We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny rooms, huge price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine to your Saves list
Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Rue de l'Arcade, 75008 Paris, France (Champs-Élysées)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 nights = up to 40% off
Ranked #1,106 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tiny rooms, huge price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Tiny clean rooms to pricing of the double. They have a "stock market pricing policy", which makes the price fluctuate between 200 and 350 Euros over the week. If you pay 200 it might be worth a 3 star, but the claimed 4 star goes to 2 when you pay 350 and breakfast is not included. WiFi is included though, and there is a little bar with intermittent service. Didn't have breakfast, so I can't say anything about that. But McDonalds serves breakfast 1030-1130 around the corner for 2 Euros, and there are a bunch of small places around Gare Saint-Lazar where you can have coffee and a croisant for 5 Euros

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    256
    169
    65
    24
See reviews for
82
251
67
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I wouldn't recommend this hotel. I'm used to stay quite often in the accor chain but this one beats all in substandard service: unhelpfull personnel especially at check-in counter, rooms not cleaned until 4pm, no late check-out! Expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

It is very difficult to find a “value for money” hotel in central Paris, but this is the one!
The room we stayed was Privilege Room and it was very clean and spacious for Paris standard.
Amenity was good, towel + bath robe were new and clean.
Complimentary bottles of water + juice in the fridge. I am not sure about the paper cups for coffee/tea though. I personally prefer china cups for my tea.
We were surprised about the quality of Breakfast as well! There were some organic(bio) options as well!
Overall very pleasant stay and we will come back again 

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I have spent two nights in the hotel

The not so good
- Size of the room: it is not big, but well, it is Paris.... Room is the same size as similar hotel in Tokyo
- Shower was a bit small. I am not a big guy, just tal with long arms. Lots of bang in the plastic cover.
- Desk is tiny

The good:
- location is perfect
- very good wine bar close to the hotel
- clean room
- OK bed
- view from the room (stayed in the room with the roof view)
- free wireless internet

To my opinion the room is expensive was what you get. It is only about the location.
For the next stay, I have booked the Pullman hotel in Bercy. A bit further away, but much better (well, without a nice view)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Definitely a budget hotel, like an IBIS. However location is really good, being only 10 minutes from the Gare Du Nord and 8 minutes from the Champs Elysee. Service was shocking however, as according to the terms of the arrangement, the check in time was 12pm. I arrived at 2pm and the rooms were not ready. I had a meeting down town at 3pm and wanted to change and have a shower in the room before heading out. This is a direct breach of the terms of the accommodation agreement.

The front desk staff was not at all apologetic and adopted a "what can I do attitude". It was extremely frustrating. He asked me to go for lunch and come back later, but time was running out as I had to go for my meeting and I had nowhere to freshen up.

Room was modern but completely bare. No fridge. Lighting was minimal. Extremely budget. I have always supported the Accor group but this is the worst experience I have had.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

very near Madeline, Gallery laffayte department store, concorde.. and very easy to go anywhere'

Great location and the pretty good good cleanliness.

But there's no refrigerator in standard room, even though it's a 4 star hotel.
And the staffs are not so kind.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine

Address: 29 Rue de l'Arcade, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Élysées
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#348 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine hotel is located between La Madeleine church and the large department stores in the center of Paris. There is a public paying car park close to the hotel. At the end of the day, come and enjoy a cocktail at Still's Bar. All our rooms have Wi-Fi access. A business center is available in the lobby. Room service is available every day from 6pm to 2am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Royal Madeleine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.