We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of class, in the heart of Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees to your Saves list
Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 rue de Berri | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #467 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A touch of class, in the heart of Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Our second stay, service was just as professional. Rooms, just as clean and the atmosphere just as great. We had the the suite suite, the duplex, on the 7th floor which was great in size and away from any traffic noise.

From the front desk, porter, F&B staff and housekeeping, everyone endeavoured to make our stay warm and pleasant. When tasked with making dinner reservations, booking a taxi, room service, and housekeeping, their level of professionalism was stellar!

There a few reasons why we came back to this property. The location is at the heart of Paris, you are in the middle of the Champs-Élysées and rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, the best place for shopping and dining. The final would be, there is no other property, regardless of star ratings that treats all guests like VIPs. That would be dream for anyone revisiting Paris or for the first time. Will be back again soon.

Room Tip: Don't sting, get a suite. The duplex is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for having chosen the Hotel California Paris Champs-Elysées for your parisian stay and for taking time to leave us such a generous review.

We are more than delighted that our accomodations and our services have been able to meet your expectations.

We are glad that you appreciated our great location, and that our staff contributed to the success of your stay.

Our daily mission is to provide our warmest hospitality to our guest, we look forward to enchanting you back again.

Your fidelity is our greatest reward !

Yours sincerely

Clarisse THIRY
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    198
    63
    14
    23
See reviews for
88
132
14
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights on business. The rooms for Paris were a generous size. Service was great and as a group we were demanding!
Food was average. Beds and linen were comfortable. All in all it worked.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear customer

Let us first thank you for having chosen the Hotel California for your parisian stay and for taking time to leave us your kind review.

We are more than delighted that our accomodations and our services have been able to meet your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

WIth our best regards

Clarisse THIRY
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

writing a very late review but stayed here in April 2013 for 3 nights. Very nice and clean environment. The location is very convenient and a short walk to a lot of attractions in Paris. Zopa on the front desk was very informative and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear guest

Let us first thank you for having chosen the Hotel California Paris Champs-Elysées for your last stay in Paris, and for taking time to leave us your kind review.

Even late, your review is always most welcomed, and we look forward to welcome back in a near future.

With our best regards and sincerest wishes for an Happy and fruitful new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We went to Paris with a very short notice so was not easy to find a Hotel with good price and good location .
we paid about 300 E for a standard room..We were lucky we were given the recently remodeled rooms . My parents came with us and their room was old and dated .
the best about this place was that was walking distance from Champs Elysees .
The con is the Hotel is unbranded so service was just fine , we wont come back

Room Tip: ask for the renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for having chosen the Hotel California for your business trip and for taking time to leave us your kind review.

We are delighted that you appreciated the location, that we are fortunate to have.

Concerning the style of your parents's room, we ensure you that all our rooms and some of our suites have been renovated and refurbished, except 3 rooms and our Duplexe suites, that will be renovated next year.

They certainly have stayed in one of these 3 rooms.

We deeply regret that our services have not been entirely able to meet your expectations and we would sincerely welcome the opportunity to restore your confidence.

In case you plan to visit Paris again, please feel free to contact Catherine, our Guest Relations Manager, she will be more than delighted to welcome you personnaly.

By phone: + 00.33.1.44.95.96.90 or by e-mail: guestrelations@hroy.com

With our best regards and sincerest wishes for an happy and fruitful year 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The location is very good. near subway and Champs Elysee and staff couldn't have been more helpful and so friendly the room was cleaned and nice The free internet is very slow and the bathroom bathroom very small in room where i stayed

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear guest

Let us first thank you for having chosen the Hotel California Paris Champs-Elysées for your parisian stay and for taking time to share your great experience on Tripadvisor.

We are more than delighted that our accomodations and our services have been able to meet your expectations, and thank you for your kind compliments concerning our helpful and friendly staff, that has contributed to the success of your stay.

We assure you that your remark about our free internet access and our bathroom's size have been taken with highest consideration and we would sincerely appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back.

With our best regards and sincerest wishes for an Happy and fruitful new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Spent 3 nights at hotel California. Selected because my business meetings where at the same hotel.

Checking took over half an hour due to the crowd, and just 2 employees staff. But they were trying hard to accommodate the people.

Given a room with double single beds when my reservation was for a king. The furniture was very old. The carpet was worn out. Most of the corridors smelt like smoke.

Room service where okay. Always took away any spare coin euros laying around. No complimentary water bottles. Water kettle is there with paper cups. Which was horrible.


The rooms are very spacious compared to the other hotels. The location is perfect. 1 - 2 minute walk to the camps main road.

Would not recommend unless location is priority.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Khaled

Thank you for having chosen the Hotel California for your business trip and for taking time to leave us your kind review.

We are more than delighted that you appreciated the great location that we are fortunate to have but we deeply regret that our services have not been entirely able to meet your expectations.

We assure you that our daily mission is to provide the warmest hospitality to our guests, and that the conditions in which you have been welcomed, were due an unexpected situation, that we agree, was not quite enjoyable.

Concerning your room's style, we ensure you that all our rooms and some of our suites have been renovated and refurbished, except 3 rooms and our Duplexe suites, that will be renovated next year.

You certainly have stayed in one of these 3 rooms but we hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in order to let you appreciate our modern style rooms and to restore your confidence.

With our best regards and sincerest wishes for an happy and fruitful year 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I was referred to this hotel and stayed for a week in April 2012! Since then my friends have gone back three times... It's the perfect location, perfect price, not as small and excellent service. Towel Warner's were really appreciated.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for having chosen again the Hotel California for your parisian stay and for taking time to leave us your kind review.

We are more than delighted that our accomodations and our services have still been able to meet your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again.

Your loyalty is our greatest reward !

Thank you for recommending our charming hotel to your friends, we appreciate it.

With our sincerest wishes for a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year's Eve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees

Address: 16 rue de Berri | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#221 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#288 Business Hotel in Paris
#341 Family Hotel in Paris
#401 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1925, this Haussmanian style building has been the favourite luxury hotel of the American press and Hollywood Stars. More than just a hotel, this is an authentic art gallery for all art lovers with its private collection of over 3000 oils and lithographs. With its fine sense of luxury, this 4 star hotel has been turned into a fine family mansion just a step away from the Champs Elysées and belongs to the « Hotels du Roy » group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel California Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.