We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Paris Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Hotel Saint Lazare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added New Hotel Saint Lazare to your Saves list
New Hotel Saint Lazare
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 rue d'Amsterdam | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France (Champs-Élysées)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,247 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Bayfield, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Paris Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good location and very friendly staff. I had emailed the hotel before our arrival asking for the best way to get to their hotel from CDG, they responded promptly with several good options and costs. (we took CDG bus for 10 euros per person to the Opera stop, 10 minute walk to hotel) We arrived at the hotel at about 10am knowing we would not be able to check in so early, but with the hope that they would keep our bags until we could. The gentleman at the desk was so nice! He apologized for the room not being ready yet and offered us coffee in the breakfast room at no charge and they kindly keep an eye on our bags. Our room was ready when we got back from lunch. Yes, the room was small, but this is rather typical in Europe at this price! The room and bath were very clean, a bit older and worn, but clean and comfortable. We had a nice big closet in our room. The bed was comfortable. I chose this hotel because of it's location to Gare St Lazare as we took the 8:15am train to see Monet's garden. We spent 2 nights here. Plenty of restaurants, etc within easy walking distance. If you want a bigger more luxurious room then be prepared to pay more!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    63
    76
    33
    26
See reviews for
20
96
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Don't understand all the negative reviews on here, the hotel wasn't perfect but it was very good value for money! The rooms were nice, beds were comfy and had a great sleep. Breakfast was really good and on til quite late which was great when you didn't want to wake up at the crack of dawn. Location was great, metro stop down the road and close to restaurants and shops. I would stay at this hotel again. The staff were lovely and gave us a discounted rate when we decided to stay on for another night.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabienne_Graziani, Director at New Hotel Saint Lazare, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Angela, we really thank you for this great comment. It's right that our hotel is not perfect but we do our the best every day to compensate our weaknesses and are happy when we succeed. We wish to welcome you again. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

The only good a can tell about this hotel is it`s location. It`s in walking distance to all main Paris objects.
-Dirty and small rooms. There is no place even for a luggage
-Even dirtier and smaller bathroom.
-Room service person came to our room during breakfast (at 8-9 in the morning) to clean toilet (!!!!!) and after that we could not even stay in the room because of terrible bleach smell
-Reception was rude and unhelpful.
-Breakfast standard, without any warm food.
-In the description were mentioned that all rooms are soundproof - that`s a real lie. We could hear what was happening in the rooms even far from us.

So, these are only facts. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seinajoki, Finland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

The best part of this hotel is the location. Another good thing is reasonable price.

We stayed in this hotel 4 nights. Rooms were very small, but good for us. We spend all day long in the city, and hotel is just the place for the sleep. If you like to spend your time in hotel room, choose another hotel.

Our room was mainly clean even if it needed to repairing. The only thing i did not like was the wall to wall carpet, it´s always dusty. The breakfast was just ok, not luxurious, but good start for the day.

The staff in the hotel talked english and the service was friendly, except night receptionist while we arrived to the hotel. He tried to insist us to pay our prepaid hotel room. He did not even believe the phone service of our travel agency (which was in english). Next morning the whole messy was cleared and the rest of our visit was nice.

Easiest way the get to the hotel from CDG airport is have preordered taxi. It costs 50-70 euros for 4 persons.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

the hotel location is very good near Metro Station and train Station as well main shopping areas like Printemps and La Fayette.
the room is very small as well bath room, i stayed in room 11 overlooking the interior garden was was quiet.
reception staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabienne_Graziani, Director at New Hotel Saint Lazare, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for this comment and we hope to help you for your next trip in Paris. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Excellant location and friendly female staff who answered most of our queries..Room is small but comfy and there's housekeeping everyday ...Main problem is there is no air con and bathroom is too small...was expecting bathtub as shown in the website but there's none.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabienne_Graziani, Director at New Hotel Saint Lazare, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Thank you for your comment and we hope to see you again in best conditions. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

I was on pilgrimage to the martyrdom site of Saint Joan in Rouen Normandy and utilised this hotel in Paris as my base. It had a great location for the Saint Lazare station, was close to Monmartre and the Sacre Coeur Basilica and the staff were friendly. My room was comfortable with loads of pillows and a courtyard view and the ensuite was very good. Room TV and phone and a good free breakfast also made up my stay. I stayed for two nights and this was perfect for me. It is also reached by the Roissy bus airport bus which drops you off at Paris Opera and the hotel is only ten minutes (if that) away. Another trip advisor review inspired me to book this hotel. Tres bien et merci.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabienne_Graziani, Director at New Hotel Saint Lazare, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your comment and we hope to welcome you for your next pilgrimage or just for a trip. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Hotel Saint Lazare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Saint Lazare

Address: 53 rue d'Amsterdam | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Élysées
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,247 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Hotel Saint Lazare 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel in Parisian-style building located near Gare Saint Lazare, Opera and major department stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your New Hotel Saint Lazare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardins De Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Hotel Saint Lazare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.