We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Montmartre Paris

Save Saved
You added Citadines Montmartre Paris to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citadines Montmartre Paris
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 avenue Rachel, 75018 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #849 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Dordogne
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good hotel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is a hotel I have stayed at many times for 3 or 4 days each time. It has the same very good services as standard Citadines self-catering hotels. You get a kitchenette with a dishwasher, so you can ook your own food, which can be nice after long days of visiting Paris. There's a Monoprix very near for your shopping. The sofa-beds are new and comfortable (they come with duvets, which is also a great choice, some hotels still have sheets and horrible blankets!)
The decoration of the rooms is rather old-fashioned and the whole place could do with a bit of refreshing. But it is very well located: it has a Metro station that is connected to major lines, next door is the Moulin Rouge and Montmarte is in walking distance (I recommend Rue des Abbesses for shopping and nice restaurants). Do not fret too much about the area: it does has sex-shops everywhere (Pigalle is nearby too) but it is ok even at night (I did not test after midnight, though!).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 8th floor, you'll be near the hotel's trully beautiful terrace. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etienne D, Gérant at Citadines Montmartre Paris, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing Citadines Montmartre Paris as your accommodation during your stay in Paris. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable residents are satisfied with our service. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    105
    41
    9
    11
See reviews for
50
60
8
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We have stayed there twice in the last two years. The apartment with two single beds is better than that with the settee and pull-out trundle but both are fine. Both apartments were well furnished with good quality crockery, cutlery, bed-linen, etc. The bathroom and kitchenette were good although small. The reception staff have all been friendly and helpful, all with good English. The location is great for Paris with all the fun of Montmartre very close, two nearby Metro stations and below-ground secure parking. We would happily stay there again. Montmartre cemetery next door has the tombs of many famous names, worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed here for four nights and I was surprised by how large my room was with my own kitchen. The staff were helpful to some degree (I don't know why, some people seem to have an attitude?) and the location was great. Avenue Rachel is away from all the hassle and bustle, but it is literally not even five minutes walk from the Moulin Rouge and the metro station. Paris is quite a small city so it is incredibly easy to find your way around. I loved Montmartre, a very bohemian area with an Irish pub next to the Citadines. The cemetery next to the hotel is quite nice and provides that ambience away from all the loudness and business of Parisian city life (and the crazy drivers).

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel is right next to the cemetary of Montmartre. Its right next to the exit on a dead end street. The hotel has his own garage to park your car. At the reception they speak good English and they are very friendly. I made a reservation for a studio with a two person bed. First we got a room with a sleeping couch. That was no option for us. We called the reception and asked for a room with a normal bed. Reception told us there was one left on the third floor. It was on the street side and was very clean and neat. It's a studio so you have a little kitchen. Toilet was separate from bathroom, which was perfect. You don't hear any noise from neighbors. Unfortunately you hear noise from the street at night. Maybe it is not every evening but we heard drunk people screaming. The location its perfect. Close to several subway stations. Keep in mind that the neighborhood is not suitable for families since there are a tons of sexshops and dancing bars. Also the Moulin Rouge is around the corner. No need to feel unsafe in this neighborhood.

Room Tip: Ask specific for a bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We visited Paris and this Citadines aparthotel over half term with two teenage boys and I was pleasantly surprised. My main concern was that with the two boys in the twin bedroom, my husband and I were to share a sofa bed in the living room. I've never been a great fan of sofa beds but this one was remarkably comfortable and very easy to both pull out and put away. Although October we also appreciated the balconies for extra space and great views Perfect! .I would definitely recommend for visiting Paris as a family.The receptionist (Anne) was extremely helpful and handled a number of guests at once with great politeness. Overall surprisingly impressed!

Room Tip: We had room 208 which was on the top floor and had two balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Enjoyed the apartment, comfortable bed, well equipped kitchen with dishwasher, hotplates and microwave. WiFi only in the lobby. Booking in process a bit late, but the staff did their best and were very friendly, they seemed a bit overworked at times. Our room faced Rachel St which despite being dead end to the cemetry was very noisy, a lot of road noise from a busy road a level above Rachel St and drinkers in Rachel St. With the window closed it probably would be ok, but it was too stuffy.

Room Tip: Avoid the Rachel St side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Upon arriving at the Citadines Montmartre in June 2012, after travelling 10 hours, my husband and I were told that there was no room for us. We are in our 60s and were exhausted from all the travelling. We made the reservation on line in February 2012 and received confirmation of the same. I asked for an explanation as to why I had not been notified by email that there was no room for us but none was given. We got very little sympathy from the staff.
We asked for a reimbursement of our taxi fare to the Montmartre location but were told that they needed a receipt. Our response was why we would keep a receipt if we had a confirmed reservation at the hotel.

We specifically wanted the Montmartre location, that’s why we chose it. We were however given alternative accommodation at the Citadines Eiffel. Upon arriving at the Citadines Eiffel we explained what had happened and they said that the Citadines Montmartre had a reputation for over-booking.

Overall, the service we were given at Citadines Montmartre was horrible. Not only did it ruin our holiday but were given absolutely no compensation. We had also brought this complaint forward to management months ago but still no response. I do not recommend this hotel on any level.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etienne D, Gérant at Citadines Montmartre Paris, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We regret that this incident left you with a negative impression.

As there may be other factors surrounding this incident, we would appreciate it if you could please contact us at etienne.david@citadines.com so that we can investigate this further and address the situation appropriately.

We look forward to hearing from you, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Citadines Montmartre Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Montmartre Paris

Address: 16 avenue Rachel, 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #849 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Montmartre Paris 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a residential street 2 steps away from place Clichy, Citadines Montmatre Paris sits at the foot of the Butte Montmartre, close to the Moulin Rouge and the Europe and Trinité business areas. Montmartre may be famous for its maze of narrow streets and staircases, its vineyard and authentic village atmosphere, where imposing Haussmann and 1930s style buildings rub shoulders with charming houses and tiny gardens; But it's also renowned for its night life- the multitude of cabarets, cafés with resident portraitists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Citadines Montmartre Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Montmartre Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Montmartre Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.