We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are very very very tiny - felt a little claustrophobic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine to your Saves list
Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Rue de l'Arcade, 75008 Paris, France (Champs-Élysées)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 nights = up to 40% off
Ranked #1,106 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Vienna, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rooms are very very very tiny - felt a little claustrophobic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Rooms were so small. This is by far the smallest hotel I've ever stayed in. I felt claustrophobic when I was awake. Other than that, front desk person was very helpful with recommendations and directions. The hotel was in close proximity with everything and there were lots of restaurants around the area. It is a five min walk from the Walk to Champ Elysees. To get to Champ's shopping area it was about a 15 min walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAUDBARBARA, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
I thank you for taking time and giving your opinion about your stay in our hotel.
I'm glad for your satisfaction about localization and for your compliments for the staff of the hotel you mentioned.
I understand your feeling in a small room and I'm very sorry for that.
Please, be so kind us to inform us for the next time of this priority to provide you a bigger room.
We will be glad to do it for you.
I hope to welcome you again shortly in our hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Barbara Naud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    256
    169
    65
    24
See reviews for
82
251
67
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Had a 3 night stay in July in a privilege room which we found to be of a very good size for Paris standards. The bed was comfortable , and had a good sized bathroom with a shower over a bath and double sinks. Room also had a small refrigerator. Reception staff were very helpful. Good sized lobby area. Rate included breakfast, however breakfast room is really not big enough and one morning there was no where to sit - staff running the breakfast were somewhat unhelpful and it was left to reception staff to seat us in the overflow area at the bar. Location is good and you can walk to many sights.

Room Tip: Choose a privilege room rather than the terrace privilege room which is much smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast N .ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

good budget hotel, air con was poor in the room but asked and received a fan to assist.
Staff great and good service. great location.
Would go back again. The hotel recommended a place to eat nearby, it was not great but apart from that, I would go back. Try the parisshuttle service from CDG 30 euro eachway for two people.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in July. 3 couples. The hotel is in a great location easy walking to many sights, shops and restaurants. We had a terrace privilege room which was on the 5th floor so we used the very small lift (1 person + case, or 2 people). The room was compact but clean and the bathroom was adequate. The terrace was a good size but the door out to the terrace was very narrow and the terrace was dirty and quite unappealing. One of the other couples had another terrace room which was smaller, no room to move around and the bathroom was the smallest I have seen with a shower you couldn't turn round in. They had stayed in a cheaper room the night before which was much better than the higher priced terrace room. The other couple had a privilege room on a lower floor which was much bigger. The staff on reception were very helpful and friendly however the staff at breakfast were bad tempered and sullen. We turned up for breakfast (included in our package) and were told the dining room was full and left to it! The guy on reception actually came over & spoke to her & then told us to go to the bar & we had breakfast there. Overall the stay was comfortable but unless you are going to spend reasonable amount of time on the terrace then go for a cheaper room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAUDBARBARA, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Google Translation
Chers Clients,

Je vous remercie de vos commentaires qui nous sont très précieux et nous permettent d'améliorer la qualité de notre service. Je suis ravie de votre appréciation de notre équipe et de l'emplacement de l'hôtel. J'ai bien pris note de votre insatisfaction de la terrasse. J'en suis sincèrement navrée et vous prie d'accepter mes plus sincères excuses. Sachez que les actions correctives ont été déjà menées aussi, nous espérons pouvoir vous accueillir de nouveau dans notre hôtel.
Bien à vous. Barbara Naud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have overall enjoyed my stay at the hotel, very conveniently located.
The gentlemen from the front desk were very helpful and changed my room, since the wifi signal was not stable in my assigned room.

Merci a Rolland pour son professionnalisme et sa disponibilite...!

1st Class pour Mercure Paris Madelaine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAUDBARBARA, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Customer,
I thank you for your comments which are very precious us. I pass on your very positive appreciation to the entire staff and quite particularly to Roland. All the team of the hotel and myself let us hope to be able to welcome you again very soon. Well to you. Barbara Naud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine

Address: 29 Rue de l'Arcade, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Élysées
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#347 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine hotel is located between La Madeleine church and the large department stores in the center of Paris. There is a public paying car park close to the hotel. At the end of the day, come and enjoy a cocktail at Still's Bar. All our rooms have Wi-Fi access. A business center is available in the lobby. Room service is available every day from 6pm to 2am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Royal Madeleine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.