We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great For The Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Hotel Saint Pierre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Hotel Saint Pierre to your Saves list
Comfort Hotel Saint Pierre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10, rue de Clignancourt | 18th Arr., 75018 Paris, France (Montmartre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,338 of 1,788 Hotels in Paris
Purmerend, NL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great For The Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in January for a concert at La Trianon. Hotel was easy to find, about a 10 minute walk from Gare Du Nord. Street / Area the hotel is in is slightly dingy but we walked about well after midnight most evenings and encountered no problems. Yes, there are a few Arab gentlemen who will try to sell you bottles of Chanel but they weren't intimidating, just keep walking.....

Couldn't fault the hotel staff - they were all polite and helpful. The room and bathroom were small but was expecting that. We were in a rear facing room which had a nice view of a courtyard, very little noise at night. Room was very clean but could have done with a little updating, on the plus side there was an (HD) TV. Bedding, again was clean, no complaints about the room at all.

There is a lift in the hotel, but typical of Paris, it's very small, it was a squeeze to get both of us and a suitcase in it.

Breakfast was fine for 8 euros, we also tried the bakery just down the street (to the left as you come out of the hotel, orange signage) which was excellent, had lovely baguettes and pastries. There were two supermarkets in the street as well, would recommend the one slighty up the hill and on the opposite side of the road. For the slightly less discerning eater, or if you're in a hurry there's also a McDonalds just over the road.

Location wise, it was about a 10 minute walk to Anvers Metro station, from which we had no problems getting into the centre of Paris (about a 15 minute ride) and round all the sights. Would advise buying a 'book' of 10 Metro tickets (about 13 euros) from the machine at the station, kept these in my jacket and it saved a lot of needless messing around as you only need one ticket per journey. Around a 2 minute walk from Anvers up a side street to the foot of Sacre Coeur.

We found the French / Parisians to be very polite and welcoming on the whole, if you make an effort to speak at least a few words of French (eg always say Bonjour before anything else) then I don't think you'll have any problems.

All in all, would definitely think about staying here again if we were in Paris and on a budget.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    58
    85
    27
    23
See reviews for
23
116
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in Montmarte for only one night in transit thru Paris due to its location, proximity to transport (bus from airport, subway to within 100m of hotel), cost and facilities. We were not disappointed.

The hotel was easy to find once out of the subway, the front desk staff were extremely polite and helpful, the room ample sized for what we needed, the bathroom quite large, the hotel exceptionally quiet even though we had a street room on the second floor, the hotel and facilities were extremely clean and the included breakfast was superb.

Think was the first time we had stayed in this part of Paris and we are glad we did to experience something new. The streets are always busy (Moulin Rouge is 300m away, entrance street to Sacre Couer is 200m away) and the restaurant selection is equal to anywhere we have been in Paris.

Although not a 5 star rated hotel, we would recommend this hotel and would go back there again if we wished to stay in that part of Paris. The lifts are quite small, allowing only one of us to use it at a time with our rather large luggage. However, his was not a problem at all as the hotel is not large and the stairs offered a bit of exercise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ochota, Warszawa, Poland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed 2 nights with my wife in November. The hotel was booked through Miles-and-more program as a 3-star hotel in central Paris. It was neither in centre nor a 3-star hotel.

The hotel should be 1 or maximum 2 star hotel. It located near Sacre Coeur, but in dark and unpleasant street, however we didn't notice any crime.
Our room was on the first floor, with a small window - view to a wall and some air conditioning devices. The room was very small with a bed occupying most of the floor space. There was also a small writing desk with some flyers and brochures (old, dirty and disgusting). There was a bathroom with a tiny and dirty shower (I had to use my flip-flops).
There was only a small electric radiator in the room, it worked OK, but the bathroom was freezing cold (extremely unpleasant if you have to sit on a ice-cold toilet desk!).
The room was noisy, there was a large gap between the room door and the floor.

The staff was unkind. I had to borrow a hair-dryer and I was reminded to bring it back as soon as I finish to the reception. You cannot take your key-card when leaving the hotel - you need to leave it at the reception - I did not feel secure about that. We did not want housekeeping in our room during the day, but someone came and cleaned the room a little - I was shocked.

Not recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Good clean hotel that was in a good location.

Area maybe a little dodgy at night but fine as long as you aren't walking around by yourself.
Hotel staff quite friendly & helpful (some better than others)

Breakfast was good. served between 7 & 10am, you could have cereal/toast/pastries etc.

Only complaint is that the shower was broken in one of our 2 rooms but we managed between us.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room above ground level & on the front of the hotel (better views)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed here in Sept. 2002. My first and only trip to Paris. Some of the staff may have changed now, but the maid and desk clerk were very polite and helpful. I must say a female manager was rude when I ask for a napkin and she brought me a knife. Apparently, she did not know English that well.

My room was smal, but cleanl, no air conditioning, small shower stall door that I could barely squeeze through. I was on the top floor and had a good view of the Sacre Coeur. At night I could hear people yelling and crying. I never went out after dark, but, the neighborhood had character. The breakfast was horrible. We could not eat it. We ate french bread and orange marmalade bought from a market across the street.

I prepaid on the internet, but, they still TRIED to charge me again which caused a delay in getting out of there to get our flight home, so we had to almost run to the train station.

Room Tip: Make sure you have your prepaid receipt with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel is very clean, safe and quiet. But the staff is typically French. Really rude & unhelpful and barely speak any English. Or perhaps they pretend not too speak any English. Which is more common with the French in Paris. The location is pretty good. You are minutes away from the metro station. You are smack in the middle of the Arab neighborhood. But walk up the hill to the right of the front door and you are in a posh, yuppified upwardly mobile young French professional area. The bread & coffee shops are EVERYWHERE! Absolutely loved hitting two or three of them every morning before heading out to start our day.

They say that Paris is a beautiful city. But that it's only problem is that it's full of French people. We found that to be true. It took us days to find ONE person at our hotel who spoke enough English and had the right helpful attitude (Samantha is her name). But to be fair. When we ran into a problem with some crazy dude on the Metro. A couple of big French guys stepped in to help us. God bless the French.

So overall this is a good location. Nice but small rooms (it's a "boutique" hotel). And worth the stay. Just bring your French translator with you. And beware of the very intimidating Arab street hawkers. But hey that adds to the atmosphere right?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just spent five days in Paris. The hotel itself is quite nice, it surely deserves more than 2 stars. You get towels changed, rooms cleaned and beds made on a daily basis. Plus a good quality breakfast with plentiful amounts of bread, rolls, cheese, cereals, jam, honey, chocolate, etc., etc. Staff is nice and helpful, too. Papers and magazines provided (in French). Wi-fi costs next to nothing. It is a busy street indeed, but all you need to get peace and quiet is shut the windows. This is on the plus side.
Disadvantages: One, but enough to spoil your entire holiday - horrible, just horrible area, loads of beggars, all types of peddlers selling fake items, shouting and yelling about... homeless, criminals, misfits and losers of all kinds, all of them looking threatening and ... just awful, they turn your every venture out into a bloody nightmare, the Metro station (which is a 5-min walk away) and Gare du Nord being a 10-min walk from the hotel are even worse! Hell of an experience it is getting through mobs of scary, rough tough yobs...being guarded by heavily armed gendarmerie and police is definitely not the kind of holiday I'd have ever imagined I'm going to have in Paris, Montmartre. So all in all, this hotel is decent enoughm BUT it deserves a much better neighbourhood... However, unfortunately, it is highly unlikely that I will ever visit Paris again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Hotel Saint Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Saint Pierre

Address: 10, rue de Clignancourt | 18th Arr., 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,338 of 1,788 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Hotel Saint Pierre 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel situated in the heart of Paris, near Sacre Coeur & the Saint Pierre Textile Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Hotel Saint Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Pierre Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Saint Pierre
Comfort Inn Paris
Paris Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Hotel Saint Pierre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.