We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very handy for Gare de Lyon” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon to your Saves list
Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Place Louis Armand, 75012 Paris, France (Reuilly)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #832 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very handy for Gare de Lyon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here for one night as part of a GRJ package prior to our train journey to Milan. We were not expecting too much but were pleasantly surprised at the facilities the hotel has to offer. Apart from the obvious convenience for the Gare de Lyon, we spent a few hours walking round the Bastille area of Paris and were able to find a wealth of restaurants to choose for our evening meal. The room was clean and modern with complimentary coffee/tea etc and the bathroom was very up to date. Breakfast was fine. There was a little noise to be heard from the station but it was not enough to be irritating.

Room Tip: Be aware of slight noise from the Gare de Lyon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGDL, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for choosing Mercure during your stay in Paris and please to read that you enjoyed our facilities.
Awaiting to see you again soon in our Mercure Network
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    495
    263
    93
    40
See reviews for
124
419
163
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Il
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I think I got at least a years worth of second hand smoke in my "non smoking" room. The first room I was given was a smoking room, which I did not request. Thanks to the one valuable employee that I encountered during my stay, I was given a second non smoking room. When I walked in, the room was filled with cigarette smoke. The first morning, I awoke with runny eyes, runny nose, scratchy throat and overall misery, since the smoke didn't seem to subside. Turns out, it was coming through the bathroom vent nonstop. The fix, open the window that overlooks the hall in Gare de Lyon for some "fresh air", keep the bathroom door closed and the door between the bathroom and the rest of the room closed. That seem to do the job, but then the bathroom itself was unbearable- I guess there are always trade offs. I hope they fix their ventilation.

For the location, despite the cigarette smoke, the room was ok, tidy and clean, that's all I can ask for a hotel in that location.

On my last night there, I asked for a restaurant recommendation and was directed across the street from the train station to a cafe, then told other options were "expensive" I had to laugh at that one. I guess given that most people probably just stay there for a night and they seem to attract backpackers, tour groups and budget minded travelers, I guess they don't keep a list of food options nearby. I did find quite a good selection walking a few blocks away from the hotel, past the first recommended cage across from the station.

The staff overall were very friendly and, with the exception of the dinner reccomendation conversation, very helpful with taxis, metro information, timing, etc.

The hotel is pretty much attached to Gare de Lyon, taxis are plentiful and it is close to the metro.

I wouldn't personally stay there again given the smoke situation, but it seemed like a solid option if you are in the area and in need of a place to stay for a night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGDL, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest
I thank you for taking time to give me your comments after your stay.
I am sorry for the inconvenient you had regarding the smell of smoke and be sure that the check has been made to find the problem and to resolve it.
The Quality is a priority for us to give you a total satisfaction during your stay.
Hope to keep your confidence with our Mercure Hotels
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Hotel is located just outside Gare de Lyon station. Tube/Metro station is too big and is under the ground of train station and if one take wrong Sortie (exit) at tube station, it could take lot of time in coming on the correct road. Best option is to come at the Main Arrival hall of the train station (train) if you are coming from tube. Hotel is good and staff is friendly which is a rare in Paris.

Room Tip: Take one closer to lift at the floor are quite big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGDL, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback after your stay and as you mentionned the easiest way to exit of metro or train station is "Tour de l'horloge " Clock Tower N°6.
I will send your congrats to the Staff they will be proud as they are very motivate to do the best.
Hope to welcome you again
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I came here last year for a long weekend away with my boyfriend. At first I was a little dubious as we booked it through a comparison site, but as soon as we arrived we were both highly impressed! The staff were very polite and helpful and spoke perfect English! We were expecting to receive a standard double room and were pleasantly surprised to find we had a Queen size bed, a brilliantly clean room, a television and free complimentary water, tea, coffee and biscuits which were refilled every day. The location was perfect, right in the middle of all the transportation. The only downside was that it was a little noisy at night but it wasn't too much of a problem for me. An extra highlight was that we were offered lockers on our last day so that we didn't have to carry our luggage around with us. Overall a lovely stay, with very friendly staff! I would most certainly return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGDL, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest
I thank you for your nice comments and we were pleased to welcome you again and to see you enjoyed our Property and Services.
Awaiting the pleasure to meet you during your next trip to Paris.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed one night on my way to Italy. Found it to be very well situated for the station, obviously and local restaurants. A very modern hotel with good accommodation and very good continental breakfast.Found staff helpful and friendly. Could criticise the shower as not a very good shower head but would be unfair to reduce mark for that. Personally it was just what I needed for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGDL, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for choosing Mercure Gare de Lyon for your stay in Paris and we are pleased you enjoyed it.
Awaiting the pleasure to welcome you again soon
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulhouse, Alsace, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I have stayed in the Mercure Gare de Lyon a number of times, which I use as a convenient stopover enroute from the east of France to the west of France by TGV. Very friendly staff, nicely renovated rooms with great Philips flatscreen TVs, and the breakfast choice is good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGDL, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Paul,

Thank you for your nice comment, I understand you're a loyal customer and I thank you for that also ! You seemed used to stay in our Privilege rooms with the great flat screen ambilight, Nespresso Machine, IHome Station, bathrobe, memory pillows etc...

It would be a pleasure to meet you at your next stay so do not hesitate to ask for me.

Kind regards

Patrick Langlois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon

Address: 2 Place Louis Armand, 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Reuilly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#310 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next the Tower Clock of Gare de Lyon, easy when you arrive or leave by Train TGV. All Public transportation Bus CDG, Metro Express to La Defense or Disney in 20 mn. Easy to Stade de France or walking distance to Bercy Stadium, the Mercure has Standard rooms equiped with safetybox,Tea and Coffee facilities, free water and Privilege Room with Nespresso machine,TV 42" Ambilight, I Pad station,free drinks, Bathrobe and over mattress with 2 kinds of pillow. Buffet Breakfast or Express & Co or Room Service, Bar Lounge and Open working space with payment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Gare De Lyon Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Gare De Lyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.