We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Paris Arc de Triomphe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Paris Arc de Triomphe to your Saves list
Sofitel Paris Arc de Triomphe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 rue Beaujon, 75008 Paris, France (Champs-Elysees)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #302 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

It only gets one star because the staff were on the whole very pleasant.

Check in quick and efficient. Lobby a mess with all the construction. It's like walking through a building site.

Room was a joke. Stayed for business on corporate rate. I'm used to getting poor rooms as a result, but this was another level. Tiny after thought on the top floor. Not sure anyone had stayed there for sometime. The "room" was so small I had to walk sideways between the end of the bed and the tv stand. The bed was more a giant cot with a mattress like a hammock.

The bathroom was actually more spacious but the decor was old and poorly finished. Dirty toilet. The shower was more a mist, and only heated up after a good 5 mins after which I couldn't turn it down.

Breakfast was fine. Excellent service but the room is awful. Seems to be next to a bank of air con fans so dull drone throughout.

Overall would never come back. Parisian hotels are (in)famous for small pokey tired badly appointed rooms but this was just too much. I am thinking of cancelling my booking at a Sofitel in December.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaujon, Assistante de Direction at Sofitel Paris Arc de Triomphe, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience.

I was sorry to read that the room did not meet your expectation. Please accept our sincerest apologise for any inconveniences this may have caused

As you may have discovered we have undertaken the transformation of our Hotel and we are very excited to unveil the new designer look.
I sincerely wish to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with a totally new and magnifique experience.


Amel Bibi Triki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    251
    87
    44
    19
See reviews for
101
353
39
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicville, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed there Sept 10th - 12th. We were treated wonderfully by management and the staff. They made us feel right at home. The breakfast had a nice variety and delicious. The room was spacious and comfortable with free WiFi. We could see the top of the Arc De Triomphe and the Eiffel Tower from our room. It was easy to get to shops, banks and Metro. We were out during the day so we not notice and noise due to the renovations.The Champ and Arc are easy walking distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: The top floor facing the Champ de Elysee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed here with my husband and three kids. There were renovations at the time which we were told about and they were a bit inconvenient- hard to catch up on sleep with hammering all day!
Apart from that hotel was great- beautiful large rooms- we were upgraded to suite, delicious breakfast and easy walk to Champes , arc de Triomphe and subway transport. Bakeries, post office, retsaurants, and supermarkets also close by

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Excellent service from the team at the hotel from concierge to receptionists etc. everyone greets you around the hotel. Room was huge and very cozy! Toiletries were a surprise! - luxury brand! Everything in the room is more than sufficient for my stay including an umbrella as it rained heavily on one of the days. Highly recommended! Food in restaurant was average though. Thanks for the wonderful memories!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Hotel is currently undergoing some renovation, it is long overdue. However it has its qualities and above all a great staff for most parts.
Service was just perfect, friendly, not overdoing it, attentative, just right.
Stayed at 7th floor, room was large, cool A/C, quiet room, good housekeeping but as with the rest of the hotel a renovation is overdue.
Location is perfect, close to the Metro and central parts of Paris. Beeing a bit of the main street surroundings are quiet with little or no traffic beside the hotel.
Brekfast just right, enough to choose from and with great quality and taste. Brekfast room, decoration and sitting areas reminded more of a home then a busy hotel. A long brekfast can be recomended. Service perfect and prompt.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on the back of staying in a SOFITEL in Luxembourg (superb hotel - see separate review) and an MGallery (ACCOR Group) hotel in Strasbourg (again superb - separate review).
Although I knew about the renovation work I was a little disappointed with the room, and especially the shower - the worst I have ever seen in a high end (4* or higher) hotel.
Service was generally of very high calibre, which went some way to make up for the less than 5* accomodation, but what finally pushed my rating down was the total lack of hot water (boiler problems) on the last morning. Mentioned this at check out and was asked if I wanted to talk to the Guest Relations Manager, which I said I did. Was then informed that they were in a meeting but if I left me e-mail address (which I did) they would contact me - still waiting a week later! Reception staff offered a 50% discount on my last night which I accepted for the time being as there was no Manager to talk to.
This hotel may become a 5* hotel when it is refurbished but until then it is at best a 4*. It really should be closed while the refurb is being carried out so as not to disappoint SOFITEL customers expecting the usual SOFITEL 5* experience.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The hotel was a great location. We walked everywhere! Be prepared for some good ole fashion power walks. The weather was amazing during our visit which allowed us to enjoy all the amazing outside seating at different locations. This hotel was under going MAJOR renovations which did make for alot of noise. The breakfast (which was included in our trip) was fantastic, and if you didnt see what you wanted on the menu....they would make it. The air was turned off during the construction and it was very warm for March this year...they went and bought a fan for our room. Our bathroom was huge!!! This hotel will be amazing once the construction is finished. WARNING: DO NOT LEAVE YOUR CAR WHILE UNLOADING YOUR BAGS!!! They ticket!

Room Tip: Get a room over looking the street....fun to watch but keep in mind the streets are narrow and the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Paris Arc de Triomphe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Paris Arc de Triomphe

Address: 14 rue Beaujon, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#162 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#191 Business Hotel in Paris
#207 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#345 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Paris Arc de Triomphe 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on one of the quiet streets in Paris' Golden Triangle, yet only a stone's throw from the Champs Elysées and the Arc de Triomphe, the hotel is poised in Haussmann-style stateliness. Just a few minutes away, the most beautiful luxury and fashion boutiques await you, in the midst of the capital's business and leisure district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Paris Arc de Triomphe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Arc De Triomphe Hotel Paris
Sofitel Hotel Paris
Sofitel Paris
Paris Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Paris Arc de Triomphe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.