We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't worth the expensive prices!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Etoile Saint-Ferdinand

Save Saved
You added Hotel Etoile Saint-Ferdinand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Etoile Saint-Ferdinand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36, rue Saint Ferdinand | 17th Arr., 75017 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #380 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Doesn't worth the expensive prices!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

I was there for business and didn't t choose this hotel myself. Very expensive for what it is (something like 240euro per night). Bathroom unclean (old towels laying on the floor, really looks like the cleaning lady didn't have a final check in the bathroom before leaving), no mirror light in the bathroom for 2 days (the technician comes once a week?!?!) desperating breakfast room (small and staff unfriendly).
Reception desk staff were ok.
Super old and slow elevator (wouldn't recommend this hotel if you can t walk up the stairs)
Old safe in the room, you need to leave 200euros deposit at the reception to get the keys!
Free wifi good!
Bed are comfy.
Location is ok but I wouldnt recommend this area for a touristic stay.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    160
    29
    13
    4
See reviews for
38
135
22
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Very small hotel near a metro rooms v small but adequate breakfast room small and full but food was ok. Packed lunch provided and free drink on arrival. Very pleasant reception staff nothing too much trouble. This hotel is near some restaurants and bars and easy to walk to metro at argentine

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

the room was clean and comfy and the people were very friendly.
Paris rooms are smaller than over here but ample enough for your stay with lovely bathrooms.
tea, coffee etc is provided in the room and toiletries in the bathroom.
breakfast was fantastic, plenty to choose from and the pastries, bread and eggs were fresh every morning. we didnt need the lunch box but could have one every day if we liked one.
we were greeted when we arrived and offered a complimentary drink which was a lovely suprise.
The hotel itself was just a walk away from the arc de triomphe and near the argentine metro line.
very handy and near lots of eateries and supermarkets.
will definately go back to this hotel again.

recommend getting the metro tickets zone 1 - 5 as they get you from the airport and all around paris. you can use the buses and trains too with these tickets as well as the metro and they are all easy to use and very regular.
the louve was a great experience if you like art and we would also recommend the lunch time meal cruise down the seine as we have done both the evening and the lunchtime one and the difference is the price. The evening one is twice as much but not as good.
you get good food and wine plus entertainment whilst you chill down the seinne sightseeing.

Room Tip: we had the superior rooms which were pleasant but other guests seemed to like their rooms too and pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located very conveniently, a 2 minute walk from Porte maillot station, which gives easy access to all of the main attractions, and also walking distance to champs élysées and other shopping streets.
The rooms however, were tinier than expected! Hard to walk around without bumping into each other. Also the bathroom was so tiny that the toilet paper roll was located right behind the lid Of the toilet (which was totally not practical at all)
However we did get a renovated room and it was clean, which was the main thing.
Can't comment on the welcome drink or packed lunches because we did not use these, but the breakfast buffet was limited to cheeses, freshly baked pastries, yoghurt, cereal and tea/coffee, and some sliced meats.
Would I stay here again? Probably not, too small, too old, and I would stay somewhere a bit closer to more cafes/centrally etc, but it was still well worth the price, and very accessible to everything to do in Paris.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We booked this hotel recently and really enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. We found the location of the hotel perfect and will definately visit again.
The room was cosy and lacking in nothing. The bathroom had recently been revamped and very fit for purpose with double wash basins, bath shower. The hotel offered breakfast in the morning - full continental - no complaints there. Even though we arrived late toward the end - breakfast was still well stocked. We were offered a welcome drink by staff and also a "promotional" packed lunch which was a treat.

I would stay at the hotel again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I would like to comment this hotel, cause I found this hotel in Trip Advisor and I really liked this experience. The localization of the hotel are fantastic, you can go in 5 minutes walking to subway in the yellow line where you can find some nice places in Paris. The room size is very good for one couple. And all my question was answered by the employees. I recommend, fair price and good services.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Ferdinand, Gérant at Hotel Etoile Saint-Ferdinand, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Google Translation
Bom Dia Sr. Pedro,
Queremos agradecer-lhe pelo comentario que colocou aqui. Estamos super contentes em saber que gostou da sua estadia no nosso hôtel e na nossa companhia. Esperamos poder recebe-lo de novo nas nossas instalaçoes.
Cumprimentos,
Marco Duarte ( Directeur)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gormanston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Don't stay in the attic type rooms. They have thin walls. I could hear the neighbours all night making noise. I stayed here before in the rooms on the lower floors and it was ok. But not these attic rooms. Its a cramped hotel which is common in Paris.

Room Tip: Stay in mid-level floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Etoile Saint-Ferdinand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Etoile Saint-Ferdinand

Address: 36, rue Saint Ferdinand | 17th Arr., 75017 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#185 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#194 Business Hotel in Paris
#413 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Etoile Saint-Ferdinand 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Triumphal Arch and the Champs-Elysees, in the heart of the 17th arrondissement, discover this beautiful boutique hotel that is the Etoile Saint-Ferdinand, a hotel where services and quality are waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Fastbooking, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Etoile Saint-Ferdinand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Etoile Saint-Ferdinand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.