: no lift. If you're lazy or unfit, take a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Hotel Basss, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for your comment about our hotel and its room number 66. We are pleased to learn that you spent a nice stay with us. As you wrote, the hotel does not have a lift for the moment but the beautiful view on the top floors is worth the climbing stairs, as you can see the roofs of Montmartre.
All our rooms ownes the same modern comfort with a desk, tv, telephone, private bathrooms, hair dryier on request and unllimited wifi access. We hope you also could appreciate our "all for you offered concept" with buffet breakfast, and a lunch box.
We look forwards to seeing you again at home!

Best regards
Manuella Cabaret / Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at My Hotel in France Montmartre for one night. The hotel is a straightforward Parisian hotel, expensive though the price included breakfast and a packed lunch. The room was basic and for a solo traveller just fine. A couple might have found the room a bit cramped, but again we are talking Paris. The room itself was generally quiet but faced onto the interior with some noises percolating up from the basement. The location is great, situated on a popular Montmartre street with bars and restaurant all within a five minute stroll. The staff were friendly, and I was able to store my bags right up to the evening with access during the day. There is free wifi too which, along with the breakfast meant, makes the hotel good value. It is definitely on my shortlist for the next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Hotel Basss, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

Thanks a lot for your nice comment. You enjoyed your stay in My Hotel In France Montmartre and we are delighted of it.
Our building is typically a parisian one and that's explain our rather small rooms and bathrooms. As you have seen, our hotel is very well located in the "rue des Abbesses", a few minutes walking from the Sacré Coeur, Place du Tertre, Moulin Rouge and you can find plenty of bars, restaurants and shops all around here.
We look forwards to welcoming you again,

Best regards
Manuella Cabaret / Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here with a friend so as we could sightsee and go to disneyland. We found it very hard to find the hotel as the sign isn't very visible at night. We spent awhile looking for it. The hotel staff seemed nice. Our room was up 5 flights of stairs and we had heavy suitcases. We couldn't manage but a helpful guest brought our luggage up the 5 flights of stairs. There is no lift and the hotel staff never asked to help us. Which was very annoying as we are two small women and if you seen the stairs! they were lethal! it was windy and narrow! The room was small but very clean. Staff were helpful on the desk and spoke great english. The packed lunch provided by the hotel was grand (a pre-packaged sandwich, apple and water). The street outside is bustling and lots of decent restaurants to be found. An ideal tourist spot close to the action and not too far from the metro, moulin rouge or the sacre coeur! Which is a must see.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on floors 3-5 if you have luggage as its too dangerous to carry it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Hotel Basss, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Madam,

We thank you for your comment about our hotel. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our concept "all for you", the kindness of our staff, and our very pleasant and well situated district.
Our establishment do not have a lift as you can see! My Hotel In France Montmartre has been created in an authentic and charming building of Montmartre and do not have for the moment any lift. Therefore, our rooms are not very spacious but they are clean and have a modern comfort.

Best regards
Manuella Cabaret / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I LOVE LOVE LOVE this place. We spent the majority of our time in a hotel right down the street [Hotel Audran] and it was mediocre at best. We left for Bordeaux and returned to stay in this hotel for a night before our trip back home. Did we ever wish that we stayed here our entire time. Fear not about the posts about bedbugs, that is a long past issue from what I could tell.. The place is CLEAN, that was a big plus for me. It was cute, had a very "boutique" feel, and the staff was beyond friendly for Parisians. Continental breakfast was a nice addition, downstairs in the "catacombs" as I called them, and what's even better? they pack you a nice lunch for your travels throughout the day [we are foodies, and love to eat at bistros, so we used our lunch as a mid morning snack].

The room was small, but no smaller than anyone would expect in Paris, especially Montmartre. We wanted to stay in Montmartre for that "neighborhood" feel, and Rue d' Abessess is the perfect place for that.. little cafe's, fresh fruit and seafood shops, a boulangerie, and bistros abound, not to mention the all-important Metro station right next door.

We had to juggle a few things to make the compact room work, for example, you can't use the toilet with the door closed, and you can't watch the tv while the door is open, and you can't shower unless you are a small person (we are appropriately sized people, so it did not matter. If you are a large marge, you may not want to use this hotel due to no lift/elevator, and no room in the shower... With that said, I want to repeat that it was the CLEANEST place we stayed in through all our 2 week trip.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants location location location on a budget, and cleanliness is important. 2 blocks from Moulin Rouge and 1 min walk up the [steep] hill to the Sacre Couer. Stay here, you will not be disappointed if you understand that you do not find American size in France. These are buildings that are hundreds of years old. Enjoy the experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor! It's a LONG trip to the top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Hotel Basss, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

One thousand thank you for your adorable message which goes up to us in the heart! The comments of our guests are really important for us. They are the better way for us to progress and improve our clients stays.
We are very pleased that you spent a nice stay with us. You have enjoyed the good location of the establishment, our concept "all for you", the kindness of the staff and the decoration of the hotel.
We look forwards to welcoming you again in My Hotel In France Montmartre!

Best regards,
Manuella Cabaret / Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Basss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Basss

Address: 57 rue des Abbesses | 18th Arr., 75018 Paris, France (Formerly My Hotel in France Montmartre)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,165 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Basss 1*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Basss is the new address of Rue des Abbesses The Basss hotel is a brand new hotel in a retro look in the heart of Montmartre. Designed hotel with modern and very graphic and colorful furnishing. The steel beams and stone laid bare yet remember that we are right in Montmartre. The very graphic tiles, geometric headboards, the use of industrial materials reminiscent of the famous generic one that inspired the decoration : American graphic designer Saul Bass . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Basss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
My Hotel Paris
Comfort Inn Sacre Coeur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Basss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.