We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Napoleon Paris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Napoleon Paris to your Saves list
Hotel Napoleon Paris
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Avenue de Friedland, 75008 Paris, France (Champs-Elysees)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #248 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in early June. Bonus is that the hotel is located steps from the ARC de Triomphe which afforded us close up sightings of the President of France and the Queen of England during D-Day ceremonies and was right across the street from where the President of the United States had dinner. We were in the middle of everything for history and history in the making. The hotel is beautiful and very warmly decorated and as expected corridors leading to rooms and rooms are extremely small. Regardless of size the rooms are beautifully appointed and get our vote for the most clever storage ideas we have ever seen utilized. We were really impressed with the use of space. If I have to work really hard for any criticism, it would be that the bed was one of the hardest I have ever stayed in and I am a very frequent traveler business and personal. We had some trouble with room keys that kept being disabled although we already know all the tips for not putting them near other things that affect keys and others in our group had the same issue. I will say that the staff from front desk to restaurant to housekeeping were extremely accommodating and friendly. Great stay all around.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larissa G, Web Coordinator at Hotel Napoleon Paris, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank for your sincere review on TripAdvisor. We feel sorry about the experience with the bed and the keys of your room. Most of our rooms have been recently renovated; it is possible that the mattress is hard because some of them are new. Regarding the key, unfortunately we cannot do anything else for the magnetic cards but, you can ask at the front desk service for another card or leave your card in the reception of the hotel while you are away.

We are very pleased to know that you have a good souvenir of your stay in the Hotel Napoleon.
We thank you for having chosen our hotel and we look forward to welcome you at the Hotel Napoleon during your next stay in Paris.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    253
    72
    27
    29
See reviews for
213
343
36
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
madison, wi
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The rating should probably be 3.5 stars.
We stayed at the Napoleon prior to and after a lovely canal barge trip through Burgundy. Our first room was a standard room that was adequate, but nothing special. The second room was a larger junior suite which was spacious, well appointed, but had no place to store clothing except for a small closet. The hotel itself is quite grand, but a bit stuffy and not very comfortable.
A big failing was the check-in process - rooms were not available when advertised or promised, the staff was not very accommodating, and the lobby was often filled with half-awake people awaiting their rooms. This tended to pit a damper on the visit.
The hotel is located isn a heavily touristed area, but not near many museums or left bank attractions. The restaurants recommended by the concierge were expensive and mediocre.
All in all, there are probably better hotels at more reasonable rates in more interesting areas of Paris to stay in.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larissa G, Web Coordinator at Hotel Napoleon Paris, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear guest,

We are disappointed regarding your comment on TripAdvisor. Indeed the Napoleon hotel is in an ancient building and we are doing constant renovations for the best comfort of our clients. We have a large choice of room and suite from 20m² to 120m².

We feel sincerely sorry that you were disappointed about the restaurants recommendations but the hotel cannot assure the high quality service of the restaurants recommended.

We apologize for the inconvenience regarding the check-in, we remind you that the check-in time is at 2pm. Your comments have a special value for improve our quality standards and have been shared with the managers of the hotel. We hope to have another opportunity to offer you better experience.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

great for families ,ideal location ,room good size, I never ever leave reviews but on this occasion it was easy to do so, very relaxing stay and we even saw Barak Obama opposite the hotel. great location

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larissa G, Web Coordinator at Hotel Napoleon Paris, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you to comment your special stay at the Hotel Napoleon on TripAdvisor. Your kind comments are very pleasant for all our staff. We are glad to know that the suite size was at your family's convenience, as well as the location and the atmosphere of the hotel.

We are looking forward to welcome you for your next stay in Paris.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Great boutique hotel in excellent location. Only a few steps away from Arc de Triomphe. Close to Shops, Restaurants and bars. Airport aprox 40 minutes by Taxi. Rooms was small but this is usuall for Europe. Very clean and Ideal location for Paris. Breakfast was included in my reate and was all that you need. Very peaceful atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larissa G, Web Coordinator at Hotel Napoleon Paris, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your compliments when you describe the Hotel Napoleon. We are glad to know that you had a great experience in the hotel and it will be a real pleasure to welcome you back for your next visit to Paris.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

A very nice hotel within site of the Arc de Triomphe. The room was small but lovely. The service was great. We ate breakfast in the restaurant one morning and ordered omelettes. They took a little while, but nothing we would have complained about and were delicious, so we were surprised when the waiter comp'ed our entire breakfast. Great service!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larissa G, Web Coordinator at Hotel Napoleon Paris, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for all your kind comments. We are delighted to know that you appreciate the service of our staff in the Bivouac Café, the proximity with the Arc de Triomphe and the most visited places in Paris. We remind you that we have special offers for the clients who will book through our official website.

We will be delighted to welcome you back during your next stay in Paris.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I spent the last weekend in Paris with my family who visits Paris for the first time. I have booked the hotel through the website and requested to have two rooms connected with each other. We got a suit and superior room. The suit was fabulous with its big balcony facing the arc. We have a wonderful holiday. I would recommend it to everyone for its location and good service .

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larissa G, Web Coordinator at Hotel Napoleon Paris, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you to you too for your kind comments. We are so happy to know that you and your family had a great time at the Napoleon hotel. We are glad to know that you appreciated the connecting rooms, very convinient for families.

Many thanks for recommend the hotel and we will be delighted to welcome you back at the Hote Napoleon Paris.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My friend and I (20 and 22 years old) were in Paris for the first time and they were really nice and helpfull with recommendations on what to do and how to get to places. Always smiling :)

The only thing would be that they cleaned the room really often (which is good!) but they kinda moved things around, NOTHING was lost but personally I don't really like my things being moved (I'm talking about just things like make up on the table and bags, you know stuff that were not on the bed). But you can always just keep your things in place or hang the sign they give you so they won't come in :) or just tell them!. We didn't, it wasn't such a big deal really just a little uncomfortable... And maybe you should be carefull with things you don't want to get thrown, they clean really good :)

Overall I really good stay! we totally recommend it!


  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larissa G, Web Coordinator at Hotel Napoleon Paris, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear guest,

We are so glad to know that you and your friend had a delighted stay in the Napoleon Hotel. Many thanks for all your compliments about our service and the property.
For your next visit to the hotel you can be sure that we will be take in consideration your comment and we will be more careful during the housekeeping service.

We look forward to welcome you during your next visit to Paris and please do not hesitate to contact us directly or reserve on our website.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Napoleon Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon Paris

Address: 40 Avenue de Friedland, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Napoleon Paris 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind the history of the hotel, hides a love story.... The love story between a rich Russian businessman, Alexander Pavlovich Kliaguine, and a young french student who first met at a "literature salon" in 1928. It was love at first sight. In order to introduce her to Parisian "high society" at the time, he bought a hotel in the prestigious 8th arrondissement and gave it to her as a wedding present. Still today the hotel belongs to the Kliaguine family. Today, following a large renovation program, the hotel is proud to announce its 5th star. With its unique location, just a short walk away from the Champs-Elysees and the Arc de Triomphe, the Hotel Napoleon is one of the most legendary hotels of the city: a fine address to discover and rediscover. Our 52 rooms and 50 Suites are all designed in the Empire style with newly refurbished and modernized colors. A Parisian atmosphere still remains in the Hotel. The Napoleon includes also a Bar- Restaurant: the Bivouac Cafe, 8 meeting spaces and a fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, AvailPro, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Napoleon Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Napoleon Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.