We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Genuine Delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Francois 1er

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Francois 1er to your Saves list
Hotel Francois 1er
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7, rue de Magellan | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France (Champs-Elysees)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #203 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Worcestershire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Genuine Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Having not visited Paris for over thirty years, we had no recent experience on which to base our selection of a hotel but finally decided on the Francois 1er based on its location and on the previous reviews. We were not disappointed. We loved it!

The hotel is in a very quiet one-way street but still only a short walk from the Champs Elysees onto which you emerge close to the Arc de Triomphe. It is therefore well situated for all forms of transport – including one of the stops for the open-top Les Cars Rouges – and for shops and (more importantly to us!) restaurants. As we tended to stay out for most of the day and return to the hotel to freshen up for the evening, it was particularly nice to then stroll out to select a neighbouring restaurant for the night. However, you do need to check the outside menus before plunging in as some of the prices verge on the unbelievable!

The staff were at all times polite and helpful and the front desk always able to help. The hotel is quite small and feels calm and sedate which suited our mood perfectly. If you prefer a bustling environment, you may also prefer a larger hotel. Our room (one of their Executive class) overlooked the main entrance and was beautifully furnished with a huge and very comfortable bed and a delightfully decorated and excellently equipped bathroom. We never failed to get a good night’s sleep as the noise from outside the hotel is negligible and we were never aware of the sound of other guests once we were back in our room.

Initially, we thought that the additional cost of 22 Euros for a breakfast was perhaps more than we wanted to pay but we tried it on the first morning and, after that, went back every day. If you want nothing more than a coffee and a croissant, then it would probably be better to wander out into the cafes but the selection of hot (limited) and cold (extensive) food was very seductive. There were fruits, meats, cheeses, eggs, cereals, pastries, fish . . . and more.

Although there is no restaurant other than the breakfast room, there is a small bar where you can also get food at certain times. We only used it once for a drink in the late afternoon as there were too many distractions outside keeping us away.

Incidentally, we used taxis on many occasions and, to our surprise, found the drivers exceptionally friendly and helpful (including giving us tips on where and how the pickpockets were currently operating). They are not cheap and travelling to and from Notre Dame to Sacre Coeur in heavy traffic cost us the best part of 20 Euros each way. Taxis are also the most comfortable and convenient way to travel to and from Charles de Gaulle Airport (about 14 miles from Paris) although again the fare does cost around 50 Euros each way.

Room Tip: We had one of their Executive rooms which was quiet, comfortable and nicely furnished with an excell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KepplerManager, Directeur général at Hotel Francois 1er, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for having chosen our hotel for visit in Paris. We are so glad that your stay was wonderful and you got to see Paris after thirty years again. Also thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor..
The whole team is happy that they could be of service and we are pleased that you liked our buffet breakfast.
We absolutely hope to see you next time ! Have a great summer.

kind regards
Alain Lagarrigue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    115
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
44
255
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
CodyMan123
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just came from the Intercontinental in London where they are geared for both business and the casual traveler. I knew this was going to be a 'boutique' hotel but would have thought a couple of things like they would get to know our names, or offer suggestions on where to go, what to see. If you asked a question you received a direct answer but no options. The bump up from the standard room is very, very tight-so note this reality. Breakfast was ok , 2 blocks from Champ E and underground , but underground is everywhere. I would say shop a bit more if on business ok. A romantic experience could be a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KepplerManager, Directeur général at Hotel Francois 1er, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for having chosen our hotel for your romantic trip to Paris.
I am very sorry to hear that our reception service didn't meet your expectations.
We have had an extra person with us because one of our usual team is on vacation but
this should of course not be any excuse. But it's normal that he would not know well this area since he doesn't usually work in our area. We sincerely apologize for this lack of information.
We still hope that you enjoyed your stay in Paris and got to see the most important of the city.
Should you like to return to our hotel, we'd be more than happy to prepare in advance a list of suggestions of the area and the city for you like we often do for first time visitors of Paris.
Also it would be our pleasure to give you an upgrade to make this up for you. Please don't hesitate to contact me.

We all wish you wonderful summer time !
kind regards

Alain Lagarrigue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel for few days. Since I was there for some business, I did not quite spend as much time enjoying the charms of this small, boutique hotel. The rooms are sumptuous and service staff all around is polite and wonderful. The breakfast is very good. I had a bit of mix-up and hiccup during my stay at the Hotel - booked the place for one night less than I thought I had and they were fully booked. Hotel Manager was nice, located me by phone explained the situation and found me a nearby hotel to stay extra night. I would reccommend this place to everybody without hesitation. The location is near a metro - walking distance. That is definitely a plus. There are some very good restaurents from Michelin 3-stars to non-rated in walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KepplerManager, Directeur général at Hotel Francois 1er, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having chosen our hotel for your business trip to Paris and for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. It was my pleasure to help you find another hotel for the missing night because unfortunately we were fully booked.
We are looking foward to seeing you next time and have a great summer!

Kind regards
Alain Lagarrigue & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Belated review, but stayed Christmas time 2011. Very nice welcome from the front desk. Good location for 1st timers to Paris. Rooms small but comfortable and clean. Overall a very nice experience. Walking distance to champs élysées, arc Di triumph. Just an overall pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KepplerManager, Directeur général at Hotel Francois 1er, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for having chosen our hotel for your first visit in Paris. We appreciate very much your comments and we are glad that you had a memorable stay.

Have a great wintertime in Sydney.
kind regards
Alain Lagarrigue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuopio, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My friends recommended this hotel because they
have been there already 2 times. They were right;
we also had a wonderful stay. We had an executive room
with red silk walls & bed covers. Beautiful.
All the staff is kind and very helpful. They booked a Lido show for us
and a restaurant for each evening. We were happy to be
in restaurants, where the locals go rather than where you
only find tourists. Breakfast was excellent with wide selection of
food, not only sweet stuff like often in France.
We will definitely go to the Francois 1er next time as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We are currently staying at the Hotel Francois 1er and can't say enough wonderful things about the hotel and the staff. After a long flight from California, we were welcomed with a cup of coffee/expresso while we checked in. The location is wonderful and quiet - yet close to most attractions. We were upgraded to a larger room which has made our longer stay much more comfortable.
We were advised that there was a charge for the breakfast buffet and have enjoyed the food and service very much in the comfort of our hotel. The staff has been extremely courteous, warm and friendly. I love the peaceful setting and would recommend this hotel to others.
There are also some very lovely neighborhood cafes and restaurants within a short walk. Thanks again to the wonderful staff!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 507 which is a little larger than other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Nice and cosy hotel. Staf is correct, breakfast is decent, however it was not clear it wasn't included. Normal rate for breakfast is 22 EURpp, but we could easiliy negotiate to 15,5 EURpp (62 i.s.o. 88)
Extremely good location: near Triomphe, Eiffel, Champs Elysées, but in a quite street.

Room Tip: We took the one-but-cheapest room (Classic if I remember well) - good price/comfort ratio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KepplerManager, Directeur général at Hotel Francois 1er, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Paris.
We noticed that it's not always clear with the bookings that the breakfasts are excluded.
We'll have a better registration system coming soon for that and we sincerely apologize.
We are glad that you liked all the rest and hope to see you next time with great pleasure.
we all wish you a wonderful summer time.

kind regards
Alain Lagarrigue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Francois 1er? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francois 1er

Address: 7, rue de Magellan | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#111 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#133 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#207 Business Hotel in Paris
#416 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Francois 1er 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate boutique hotel with beautiful appointments set in restored townhouse dating from 1900 - 3 blocks to Arc de Triomphe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Francois 1er reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francois 1er Hotel
Francois 1er Paris
Hotel Francois Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Francois 1er, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.