We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For one night only!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon to your Saves list
Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Place Louis Armand, 75012 Paris, France (Bercy / Nation)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 nights = up to 40% off
Ranked #870 of 1,788 Hotels in Paris
High Wycombe
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“For one night only!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here overnight before our onward journey from Gare de Lyon. We checked in after 9pm and were gone by 9am next day. And that was quite enough, any longer and I'd have been tempted to self harm! Good points: proximity to Gare de Lyon. It just couldn't be better, a two minute walk door to door. Bad points: horrid small room, nasty scratchy bed linen with dried blood on one of our twin beds. A cleaning lady who couldn't wait to get into our room at 9am on a Sunday morning, almost forcing us out! Conclusion: I wouldn't unless you just want one night before onward travel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-LANGLOIS, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time to give me back your comments and I do apologize for this troubles as this is not the reflect of the quality we use to deliver everyday.
The Housekeeper and her team have already made the corrections regarding the laundry service and the maid.
Be sure that I will follow personally and hope to keep your confidence with Mercure hotels.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    594
    301
    106
    45
See reviews for
143
494
176
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

For short city trips arriving Gare de Lyon we will certainly return.
A 1minute walk from the train platform!

Breakfast was good.

Rooms are small but clean and with all which is needed including a Nespresso coffee machine in our Privilege room.

There are great facilities to leave your luggage until you run for your train again 1min away from the lobby.

Also the metro line 1 is in the train station and serves as a major axis for transportation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-LANGLOIS, General Manager at Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for your good comments following your stay at hotel Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon. I'm glad to read that you did enjoy our Privilège rooms and its specific attentions for our customers as the expresso machine, the complimentary minibar, the bathrobe etc...

As you mention it, the situation of the hotel is perfect for travelers but also for tourists that want to visit Paris by metro line 1 or by RER as we are located at 5 min walking form Bastille, Bercy or the Botanical Garden, 10 min by RER from Opera district and its shoping malls, 15 min from the Champs Elysées and half an hour from DisneyLand Paris .

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was our first night on a 10-day holiday to Italy and, despite its location, we had a good night's sleep. The air conditioning worked - hurray! - and we were pleased to find a complimentary chilled bottle of water in the fridge on arrival as it was during the heatwave. We even managed to find a French TV sports channel which showed the Open golf championship! Breakfast the next morning was fine, too, although it did feel a bit "them and us" having to go to another room reserved for Groups. I would have expected all Mercure hotels to be of the same standard but it appeared not at the end of the holiday when we stayed in Strasbourg (see my other review of the Mercure Strasbourg Central Hotel).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-LANGLOIS, General Manager at Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Madam,

I'm very happy to read that you did enjoy your first night on your 10 day holiday. The weather was very hot during this period and the air conditioning does work in the rooms and the lobby.

I hope we will welcome you again at the hotel Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

They had a nice Italian style ceramic shower room. It was very clean and comforting.
It is the best place to stay if you travel by train the next morning.
My mum loved the capsule coffee machine in the room. Myself, as a tea lover, I could taste the coffee in my tea and my tea was a bit too creamy and bubbly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-LANGLOIS, General Manager at Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your comments, I'm glad to read that you enjoyed our Privilège room for your stay at Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon and all its amenities as you mention the expresso machine, but also complimentary mini bar, bathrobe etc...

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon at the hotel Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a room at the front of the hotel on the 3rd floor. All night we heard sirens and shouting and general hubbub you get around a main train station. The room was ok, the bathroom was large and stylish. It was handy for a walk around the city centre and across the Seine to the Botanical Gardens which were lovely. We had a picnic in there in the evening sunshine which was delightful. Breakfast was minimal and industrial in scale down in the basement, various things had run out like coffee and croissants and the staff were grudging in their responses. All in all happy that we only stayed one night there before catching the Eurostar to Italy.

Room Tip: Perhaps it is quieter at the back?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-LANGLOIS, General Manager at Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking time to write us following your stay at Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon; This is true that we are located just by the station Gare de Lyon, I do share your comments with the Technician Manager concerning the noise, also do not hesitate to contact me directly if you wish to give me the room number you stayed in so that we have a quick action in this room.

I do really appologise for the staff attitude at breakfast, this does not reflect the quality we perfom usually.

Finally, thank you for the promenade at the Botanical Gardens ou "jardin des plantes", for sure this is a veray pleasant and relaxing place to be at 5 minutes from the hotel Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
573 helpful votes 573 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

At the end of the day, you are not going to get much for your money in a city centre, and as this is actually part of the Gare de Lyon (we could see the platforms from our room), it could not be more convenient for the station, and for the separately owned Train Bleu Restaurant on the station. We paid 230 euros = £201 for a double room, booking direct.

We took earlier Tripadvisor advice not to waste money on the extortionate breakfast, but I did slip into the breakfast room to check out what was available and it looked pretty thin for the money to me.

Standard room, corporate public areas, but nice very helpful staff especially as we don't do wi-fi, and wanted to check our e-mails on their machine in the lobby, and needed some assistance.

Do try to walk a little of the Promenade Plantee nearby, the old railway track leading from Bastille to the Peripherique which has been converted to a super walking, jogging and cycleway three stories up in the air, filled with flowers, shrubs, bushes, trees etc - wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-LANGLOIS, General Manager at Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Client,

I would like to thank you for taking time to share your comments. Concerning the rates you paid, we do often have promotional rates on mercure.com or accorhotels.com if you can make early booking.

I will share your comments on the staff attitude, this is true that we do have a complimentary business center and I'm very happy to hear that they did help you for that.

The Promenade Plantée is a very good tip for our customer as it is really nearby the hotel !

I hope we will have the chance to welcome you again at Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Like Chris Frome and the rest of the peloton this was our last stop in France .... for this trip. The hotel was ideally located as we arrived at the Gare de Lyon from Annecy. The reception staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating. The 2nd floor room was well appointed and comfortable although there was a little noise from the street below but not enough to interrupt my nights sleep. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful and good value given the location.

The Hotel Mecure Gare de Lyon will definitely be on our list when we're planning our Tour de France trip hotels next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-LANGLOIS, General Manager at Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Client,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you at Hotel Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon, also I would like to thank you for your good comments. Be sure I will share that with the Front Office staff and thank them.

We will be very happy to welcome you again next year.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon

Address: 2 Place Louis Armand, 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#336 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next the Tower Clock of Gare de Lyon, easy when you arrive or leave by Train TGV. All Public transportation Bus CDG, Metro Express to La Defense or Disney in 20 mn. Easy to Stade de France or walking distance to Bercy Stadium, the Mercure has Standard rooms equiped with safetybox,Tea and Coffee facilities, free water and Privilege Room with Nespresso machine,TV 42" Ambilight, I Pad station,free drinks, Bathrobe and over mattress with 2 kinds of pillow. Buffet Breakfast or Express & Co or Room Service, Bar Lounge and Open working space with payment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Gare De Lyon Hotel Paris
Accor Paris Gare De Lyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.